Darran
Donaghy
Gooch
Declan
Curtin
21/05/2012 12:47:30
Horsebox77

Ya I'd go along with that, I think this is the easiest team to pick for Kerry with years the majority of the places pick themselves, personally I'd change Marc Se and Eoin Brosnan and this is mainly due to this new square ball rule change, but also feel that Brosnan would offer more protection to our keeper and the biggest bonus is Marc would be released to the half back line.

But ya C-K-H.. agree with that team.

On another matter you mentioned a few weeks back of the posibility of a Galway challenge did this occur? watching the Galway full forward yest he's a big man that could cause trouble for backlines would have been interesting to see him up against our fullback line.
21/05/2012 12:49:22
Horsebox77

Think Donaghy will return to the edge of the square and depending how the game is going will rotate, Declan too need to be centre not on the wing, both he and Darran would need to change Dec at 11 and Darran at 12.
22/05/2012 11:48:25
Cute_Kerry_Hoor

So Marc is doubtful with a hamstring tear, opportunity for Bohane now. Or maybe Horse, they will try Brosnan back there with O' Mahony at 6.
22/05/2012 20:36:01
Horsebox77

ah he has a few options, Bohane or O'Mahoney straight into 3 is the obvious one, Brosnan is the choice I'd have but ye already know that from my rants, it all depends on how Jack reads this square ball change and how much of a treat he feels it is to us over the course of the year, but back to the question, Bohane or o'Mahoney in a straight swop with Marc, he could also throw Killian in there with Crowley in the corner and McGuire on the wing but Killian is not a full back another option is even put Crowley in at 3 as he played there all year with UCC,

Myself I think Jack will play safe and throw O'Mahony at 3, cos in all fairness to him he was fair enough when playing there during the league, what do Tipp normally play a normal 3 man full forward line or the two men inside with one man roaming, I assume the team is being named on the Thur @9pm as usual.

You know maybe it's no harm Marc is out as it forces Jack into thinking of other options at 3. Whay you think yourself C-K-H?
22/05/2012 21:08:36
Cute_Kerry_Hoor

Well Horse it won't matter a bit that Marc is missing Sunday but as you said, maybe it is no harm. I think Jack will play it safe and opt for Aidan at 3, I'd say they know at this stage that Killian is not a full-back, so that leaves Enright, Aidan and Killian inside, with Tomás, Brosnan and Crowley outside.

Tipp will more than likely just have 2 inside as they have done against us in the last 2 years, so full-back won't matter much the next day.

Hopefully Marc will be fit enough for Cork 2 weeks from Sunday.
24/05/2012 21:04:29
Cute_Kerry_Hoor

The Kerry Senior Football team to play Tipperary on Sunday 27th May is as follows:

1. Brendan Kealy (Kilcummin) 2. Shane Enright (Tarbert) 3. Daniel Bohan (Austin Stacks) 4. Killian Young (Renard)
5. Tomás Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht) 6. Eoin Brosnan (Dr Crokes) 7. Peter Crowley (Laune Rangers)

8. Anthony Maher (Duagh) 9. Bryan Sheehan (St. Mary's)

10. Paul Galvin (Finuge) 11. Darran O'Sullivan (Glenbeigh/Glencar) 12. Kieran O'Leary (Dr Crokes)

13. Colm Cooper (Dr Crokes) Captain 14. Declan O'Sullivan (Piarsaigh Na Dromada) 15. Patrick Curtin (Moyvane)

Substitutes:

16. Brian Kelly (Legion)

17. Kieran Donaghy (Austin Stacks)

18. Aidan O'Mahony (Rathmore)

19. James O'Donoghue (Legion)

20. Brian Maguire (Listowel Emmett's)

21. Barry John Keane (Kerins O'Rahillys)

22. Seamus Scanlon (Currow)

23. Johnny Buckley (Dr Crokes)

24. Jonathan Lyne (Legion) 25. Michael Geaney (Daingean Ui Chuis) 26. Fionn Fitzgerald (Dr Crokes)
24/05/2012 21:05:41
Cute_Kerry_Hoor

Bohane full-back, Crowley starts, Leary at 12, Declan at 14, Donaghy dropped!!! Who expected that??
24/05/2012 21:50:23
Horsebox77

is Donaghy carrying a knock?, no point in having O'Leary out there he is too small to pick up any breaks, not suprised by the rest but am suprised that Donaghy is not starting esp considering that this square ball rule is now changed and with the right ball it should suit him. ah well we'll know by half 3 Sunday
26/05/2012 11:55:57
traleeexile

I like the look of the team Jack has gone with - delighted to see Bohane get a start and also Curtin and Crowley and the placing of Declan at FF.
If memory serves me similar forward line up played Dublin in league apart from BJK who I am also looking forward to seeing get some game tomorrow.
All in all good selection - Kieran D please lets have less quotes in the papers for the rest of the summer.
26/05/2012 20:47:32
Cute_Kerry_Hoor

traleeexile

I like the look of the team Jack has gone with - delighted to see Bohane get a start and also Curtin and Crowley and the placing of Declan at FF.
If memory serves me similar forward line up played Dublin in league apart from BJK who I am also looking forward to seeing get some game tomorrow.
All in all good selection - Kieran D please lets have less quotes in the papers for the rest of the summer.

