Home Football Hurling Counties

Offaly - Niall McNamee quits
please login or register to post a message

Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>]
Page 1

21/10/2011 11:48:31
Daith

Will he be easily coaxed back do you think lads? I'd be very disappointed if thats the last we see of him on the intercounty stage. Hands down, the most stylish player I have ever seen. I'm sure if Micko was still in charge strings would be pulled to get him a job in Kildare.
21/10/2011 14:10:23
Rhodejim
County: Offaly

Did he really quit though?
21/10/2011 16:19:10
tonorio

If he didn't he should. Good to see him take a stand and not settle for second or third best. What was the county board thinking having a 7 man committee? 3 man was more than enough. An absolute joke of a situation.
21/10/2011 16:43:14
Dessie15
County: Westmeath

He could have been great. Never fulfiled potential.
21/10/2011 17:53:05
faithful4ever

I find this to be an absolute disgrace. fair enough i will agree that what the county board are at is ridiculous and something has to be done about it, but for a player (niall mac) to have the audacity to say hes leaving intercounty football is a joke. A player is chosen by management and can not simply assume that he will be asked back in. Now i will agree he is a good football and more than likely would have been brought in no matter who the manager was but as i have seen in the past one manager can think your great while another can think your useless or bad for the setup.

in my opinion niall needs to get his head out of .....
21/10/2011 19:17:19
RhodeRunner

In reply to faithful4ever can you tell me when Nialls contract runs out?
22/10/2011 14:13:03
maroon2gold

He'd look good in a maroon jersey.
22/10/2011 14:38:45
faithful4ever

Rhoderunner. please run along there and post your pointless senseless comments somewhere else.

Thanks
22/10/2011 18:06:19
balboa

from wat iv heard niall hasnt the left the panel at all...came from a good source....
23/10/2011 12:17:29
moomoo

faithful4ever

I find this to be an absolute disgrace. fair enough i will agree that what the county board are at is ridiculous and something has to be done about it, but for a player (niall mac) to have the audacity to say hes leaving intercounty football is a joke. A player is chosen by management and can not simply assume that he will be asked back in. Now i will agree he is a good football and more than likely would have been brought in no matter who the manager was but as i have seen in the past one manager can think your great while another can think your useless or bad for the setup.

in my opinion niall needs to get his head out of .....

What kind of a comment is that? He can leave when ever he wants, like someone elase said its not like he has a contract or anything. How do you know he assumes he'll be called back? Maybe he just doesn't want to play with Offaly anymore
23/10/2011 13:01:06
faithful4ever

Everyone seems to be confused by what i mean. Im not saying that he is obliged to stay with offaly. I am only saying that making such a spectacle about leaving is ridiculous. If he is not going back in then just dont go back in and dont be plastering it all over the papers as if it upsets people.

would you see the likes of fringe players making the same deal about quitting intercounty football?
23/10/2011 16:09:23
burgandy1

faithfull 4 ever.; who said he went to the media with this, he never approached anyone and did not make a big deal about it, so dnt be just saying what you think is the case, your wrong
24/10/2011 16:38:56
OffalyBigBall

Maroon2gold, I can't see him transferring to Daingean!
24/10/2011 21:25:49
iflash

anyone know the story with relagation/promotion from senior football following rhodes ifc win?
25/10/2011 17:40:40
maroon2gold

OffalyBigBall

Maroon2gold, I can't see him transferring to Daingean!

I was thinking of the Brisbane Broncos but !!!
26/10/2011 16:46:14
philbrown

This a disgrace if true . A classy footballer but who does he think he is ? The situation may be bad but its the same for all the other panel members . Something constructive like a joint statement from all players airing there grievances to the county board would be more constructive than a maverick effort by Mcnamee
26/10/2011 17:18:12
Rhodejim

Can someone please post a link to where Niall Mcnamee said he retires.Or even a quote where he says he's definitly not playing for Offaly next year.
many thanks.
As far as I can see he said he couldnt see himself playing for Offaly under the current County Board.

At least he's not throwing the toys out cos his daddy didnt get the job like some arrogant individuals who really do think the sun rise's and sets in their locality.
27/10/2011 08:57:11
youandme

This is what is so wrong with the GAA. Niall has every right to do what he wishes and choose to do. He is a great footballer and has giving everything to a very poor and average team for afew years. He has been our best player for years. I have marked him many a times down the years and he is hard to mark.

Its people like ye that are here bashing ans insulting and running players like him down. Players like him trains 5 or 6 days a week with both club and county. What do they get for it nothing at the end of the day and to have people like ye come on here and say what ye did about him is wrong, why are ye not out there doing it or why havent you done it.

He is only armature and doesnt get anything for the hugh effort that he gives, if he decides to hang up the boots so be it we should thank him for all he has done and giving to this county thats going down hill.

I really hope he doesnt quit but if he does than great job and thank you Niall.
27/10/2011 17:16:58
faithful4ever

Thank you Phil Brown at least someone can see where im coming from. Rhodejim he did an interview and slated the county board and made statements that he 'will not go back in under the current county board'. anyway weather he said he was quitting or not its still not his place as one player to be making such statements publicly. and right or wrong, you (Rhodejim) are obviously going to try and defend him.

if you want to disagree again i shall happily post the video link in which i am referring to.
28/10/2011 10:20:41
Rhodejim

I never defended him boss. I never said he was right or wrong going to the papers after Tom Coffy pulled out. I think there could have been better ways to sort it but thats what he did. And to be fair, he hasnt gone to the papers since.In his interveiws he expressed an opinion that Offaly Co.board are not helping gaa in the county. Just as the hurlers did last year. He's not alone in his thinking.
I see Dennis Glennon did the same in westmeath this year.Two counties in or around the same level (westmeath better head to head at moment) and their two best players are trying to get the full backing of the county board and both are not being listened to.

Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>]
Page 1

please login or register to post a message