27 Mins Gone: Something Happened

Speaking of journos I wonder how Roy Curtis is feeling today? :D :D :D

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9154 - 01/09/2014 16:20:45    1646196

SamT2012

Hill16

Your 15/16 point hammering notion has gone out the window and now your trying to take away from one of donegals goals to make yourself happy. I presume you were at the game and are aware of what was going on between Murphy and O Carrol, Gallagher and MDMA. Every time Neil or Michael were making runs for the ball your two lads were facing them waving in their face and if they tried to move they literally hugged them so they couldnt get anywhere. Neil got a yellow for retaliating and at one stage O carroll was still facing murphy and waving in his face even though the ball was going over his head. Ridiculous stuff. For the goal O carroll was at the same craic not even facing the ball, holding murphy, and then when Murphy gives him a wee nudge you cry foul. Your blaming the donegal poster for not telling the full story well there it is and it looks a lot worse on you.

PLEASE STATE WHERE I SAID DUBLIN WILL WIN THIS MATCH BY 15/16 POINTS?
thats utter lies!!!!
as for your comments on mccauley i thaught he was our worst player on the day but not even the most donegal of donegal
men who were in croker yesterday would agree with you regarding him holding gallagher haha
sure mccauley thrives on a running game why on earth would he want to be holding gallagher
ridiculous comments from you there

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 01/09/2014 16:22:34    1646199

wayno

i brought it up because a thread was started on desciribing that goal
it was clearly left out of the whole description of the goal thats all
i dont know how you could possibly construe that as sour grapes
as it did happen just like the other pieces of play the poster described for the sequence of that goal

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 01/09/2014 16:26:15    1646205

hill16no1man

ruanua

im just pointing out that the original poster
clearly missed that incident when describing the goal
and the sunday game panel didnt even mention it either
it did happen like afterall in what was amjor moment in the match

You are right hill Murphy did give him a nudge and it made all the difference.

Having said that if every challenge like that was blown up yesterday we would all be on here today complaining.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 01/09/2014 17:32:28    1646283

There was continuous pulling between the 2 men all afternoon. I think that yes Murphy got away with that for setting up the goal all right. But I would add that Dublin had only 1 real goal chance. That was the shot that durkin saved. We scored 3 from 6 goal chances. (McHugh, McFadden and possibly McGlynn were the other 3).

So all in all we were well worth the 6 point win.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 01/09/2014 17:53:24    1646293

So all in all we were well worth the 6 point win.

Absolutely.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 01/09/2014 18:00:36    1646295

Was it a Donegal free before the first goal. Overcarrying and lead with the elbow, and was given a free?

But it doesn't matter, games over, Dublin lost!

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 01/09/2014 18:10:03    1646301

Alot of dublin supporters complaining and say its not sour grapes....who are ya's convincing?...dublin are mentally weak...when great goals and points are needed in tight games dublin will never answer to it!!

.tribute (Cavan) - Posts: 360 - 01/09/2014 20:57:44    1646426

tribute, Dublin have won two All Irelands and two leagues. Mentally weak? I don't think so.

Dublin were beaten by a better prepared team who played the better football and got their tactics right.

As for mental weakness, I refer you to the under 21s :-)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 01/09/2014 21:08:23    1646438

Dublin totally collapsed in the 2nd half
Lost all shape and lost all sence of what they where doing

Yes they scored 8-9 points in first half. All great long distance scores but they dont win you Games

The Dublin Bench was also very weak with None of the Subs having any impact on the game

JohnGrace1989 (Donegal) - Posts: 472 - 02/09/2014 09:14:50    1646524

I really enjoyed watching Michael McAuleys performance(or lack thereof) against Donegal. It just shows you that talk is cheap. I've never heard Neil Gallagher mouthing off before the game and he didn't need to do any mouthing on Sunday. He just kept his head down and beat his man up a stick. The way it should be done.
If OCarroll was such a good defender he wouldn't have fallen over when Murphy gave him a wee nudge in lead up to first goal.

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 02/09/2014 09:53:53    1646555

Ah bless Tribute.....may i refer you to the all ireland final of 2011, the semi last year and indeed the final....google it if you arent used to watching teams other than your own.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 02/09/2014 10:17:44    1646577

Not taken anything away from your all irelands but it was a poor standard since tyrone won it in 2008...now donegal are back raising the bar..!!

.tribute (Cavan) - Posts: 360 - 02/09/2014 10:37:19    1646592

That's a matter of opinion!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 02/09/2014 10:39:03    1646594

Jackeen
Of Dublins 9 Scores in First half how many where scored from within Donegals 45?
Dublin had one half chance at a Goal
Donegal had 6 and took 3

Dublins Sub Bench was exposed
All well throwing Boys on when teams are already beaten but Dublin Did not have anybody that could come on and make an Impact on the game.
The Game turned in about the 22min when Donegal Started to Boss the Game and pushed up on YOUR kick outs.
When Donegal ran at your defence after Toye came on Dublin had no answer.
Your Manager has a lot to answer too. For large periods of the game he sat in the stand and only game to the line on the 55min

JohnGrace1989 (Donegal) - Posts: 472 - 02/09/2014 10:57:09    1646614

The standard has never been as bad as 8t was when Tyrone were winning All Irelands. I think everyone is delighted that football has moved on and Dublin deserve a lot of credit for that

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 02/09/2014 10:57:47    1646615

.tribute

Not taken anything away from your all irelands but it was a poor standard since tyrone won it in 2008...now donegal are back raising the bar..!!

Very debatable. Poor standard in what way? just because there is hardly any time on the ball now means the skill levels have to be even greater when you are trying to pick a man or take a score, never mind receiving a pass. The other point worth mentioning is that a game that is very one sided is not a reflection of a bad standard, it is a reflection in a gulf of class. yes this lacks excitement, but it is by no means a bad standard of football.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 02/09/2014 11:20:14    1646634

Johhgrace you have posted that same post on numerous threads. I am replying to tributes post querying the mental resolve of the dublin team.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 02/09/2014 12:06:01    1646675

johngrace is the same poster as samt12
as he has come on the dublin forum trying to lie again saying i predicted a 15/16 point hammering for dublin
so pay no attention to him
as genuine donegal supporters on here no full well i never said that
and only last week a thread was opened asking would it be ashock if donegal won
and i was he first to answer by saying
in no way could the 2012 all ireland champions beating the 2013 all ireland champions be classed as a shock even

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 02/09/2014 14:05:48    1646816

Christ lads, is this what it has come to? Lads from Cavan, Mayo and other counties coming on to have a dig at Dublin players for losing their first game in 2 years???
Ye have little to be bothering ye...
For what its worth i am damn proud of MDMA, ROC and all of them and they will be back, dont worry about that Cavan and Mayo lads.

Once again, well done Donegal. Best of luck in 3 weeks boys.

(that was some thump MM hit Paul Flynn in the second half!! :) )

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 02/09/2014 14:15:20    1646825