Leinster club JFC final: Late goals win it for Young Irelands

December 08, 2018

Dundalk Young Irelands celebrate their Leinster club JFC triumph

Young Irelands (Louth) 2-10

St Brigid's (Offaly) 2-7

Late goals from Dermot Mone and Aidan Sheekey handed Young Irelands a dramatic victory over St Brigid's in the Leinster club JFC final at Drogheda.

The title looked destined for Croghan Hill before the Dundalk outfit turned a five-point deficit into a three-point victory in the ifinal quarter.

Young Irelands, who played in the first All-Ireland senior football final, led by 0-3 to 0-2 in the early stages thanks to two Mone frees and a Jordan O'Donoghue effort. However, a David Egan goal had St Brigid's 1-3 to 0-3 ahead by the 22nd minute.

The winners hit back with points from Dean Maguire and Mone (two) to regain parity at half-time, 0-7 to 1-4.

St Brigid's, who lost the Offaly intermediate final to Ferbane's second team, upped the ante after the restart and opened up a 2-7 to 0-8 lead after Daniel Molloy netted in the 40th minute.

But the Louth men kept their composure as late goals from Mone and Sheekey as well as points from county star Derek Maguire and Kevin Keelan secured a comeback win. 

Young Irelands - F Sheekey; S Bellew, C Murray, P McCourt; P Nixon, Derek Maguire (0-1), C O Nairaigh; S McLoughlin, D Rogers; J O'Donoghue (0-3f), J Lynch, C O'Donoghue; M Savage, D Mone (1-3, 0-3f), Dean Maguire (0-2). Subs: A Sheekey (1-0) for D Rogers, K Keelan (0-1) for C O'Donoghue, A Rogers for S Bellew, A Murray for J Lynch, O McCabe for P Nixon, S Azeeze for C O Nairaigh.

St Brigid's - L Fox; G Hannon, A Kennedy, S Cocoman; L Cocoman, S Hannon, W Molloy; R Hoey, D Molloy (1-0); T Mooney, B Troy, C Donogue; D Egan (1-4, 0-3f), A Scally, E Lawlor (0-1). Subs: E Grogan (0-2) for G Hannon, J Quinn for R Hoey, D Boland for D Molloy.

Referee - P Coyle.

Most Read Stories