16/04/2012 15:32:48
St.Conleth County: Kildare Posts: 730
royaldunne County: Meath Posts: 678
1153188 Geezer will be concentrating on our team game and preparing to beat the 15 players on the pitch, not Sean Boylan. No fear.
Ahh this part? You were saying that its not sean boylan that geeser has to beat its players. Sorry if by my higher iq I took from this that you clearly meant managers have little imput and its players. See??? you took ...that's when confusion and twisting came in, how simple do we have to be to make anything obvious ?
Now next point since all the horah in meath generated from banty not been from meath does it bother anyone that you don't have your own man? A lot of the talk was banty didn't get the meath tradition does that mean anything in kildare or not. Just wondering as yous have a fantastic home grown manager looking after longford how long will yous continue with a outsider? Or does it even come up for discussion? As I say its just to find out views as it was the most common thing thrown at banty
Higher iq ? No comment...admin certainly wouldn't allow a response to that one
Outside managers don't bother us as long as they're doing a good job. Geezer is doing a brilliant job. The begrudgers outside the county will state that we have to win something or he'll have to go but that's not the general thinking in Kildare. Geezer has given us good long summers, great football and great organisation. We can wait for success, we are used to waiting anyway. Don't be quick to slam Banty, you've sacked better homegrown managers. The focus of blaming managers is part of the meath problem.
16/04/2012 15:46:02
1146317 For the love of god. We didn't win a leinster. And we had soft draws to get to 2 semis and were hammered in both. traditional meath football is no more we must move with times and at least marry both modern and traditional styles.
And what has k mc geeney achieved? Nothing. Kildare have been promoted today by pure luck. Please he is no icon of what a manager should be. 5 years there and nothing to show for it. He would be gone 3 years ago if he was in meath.
16/04/2012 15:47:28
1146429 Firstly not sayin mc geeney is not doing a great job at kildare. And they are miles ahead of meath.
I am saying in meath he would not have been allowed to build a team over protracted length of time.
And you must have made a mistake while reading my first post as I never said 10 was easy draw I said 2 semis were easy draw. And ill add exception to that was v mayo. Secondly my only reference to 10 was that we did not win leinster and anyone who says different is the deluded one not me.
So what you're saying is....
16/04/2012 16:10:41
cilldara13 County: Kildare Posts: 229
Meath people are funny
16/04/2012 16:58:17
Dingus County: Kildare Posts: 271
RoyalDunne, I understand your points but patience is a virtue and I think McGeeney is doing and has done a hell of a lot for Kildare football right across the board. Kildare, notwithstanding their own shortcomings, have been very unlucky in big games, what with blatently bad decisions and injuries. Johnny Doyle spent most of last year at midfield; then again, that sort of thing can only strenghten a team if and when their luck changes. The trouble with Meath is the opposite of us; you were so used to achieving that the County Board pressed the panic button with Eamon O'Brien and again with Banty, possibly justified. Boylan is a legendary manager and I still think the current Meath team has very little wrong with it, but time will tell and if SB doesn't deliver in a heartbeat, what then? The only problem I have with Mac is he's not a native, meaning if he was he might be more inclined to stay on if things don't pan out for us this year or the next. Then again, native or not, a lot of counties tend to overreact when silverware isn't produced. With one or two exceptions, Kildare hardly fail to produce excitement, drama and contoversy in every game they play, not least when we clash with yourselves. MC himsel said when he took the job that it takes a lot of time to build a winning team, that a county like Kildare should be there or thereabouts every year. I hope he stays on and I hope Kildare fans recognize the lift there has been in Kildare at nearly every level since he arrived.
16/04/2012 17:08:59
lilywhite1 County: Kildare Posts: 1645
Dingus A case in point of the lift that you mention since Kieran McGeeney came is the very good minor team that played Wexford on Saturday. I'm not predicting a Leinster but they have potential.
16/04/2012 17:47:18
Count_Awesome County: Kildare Posts: 535
I'd rather win nothing the McGeeney way than win Leinster the Meath 2010 way
16/04/2012 17:54:52
Absolutely, Lilywhite 1, look at my hometown Athy. It's been decades since Athy ever did anything in Gealig football. I'd love to see more of them breaking through but players from all over the County are and I think MCK gives them a go if he thinks they'll produce. Paddy Dunne had one or two goes and maybe wasn't hectic, Feely he would've taken except Feely's ambitions lie elsewhwere. There is Mick Foley of course, still steruggling for the form he showed previously but Fogarty, Dowling, Fitzpatrick, Lyons - proving his worth all the time - and more recently Eoin Doyle show real potential. And there are others; Tommy O'Neill for instance. These fellas are thrown into big games and look, most of them lanyway, like they're well up for it. It takes time, it takes nurturing. That's one of the reasons I lke Mac; if a player looks good he'll get a shot. It isn't like when Micko was in charge. I honestly think McGeeney, if not pioneering the modern game, is a perfect example of the modern tactician. Mick still has nothing but praise for his years in Kildare and not necessisarily for some of his later posts.
