21/06/2009 18:26:14
hanley County: Longford Posts: 143
Its a great draw we got. Does that mean that we're going to have to re-arrange the club championship dates because we'll be playing the 2nd round of qualifiers now on the weekend of the 11th of July.
Who do ya want to get in second round of qualifiers?
21/06/2009 19:11:52
rover08 County: Longford Posts: 415
Hanley, cop yourself on, yes this is a decent draw, it could be worse, but could be a lot better as well. Leitrim in Carrick anyday is not an easy task and the lads across the road in Leitrim will certainly enter the game as favourites. Secondly, Glenn Ryan needs to shake the team up a little. Davy Barden should be given a more free role to roam, while a man used to roaming like Paddy Dowd should start midfield and deliver quick fast balls into the full-forward line, something that didn't happen against Wicklow. Here goes my team:
Sheridan
Brady Farrell Foy
Reilly Williams Mulligan
Masterson Dowd
Smith Berry Dennigan
Paul Barden Kavanagh
While Davy Barden roams everywhere Mulligan may feel hard done by as would McGee (to a lesser extent) but hey championship football ain't easy. The duo would be quality impact subsuititions. The huge space between half-forward and full-forward is to allow a pacy half-forward time to time their runs for the Barden and Kavanagh to lay balls off!!!!!!!!
To answer Hanley's quesyion about round two (providing we get there) there will be no easy draw so we have to wait and see.
21/06/2009 22:17:33
waifster County: Leitrim Posts: 119
Memo to Longford: Your boys are very, very average. If we drew Armagh and they're fans started crowing about an 'easy' draw, that I could understand. Course we're happy we drew ye at home but given I wouldn't see it as easy. Definitely winable though.
21/06/2009 23:34:17
Ronnie_Coleman County: Longford Posts: 59
Leitrim in Carrick tough enough but winnable. Memo to Leiitrim perosn yis dont even have a free taker who can pop over 14 yard frees hardly any need to come onto another counties forum.
22/06/2009 11:04:07
hop and solo County: All Posts: 104
Look at how Roscommon were blown away on Saturday and we lost to Roscommon this year, I don't think we can call anyone an easy draw.
22/06/2009 11:30:43
PearsePark County: Longford Posts: 278
Its a good draw and Longford have a good chance... its a 50-50 game......
Anyone know of how preperations have been going in terms of challange matches, injury worries, etc. ??
22/06/2009 11:31:42
mac21 County: Leitrim Posts: 648
so we both lost to ros.........! seems we're both happy to have drawn each other. may the winner draw ros again & beat them ;)
22/06/2009 13:20:15
hitman County: Longford Posts: 272
rover 08 how could longfords draw be alot better? Leitrim are probably the only team in the country dat we feel superior to after carlow and kilkenny. This is a dream draw! It'll be great to see two of the bottom teams in the country to battle it out. I'd say it'l make for exciting viewing than the Ulster tripe that Rte force us to watch every week.
22/06/2009 13:53:52
rover08 County: Longford Posts: 415
Hitman are not to be underestimated especially when they are playing in Carrick-On-Shannon. Leitrim could be a possible bananna skin on a long journey through the qualifiers. Are ya with me hitman????
22/06/2009 15:39:42
fredrickwood County: Roscommon Posts: 2871
This will be an exciting game,I mite even head down to it,Its about as 50-50 game as you will get,I narrowly tip it in Longford's favour on the basis that if their forwards show up they are better than Leitrims.
22/06/2009 18:38:47
Fair enough rover. But if we can't beat Leitrim we can get lost and eat banana's.
22/06/2009 21:05:07
SonicDHedgehog County: Longford Posts: 150
Yeah we can throw our shoe at it if we don't beat leitrim, sure the rossies bet them and look at how bad the rossies were against mayo. I know they beat us in the league, but we have to take them, great draw for us!
23/06/2009 22:28:39
JimMorrisson County: Leitrim Posts: 296
ye will be very welcome down in Carrick.
We will give ye a good game thats for sure so ye better be up for it.
If we can hold ye're forwards its going to be a tight one. We couldn't get it together against those bloody Rossies.
To lose one freetaker is disappointing but to lose all 3 is unforgiveable.
Hopefully it will be a good game, big crowd, fantastic atmosphere with lots of banter and whoever wins make sure to drop into Carrick, Drumsna, Jamestown or Dromod and spend some shekels.
24/06/2009 09:19:30
Goat68 County: Longford Posts: 14
It is a good draw for both counties as Leitrim can be as confident as Longford heading into the game. It also gives a great incentive to both teams to win as there will be very beatable teams in the draw for the next round, with the exception of Kerry and Derry Longford would fancy their chances aginst any of the others, especially if it is a home draw. I think if our forwards perform (as we all know they can) then we might just sneak it. However Leitrim will certainly be fancy their chances in park Sean. Think the fact that Emlyn Mullligan is missing is huge for Longford, he is as good as any forward in the Connacht championship and would have been good for 5-10 points on the day. Overall I think we will sneak it by a point or two and then hopefully we can have a summer like 2006 and play football until the end of July or maybe even August!
24/06/2009 18:30:18
halfwayline County: Leitrim Posts: 41
dont get too big headed about the Draw Lads.. we beat Wicklow easly in league and u also lost to Ros this year...50 50 game i would say ..its all down to who wants it most on the day....but hay will c u all in Pairc Sean on the 4th and we will see what happens ...I have LEITRIM by 4 pts and if i am wrong will happly come on here again and sing LONGFORDS PRAISE....
25/06/2009 15:24:53
Theres gr8 crak on d leitrim gaa page. Dese leitrim crowd are easily rised.
08/07/2011 16:06:57
Fatfighters County: Longford Posts: 47
I think it's a difficult draw. Tyrone are good.
09/07/2011 13:03:29
DUB1 County: Dublin Posts: 5025
Would not say easy draw but giving the manner in which tyrone lost to donegal in will be a set back for them.I honestly see them upping there game and coming away with the win but in saying there could be a real upset here if you,s put it up to the red hands...
09/07/2011 13:33:25
bananarama County: Longford Posts: 354
they will have red mickys after this
09/07/2011 16:45:52
Fatfighters County: Longford Posts: 47