Home Football Hurling Counties

Galway - Gaillimh V An Lú
please login or register to post a message

Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>]
Page 3

09/02/2012 19:47:32
kiloughter

Opinions are fine and welcome and the warnings about Louth are well worth noting. However i am taking the bigger picture. There will be ups and downs throughout the season but the method and stability is what i am delighted about. History has generally proven that Galway when they get a talented group of footballers together deliver silverware. I am cautious but optimistic and excited about this new maroon wave. One message i would like to impart is to get out and support these guys. Our support in Derry was fantastic unlike Killarney and Newry (to a lesser extent) in the league last year. Killarney was probably the lowest ebb for me supporting Galway away from home. We have a duty to support these guys. After all they are doing it for the pride of where they come from and who they are unlike many other team sports.
09/02/2012 20:31:10
gfsc

Well said kiloughter. Come out on Sunday and support the Tribes.
We have posted some more interviews on our Facebook page link with more to follow tomorrow.
10/02/2012 13:19:18
Trucker1

Looking forward to it, should be a decent crowd with the double bill which is a great initiative(will have to bring sambos)!!! Louth will be very tough but here is hoping for a good performance
11/02/2012 12:20:47
quietwoman

good luck to galway to-morrow
11/02/2012 18:15:22
Shearer
County: Louth

Should be a good game..... best of luck both sides.
11/02/2012 19:42:37
quietwoman

hope mullholland can get the team to play as a team, some of the fullfowrd line not playing for the team and in a tight game this will always cost you. Any views
11/02/2012 20:55:48
THE_SNAPPER

I intend to drive over tomorrow morning for the game, but I'm afraid the game may be called off due to fog in the west.

I see the Mayo v Dublin game had to be abandoned mid stream tonight due to fog.

Anyone any updates on the weather in the Galway area.

Thanks
11/02/2012 21:10:10
quietwoman

hi snapper dont be worring about fog,pearse stadium is 500 metres from the atlantic ocean sea breeses will keep all fog away- drive safetly
11/02/2012 21:10:35
gfsc

It's grand down here in the Galway, good sea breeze blowing in here We are about a mile from the pitch here.

check out www.facebook.com/tribesmensgaa.football for updates.
11/02/2012 21:18:35
gfsc

Sorry use this link

11/02/2012 21:21:25
THE_SNAPPER

Cheers Guys.
12/02/2012 16:19:30
festinog

A lot of wasted opportunities in the second half. Louth will be going home feeling they left this one behind. Early days yet, and anything is better than a loss!

Gaillimh Abú!
12/02/2012 16:20:50
Oggy

Not good at all. Chances galore and not taken. At least we got a point but it should have been two. The last minute offered another opportunity but I think we'll have to accept that we may not have fellows who can put teams away when the chances are there
12/02/2012 16:20:58
stekhli

draw , disappointing result for galway
12/02/2012 17:21:47
Marooned

Disappointing result alright but when you have such a young team inconsistency is going to be a problem. They didn't play nearly as well as they did up in Derry last weekend. Think Galway had scored 1-5 after about 20 minutes, had built up a 5 point lead and only scored 0-3 the rest of the game. Left some goal chances behind them by not playing the extra pass and shooting instead. Nicky did it once and Conroy another time. Gareth Bradshaw was the best player on the pitch. Draw was a fair result.
12/02/2012 18:44:37
Stuckinthepast

Poor performance, fair play to Louth they played well and probably should have won it. Paddy Keenan was the standout footballer on the pitch, from a Galway point of view the middle sector is still a worry, however I think the two lads are working hard and should be given the chance to develop, what we need more of is the half back line and half forward line working harder to get onto the breaks.

We were just very flat from the off, the goal was fortunate and we opened things up for about 10 mins and played some nice stuff but then lost our way again, 2nd half was very poor and some of the shooting was woeful, having said that the inside line didn't get the supply they needed, the likes of Nicky Joyce needs to work harder off the ball when chasing possession, in general thats an area Galway have to work on, was good at times but all players need to work to retrieve possession.

A few positive performances but too many fell short of the level required. This performance was well below the level this group of players should be aiming for and are capable of. Westmeath next up offers a chance of a win and more importantly a much improved performance. Derry's result against Tyrone today puts last weeks result in perspective, we have a long way to go to become competitive at the top level.
12/02/2012 18:53:20
gfsc

Gaillimh Abú! ........ that is all.
12/02/2012 19:02:45
kiloughter

This is a match we would have lost by a point in the last 3 or 4 years so from that perspective i will take a draw. Louth were better than us on the breaking ball and have some decent footballers. Keep the faith and as i said in an earlier post there will be ups and downs for this young squad. After all we have 3 points out of 4 on the board so a decent start.
12/02/2012 19:39:03
SignHimUp

When ye got the goal we were rattled, but got going before half time, draw will do us a point closer to staying up and no one gave us a chance today.
12/02/2012 19:41:21
NathinButSteel

Bad Performance imo.

We dominated the first 20-25 mins after that Louth were camped in our half as we failed to win any breaking ball in midfield. This Louth dominance continued into the second half for another 15-20 mins. Management were too slow to make changes. Hehir was having a mare and I thought he should have been taken off well before he was.

Defense was very good, Duane, Forde and Bradshaw in particular.

In summary. A few positives with the defense and our bright start but Forwards were poor enough and management to slow to react to Louth dominance. Lucky to get the draw as Louth missed 3 45s in the last 10 minutes and Paddy Kennan put a goal chance wide too in the 2nd half.

Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>]
Page 3

please login or register to post a message