Toolbar Header Preload Menu Menu
Home Football Hurling Counties

Mayo - How many players have emigrated since last year.
please login or register to post a message

Result Pages:  1  
Page 1

09/06/2011 12:18:59
keelman

I read on another counties website that they estimated that almost 100 players have emigrated since last years championship so how many have left the Mayo club teams. How many have your club lost.
09/06/2011 12:35:38
clubstar09

I heard a couple of weeks ago that there were up on 20-25 mayo lads gone to Chicago?....and also high numbers in Boston and NY.
09/06/2011 13:32:01
dandydavitt

There's been footballers emigrating for years and years, always will be, it won't change. What's needed in Mayo is a change in mindset regarding clubs, there are too many. It's all very well keeping the old club going, the name, the history, the set up, the pride, etc etc. If clubs want to compete on the big stage, amalgamation will have to happen. Just take a small town like Claremorris and all the clubs right around it, most will NEVER win anything. Time to join up a few of these clubs and stop the messing. If we want winners and competition this is the Only way to go any more. I'm not trying to offend anyone or any club, buy we've got to change with the times, if we don't, we're gone, finished, caput. As for winning the connacht final this year, don't even go there as the winners will be anihilated later on. Our performance against London is where we're at. Just go and watch some championship matches this weekend, the football will be dire, the closeness of encounters will camaflauge the standard.
09/06/2011 15:46:51
highking

Your a bit late with that post.. Carramore and Hollymount Amalgamated there about two months ago..... Balla and Parke have amalgamated at Minor level (St Croans)... Garrymore and Kilmaine have amalgamated at Juvenile level (Carras).. All thats left is Mayo Gaels, Eastern Gaels and Davitts to amalgamate....
09/06/2011 17:25:59
Tomlangan

My club alone has lost 7 players and for a small junior club trying to compete we just can't afford this....saying that if my club did amaligmate i would just retire ..its all about playing with your friends family and your school mates. Not trying to insult anyone from ballycroy but when i see this club winning a game are being competitive it gives me real satisfaction knowing that there not doing it to win county junior titles but for the right reasons pride in the parish and there identity
10/06/2011 12:45:58
dandydavitt

No, i'm not a bit late with my comments. If you couldn't make out that i was talking about, FULL CLUB AMALGAMATION, then i'm wasting my time bringing it up. We're either serious about football, or we are not. For the future, and going on what's available talentwise at the moment, we are going nowhere. What are you people watching at games, it's definitely not talent, it's not out there. We don't have the ability in Mayo to spot the make up of the player that's needed. We're appointing the wrong coaches, wrong methods. All we are getting are fancy dans, look lovely on the ball, but are a bloody waste of time. PE instructers and the likes, being given €100 per session by clubs, are making a pure balls of the game in this county. As long as we appoint people in clubs to choose this path, we're in trouble, the county board are then appointed by these very same people. I'm getting p***** off now, knowing that there's not a notion of changing this mindset, it suits everyone, keep shtum, the few handy bob and all that. Come on Mayo, my axxe.
10/06/2011 15:20:33
islandeady2000

dandydavitt

You have made some wonderful points and have backed up everything you have said, however, pride is strong thing and most would find it hard to accept joining forces with neighbouring clubs unless completely necessary. There is an extensive problem some of the people being brought in to train club.Even past mayo players are offering their services to show clubs drills and tactics that they already know or are pointless.

I think that one of the major problem in this county with club football that championship status is all that matters to some clubs.. Theres club in mayo happen enough just to win one of their championship matchs to maintain senior or imtermed status while playing league football down in !C 1D with no ambition to move upwards.

I would love to see the league revamped a small bit but more importantly i think championship should be knockout both and club and intercounty level. I remember the days when you would be walking to mchale park playing sligo or ross and you d be feel a great buzz and then if you had galway in connacht final it was a wonderful day out
10/06/2011 15:21:51
clubstar09

Its very difficult to do the point you are trying to put across dandy. Lok at the conflict that took place between Hollymount and Carramore before eventually agreeing to amalgamate. And this is from a club which has been amalgamated at youth for years! Another example is Ardagh and Moygownagh.....together for years underage but once joining at senior grade they dispise each other. Clubs do not want to amalgamet at senior grade as they will ultimetely loose their identity as a club. Could you imagine Kiltane and Belmullet joining forces??.....i certantely couldnt!!