Here here.............too much media involvement for my liking.
26/05/2012 21:51:23
chicago09

not a bad looking team more or less what i expected. i'm really hoping bohane makes that full back position his own we need to have a good solid man there as we need mark elsewhere, no point in trying o'mahoney at this stage as it is prob. his last year anyway. otherwise its no shock to see o'leary in either as he started most games last year anyway. we just have to wait and see how the new boys work out even though tipp. is not much of oppisition anyway.
27/05/2012 11:56:34
Horsebox77

Can any one of ye tell me the Junior team yesterday?
27/05/2012 15:59:06
moomoo

Joe Brolly has a lot to say for someone with 1 all ireland medal
27/05/2012 17:27:23
Horsebox77

Lads are we leaderless, at stages today we looked like we had no one that was able take command of the situation and get the team going in the right direction. Darragh did it for years but this was seriously lacking today, Our tactics today too made no sense we were pushing the ball sideways with no penatration, Full back line played will I thought Bohane and Enright were very good and Young was consistant, our half back line was just ok but at times when run at we looked porus I'd worry about that, the half forward line was poor and the ball played in by them to Curtin, Cooper and Declan was brutal, Thurles is a fine wide field we never used it to our advantage, I don't know does Jack know his best 15, do the players understand these tactics cos from the stands it didn;t make sense to me, runs being made but no quick ball in, I wonder about the make up of our team against Cork, marc will come in but where Bohane did enough to stay there so will Marc at long last be released to the half back line, similarly Star will start who will lose out Curtin or o'Leary think too that today just proved the importance of the role played by Donnacha Walsh and how much he is missed and underrated,
27/05/2012 18:43:06
chicago09

I think its more a lack of confidence than anything else it was more or less the same mistakes they were making against mayo in the last game, verry sloppy on the ball, bad passing and mistakes that led to scores for tipp. I thought bohane was very goog under the high ball and enright played well but there is a tougher game in two weeks but i dont know where mark will play if he sticks with bohane. Midfield played ok but after that the problems are in the forwards some bad ball going inside specially to curtin and cooper they have to get the ball in faster and stop this messing about with that horrible basketball passing that they try to do.i agree horse about donnacha walsh and lets hope galvin had an offday and its not the end of the line for him also. An intresting year ahead no doubt.
27/05/2012 19:19:18
wfkerry
County: USA

IM not sure what Kind of a game Jack wants them to play im not
sure if the players know either. Too much handpasing half foward line
playing too deep would have been better off today to have Donaghy
on the edge of the square and leave quick long ball into him looks
like there trying to copy Tyrones style they need to get away from that
and play the football they are capable of
27/05/2012 19:32:45
traleeexile

Match Ratings
Kealey 7 (kick out awful but saved our blushes with vital save)
Enright 6 (seemed to have his hands full)
Bohan 6 (seemed to be under pressure against a novice at this level - at least he didn't get injured - misjudged bounce near end which could have cost us)
Young 5 (is he playing out of position? - seems to be going back on form and injury picked up didn't help)
Tomas 5 (poor and seemed diinterested at times)
Brosnan 6 (not authorative for CHB - looked slow at times)
Crowley 7 (tried at least but seemed to be caught up in general malaise around him)
Maher 5 (heat seemed to drain him - fouled a lot)
Sheehan 6 (looked unfit)
Galvin 4 (terrible distribution)
Darren 6 (tried too hard at times and seems unsure what to do when he beats his man)
O'Leary 6 (showed for ball but kicked awful wide)
Curtin 4 (out of sorts at FF)
Gooch 5 (very average by his standards)

lads we looked stale and rudderless and lost all shape well before the end - Cork will be quietly confident of doing a job on us in 2 weeks time - Jack and selectors will need to take a long hard look at the video of this one. Major shakeup needed.
27/05/2012 21:59:20
westkerry

This for me was the worst performance in years by any Kerry team.

I was so disapointed leaving Thurles.

The only player who played well was Thomas O'Se.

Shocking lads...
28/05/2012 08:43:05
Horsebox77

westkerry

1181557 This for me was the worst performance in years by any Kerry team. I was so disapointed leaving Thurles. The only player who played well was Thomas O'Se. Shocking lads...

Didn;t think Tomas was great being honest he looked dis-interested, a lot of the players did, it was if they just wanted to get this game out of the way and get on with it, I though the pick of the bunch was Enright, I thought our half back line looked to be in trouble for most of the game.

Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>]
Page 1

please login or register to post a message