Walsh Cup: Dubs win again to reach semi-final

December 16, 2018

Dublin's Cian Boland gets past Craig Taylor of Offaly. ©INPHO/Laszlo Geczo.

Dublin 0-27

Offaly 0-18

Mattie Kenny's Dublin made it two wins in five days against Offaly at Parnell Park to book a place in the Walsh Cup semi-finals.

The Dubs will join Kilkenny, Galway and Wexford in the last-four in the New Year after following up Tuesday's win over Carlow with another solid performance against Kevin Martin's charges.

The Faithful County led by 0-4 to 0-3 early on thanks to points from Shane Kinsella (two), James Gorman and Aidan Treacy, but the hosts then enjoyed a fine spell of dominance which yielded unanswered scores from Fintan McGibb, Eamonn Dillon and David Treacy (free). Sean Dolan and Aidan Treacy replied for Offaly, but further scores from Donal Burke, Cian Boland and John Hetherton sent Dublin into the break with a 0-15 to 0-10 lead.

Half-time sub Conor Burke marked his arrival with two points, while further minors from Boland and Dillon extended the winners' lead.

A fourth point from Gorman had Offaly within five points, 0-15 to 0-20, yet again heading into the last quarter, but Dublin were able to stretch out their lead once again through scores from Fergal Whitely, Oisín O’Rorke, Davy Keogh and Ronan Hayes.

Dublin - S Brennan; L Gannon, C O’Callaghan, B O’Carroll; T Connolly, C Crummey, S Barrett; C Boland (0-4), S Treacy; F McGibb (0-1), C Conway, D Treacy (0-4f); J Hetherton (0-4, 2f), D Burke (0-4), E Dillon (0-4). Subs: F Whitely (0-2) for D Treacy, D Gray for S Barrett, C Burke (0-2) for C Conway, L Walsh for L Gannon, O O’Rorke for D Burke, L Gannon for B O’Carroll, D Keogh (0-1) for C O’Callaghan, R Hayes (0-1) for E Dillon, G Whelan for C Boland, R Smith for J Hetherton, J Hetherton for C Crummey.

Offaly - C Clancy; D Healy, P Rigney, T Spain; C O’Brien, E Grogan, N Houlihan; C Taylor (0-1), K Dunne; S Kinsella (0-2), S Dolan (0-2), P Guinan; K Connolly (0-2, 1f), A Treacy (0-6, 4f, 1'65), J Gorman (0-4). Subs: M Egan for D Healy, C Egan (0-1) for E Grogan, D Murray for P Guinan, E Parlon for J Gorman, E O’Callaghan for A Treacy.

Referee - D Hughes.

Most Read Stories