However, I believe that the Senior Championship in Mayo is not as strong as it used to be and I think ultimetely this is having an affect on the inter-county team. I have been saying for a long time that the divional teams need to be re-introduced, but not solely for exclusive junior teams....but also Intermediate teams aswell. This would give players at all levels the experience to play senior club championship and I strongly believe that there are players out there that are overlooked because they are not playing senior football. Just take Cork as an example.....Last years All-Ireland winning team was made up of 8 players which came from junior and Intermediate clubs. Take Paul Galvin as another junior club player.
10/06/2011 16:58:02
yew_tree

you cant join every club up and end up with a few. that will REDUCE playing numbers in the county as only 15 players can tog out for each team. the clubs who have joined up are doing so out of desperation. the likes of claremorris does not need to amalgate. we need proper coaching brought into national school level for a start. it doesent matter if we have 50 or 20 clubs in the county - good grassroots coaching is the only way to develop players.
10/06/2011 17:52:17
dandydavitt

At least we're talking sense for a change here, that has to be good. As i said, our Co Board and their mind set has to be changed. If we don't start from there it just won't work. Thank them for their work over the years, but get some young blood with ideas, give them a term of 3/4 years, we've got to keep inventing the wheel, bringing in new ideas, new people. The same rules should also be introduced to Clubs. Too many chairmen too long in their chairs, no ideas, no blooding of young enthuiastic members, no ideas. This whole mess can be changed in a very short time by interested people, but the thing is, are people up for change, or is it going to be the same old bullsxxt for the next 20 years. Come on guys and sort the bloody thing out, it's yere time now, if ye want it ye can get it.
10/06/2011 21:20:42
tg4fanatic

I know this has been said by many pundits but immigration could strenghten the game abroad....... players are promoting our national game as the bring their footballing skills to new regions and are expanding the influence of the gaa which is surely a good thing in these recessionary times! it was seen a little when mayo played london but to be honest mayo were flat! this has happened though before! if anyone remembers in 1996 when mayo got to the all ireland they squeezed past a determined london in the first round! maughan though led his charges to an all ireland appearance! hopefully something similiar happens this year!
12/06/2011 11:40:21
keelman

Clubstar09 makes some good points. But i think it will be impossible to get change tru at county board level. Just look at what happened to West Mayo where it was voted out as a self preservation measure by senior clubs and the 2 most vocal were Westport and Garrymore as they they felt threatened by non relegation of div sides. It looks like theyl be fighting each other after last nights results. And in case people had any doubt remember the Strategic Action Plan. Mayo people are conservative by nature and so are GAA people so change will come very slowly unless people with vision and foresight start taking the reins at club level. Change has to start at club level. Look at Cork who now have the strongest panel of players. It did not happen by accident. For years their county teams were backboned by players from senior clubs but as their county board is ruled by hurling people the football lads got little support so they got together and built up the football divisonall set up from UNDERAGE level. That is the key to do it from U14 up. Its not that we need fewer clubs but we need the best players from ALL clubs competing at the top level. The top County teams have players from all club levels but Mayo do not. Club rivalry is the heart and soul of the GAA and must be kept.
12/06/2011 12:33:16
jono

What the garrymore county board delegates say is not the consensus of the people of the club,cam tell you that for a fact.amazed how those fellas are representing our club down there.no harm bringing in divisional sides made up from junior clubs but they won't push a decent senior team in championship.west Mayo are prob the strongest and they were no great shakes last year.it's good to get players playing senior championship level but if you think senior clubs are afraid of junior amalgamations then your wrong.all divisional sides would struggle in senior championship
12/06/2011 13:06:48
clubstar09

Jono i take you point but i am saying to amagamate junior and inter-player within the divisions. Look i can only talk from a south mayo point of view but exclusive junior team would be non existent because it would be just The Neale now. But have the Players which are good enough and posses the desire to play senior football the chance to prove their worth! If they are good enough then to get called into the county team then fair play but if there not then all the talk can stop. To be honest i dont think Garrymore have anything to worry about in lines of staying up in senior and they have been doing it for years. Very unlucky to loose to Cross yesterday.

If there was a south team made up you would prob get the majority of players from Kilmaine Davitts and Holly/Carra and then maybe one or two starters which are good enough from The Neale, Mayo Gaels etc. Alls im saying is it gives these lads which are good enough the chance to prove their worth!
12/06/2011 13:31:55
keelman

Yes div sides would struggle if they are made up of only junior clubs. But i believe that intermediate cubs should be included too as they are in other counties. Why do we believe that we in Mayo know best when the facts prove otherwise. Will it take another 60 yrs to learn and move on. And most senior clubs in Mayo are in fear of Div sides as if they were introduced properly it would leave room for only 10 to 12 club sides. Self preservation rules.
12/06/2011 13:46:31
jono

I agree with what you both have put forward,divisional sides made up of junior and intermediate teams would be very strong.but the real problem here is that if a player is good enough then he shouldn't have to prove his worth at senior club level through divisional sides.players should be scouted and picked regardless if the grade of football their club plays.this us a serious problem in Mayo and has been for years.
12/06/2011 15:30:45
keelman

My point is that if its done from U14 up then players are used to playing against players of a similar or higher standard and this will then improve them. Players will not normally improve much from age 20. Plus managers will find it a lot easier to judge players.
12/06/2011 18:55:07
Mayo4Samuel

gents...its a sad day for mayo football. Some of our finest strikers of a football are elsewhere.The enigmatic L.Cawley from killawalla is kicking points in usa. What can we do to get our boy back wearing the county colours. That is without me even mentioning raymond o'geraghty and fioontain o'kelly who have been plying their trade for too long. Ballintubber are feeling the effects. MAYO ABU

Result Pages:  1  
Page 1

please login or register to post a message