Kerry Forum

New Keeper?

(Oldest Posts First) - Go To The Latest Post

k'boy at this stage I'd let it lie, EF has gone and despite recent failings and there was a few, history will be good to EF - I'm was not his biggest fan towards the end but realistically and on paper he was unbeaten in Munster with five on the trot, an all Ireland and a national league - in any other county that would be considered successful - key now is moving forward in the right direction and getting the right people both sides of the white line in place and getting behind them.

Hermit I can be as vocal as the next man but have to agree there is a core of unreasonable and unrealistic people out there that class themselves as fans, the may have never kicked a ball in the life but are self appointed experts, don't get me wrong I'm not saying I'm an expert far from it but even a good friend of mine who I used to go to games with turned into a right C U next Tuesday on the sideline arguing every point, goal or tackle an impossible man to watch a game with, I have no issue losing to a better team and have no problem applauding an oppositions score even when I'm coaching. We should all be there for the good of the game but there is an element in every county that don't fit that bill, I always maintain you'll meet the genuine fan on away days in Feb and March not in August or September.

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 3523 - 09/09/2018 14:23:56    2140483

Link

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "There was a lot of truth in what he was saying though in all fairness. Our support in Croker for big games is an embarrassment at this stage and seems to be getting worse. You can't underestimate the effect being hugely outnumbered has on players.

I do think he went OTT though and completely overstated the issue. I don't believe he was getting abuse on the street for example. Perhaps I'm wrong, and maybe there was isolated incidents when someone had a go at him and if so that is unacceptable IMO.