16/04/2012 19:05:50
royaldunne County: Meath Posts: 4056
Dingus I have said that we got rid of eob way too soon the man had got a leinster. See they way I didn't say win. And had brought them to semi previous year. This is my problem with what is happening in meath. I think boylan if he does come in and as this drags on it seems less likely that he will as from what I'm hearing as he was told banty was resigning. Now again this is where meath , cork , kerry , dublin differ from other counties is that they don't mind waiting. Yes obrien had easy enough draw in 09 apart from mayo. But if he had been in kildare for those 2 years would what he achieved been considered as justifying removing him? I don't think so. Cute awsome people in glass houses shouldn't throw stones. You were the very one on saying you wouldn't care if seannie johnson kicked the winning point in leinster final that he was a cavan man etc and the transfer is at the very least suspect. So less about leinster in 10. Would kildare have done anything different?? No they would not have. And no one would have said a word as refs decisions sometimes go with you and sometimes not.
16/04/2012 19:36:08
16/04/2012 17:47:18
Count_Awesome County: Kildare Posts: 386
We won that leinster on refs mistake nothing more. We didn't go out to win it like that so is his way poaching players from other counties?
16/04/2012 20:52:14
Yeah, RoyalDunne, I read your recent post; I know what you're saying. You were screwed, I said this before by the way, in last years championship with GG's goal; who knows how things would have went if that had been allowed? We might still have won but who knows? No on EoB; that's my point; when I saw the Meath team celebrating that Leinster EOB was the only Meath man who didn't look too happy, and I thought, that man has a bit of honour. Then again, that call wasn't the players' call. SB might be the man for Meath, and although I think he's a lot more clewed in than a lot of his generation of managers, the game has changed and Kildare probably epitomize that change as much or more than any other at the moment. Look, anything can happen in GAA; Meath were and are a team that can always beat just about anybody when they make thier minds up. I'd always be wary of you though I love this Kildare team. Pure Lillywhite love, that's all, and loyalty.
17/04/2012 13:56:38
cilldara13 County: Kildare Posts: 229
Meath people are funny
17/04/2012 15:30:22
lillymadfan County: Kildare Posts: 1082
royaldunne County: Meath Posts: 690
1153559 16/04/2012 17:47:18
We won that leinster on refs mistake nothing more. We didn't go out to win it like that so is his way poaching players from other counties?
Hmmmm I wonder is this what goes around comes around. they say pay back is a bitch, Is meath now paying for that day in croker that broke Louth hearts. IS THIS WHATS CALLED KARMA
17/04/2012 18:49:46
17/04/2012 15:30:22
lillymadfan County: Kildare Posts: 617
royaldunne County: Meath Posts: 690
1153559 16/04/2012 17:47:18
Hmmmm I wonder is this what goes around comes around. they say pay back is a bitch, Is meath now paying for that day in croker that broke Louth hearts. IS THIS WHATS CALLED KARMA
Indeed it could be. And in next year or 2 kildare could be dumped out of all ire by cavan. Irony eh.
But we will all wait and see.
Dingus good on ye. You adore your home county and a very loyal to them. It was nice having a discussion with a objective kildare poster. I wish you the best and I hope your team rewards your loyalty and support. And sure we might even meet in croker
18/04/2012 08:31:59
Royaldunne I think that when you come on a Kildare forum you should understand that we are all loyal Kildare supporters and that's why we're here. When certain plebs come on here with an anti-kildare agenda some of us will defend it such is our pride and loyalty. I can understand yourself thinking that those that do, in your mind aren't being objective because we don't agree with you, hence the tantrums. As per your interest in 'discussion' on kildare matters it's interesting to note that on this forum or any other forum there is not one comment or post from you on any positive aspect of kildare football. On the otherhand when something negative does crop up it's also interesting to note that you have plenty to add to it.
I have absolutely no problem with you coming on here as you're easily dealt with and easy to see through. But maybe you might drop the mask of 'genuine' interest in discussing matters relating to Kildare ?
29/04/2012 20:31:32
lilypad County: Kildare Posts: 390
Well what do you say now, huh? We beat a big team in croker, Leinster will follow, thats for sure, well done to the champs in waiting!!!
29/04/2012 20:45:25
BettystownRoyal County: Meath Posts: 3302
lilypad you are right leinster is kildares. you are so far ahead of everyone right now and if you don't hammer meath/wicklow and offaly on the way to an easy win over dublin in the final you will be considered bottlers. i hope for your sake you win it because it's a long time since kildare won anything of significance.
29/04/2012 21:01:12
dubya County: Kildare Posts: 154
The players were rightfully not too carried away with victory .As for Leinster its still a tough ask ,despite the victory today.
29/04/2012 21:03:31
dubbydave. County: Dublin Posts: 3715
lilypad County: Kildare Posts: 36
1162655 Well what do you say now, huh? We beat a big team in croker, Leinster will follow, thats for sure, well done to the champs in waiting!!!
kick a few balls around in div 2 win the final and now your leinster champions in the making sure why not add AI to the list too ;-).
29/04/2012 21:12:31
carburycastle County: Kildare Posts: 196
Ha Ha, I remember groing up as a young fella and walkin out of Croke Park and anything like the abuse the M**th people used to give would sicken ye. Now look at yis, lets be honest about it boys, weve got better seniors, u21s, minors, u16, u15, u14, u2s, our women are better lookin & weve even got better horses. Its just an all round better place, the times they are a changin........ yup the lilywhites
Result Pages: 1  2  3  4  5  6  7  [Next >>]
Page 4