27 Mins Gone: Something Happened

it is a major shock i would have to say due to bookie prices and common consensus..i think donegal having an underwhelming performance against armagh had a lot to do with that as they were looking almost back to 2012 form in the early rounds..this coupled with dublins display against monaghan led to things going a bit overboard....a donegal team back to their best beating this dublin team is no shock just i dont think people thought that this donegal team were anywhere near back to their best before sunday

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 02/09/2014 14:32:04    1646855

waynoI

Use where a spent force after 20mins on Sunday
Use where restricted to shooting from the 45 yard line for large periods of the game.
Donegal Started to come into the game and bossed the game from there on
Your Sub bench was badly exposed as being weak, That had no impact on the game when they came on.
Your Manager spent most the game in the stand and only joined the sideline on 55mins when at that stage the game was already passed use

Your first point, Spent force after 20 minutes, I agree. We wore ourselves out in the first 20 minutes, After that we just turned off. Can happen. Wasn't meant to be in the end. Simple as that really.

Yep, We where restricted to that but sure Dublin would have expected it, For the first 20 mins again, We where very good and did it well, After that, When Donegal started to come back into the game, We just panicked.

Sub bench was weak. It didn't work on the day. It wont be perfect and plane sailing all the time.

Jim Gavin in two years in charge has won us 2 leinster titles, back to back league titles for the first time ever, Won an All Ireland and treated us to some absolutely outstanding football, He made mistakes at the weekend but again, Noone is perfect, The man is human. Personally any man that leads our side to the top can watch the game from the bus for all i care. That's his way though, rarely will you see Jim on the sideline. Thats fine by me. Its just his way.

Come on lads

JohnGrace1989 (Donegal) - Posts: 472 - 02/09/2014 18:11:48    1647091

hill16no1man

johngrace is the same poster as samt12
as he has come on the dublin forum trying to lie again saying i predicted a 15/16 point hammering for dublin
so pay no attention to him
as genuine donegal supporters on here no full well i never said that
and only last week a thread was opened asking would it be ashock if donegal won
and i was he first to answer by saying
in no way could the 2012 all ireland champions beating the 2013 all ireland champions be classed as a shock even

JohnGrace is Not
However what he will say is this
Your Bookies Said it
Your media Said it
Your Fans Said it
You still said it at Half Time
You where in total Shock at the end and use where Proven Wrong

Total Lack of respect shown towards Donegal Football

JohnGrace1989 (Donegal) - Posts: 472 - 02/09/2014 18:35:08    1647103

John without Grace,

Donegal won. Be happy.

See if you keep going on like that, with the "totally disrespectful to Donegal" rubbish, you will open a can of worms if you lose the final.

Disrespectful, having attended an educational institution down the country when Dublin weren't so good, I used to get told Dublin would be hammered out the gate. I used to just support my county, but I cant change peoples opinions. If someone says Kerry will beat Waterford by 10 points, or Mayo will beat Leitrim by 15 points. Are they really being disrespectful.

I thought Dublin would win handy pulling up the weekend, so did PP and the rest of the bookmakers. We can only go on what we actually see in games. Donegal weren't lighting up the world and beating teams out the gate. And agree or disagree, I happen to think the Ulster Championship is as poor as Leinster at the minute. Donegal are the only real top side there. So they should be beating teams handy. Jimmy McG wasn't a tactical wizard the weekend. Johnny Cooper decided to abandon Dublins 45 and Donegal exposed his inexperience at the top level playing centre half back. With McCarthy and O'Sullivan on the pitch Gavin didn't do enough to stop the rot, even after the 2nd goal.

Lads lets be honest, Donegal took a battering last year in the quarter final, and they were resurrected this year. Anybody who thinks that this Dublin team will fade into obscurity are in cloud cuckoo land.

Jim Gavin has lost on major competition out of the last four he has managed in. And he lost this one at the penultimate stage.

Give over with the sledging, it will come back to haunt you all.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 02/09/2014 21:56:19    1647241

JayP
To be honest most Donegal fans travelling down on Sunday were hoping for a good performance, a competitive game and hoping for a Donegal win. The media could be excused for expecting a Dublin win when you look at what happened in the games leading up to Sunday. There was some disrespectful comments about the quality of players that Donegal had as I do think we have some exceptional players.

The bottom line is that Dublin supporters and the media could be excused for being so confident coming into the game and so they can be condemned after. Hindsight is wonderful and very few expected a Donegal performance like that on Sunday.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 03/09/2014 09:42:49    1647293

johngrace

i find it unreal how you can say i said it at half time
were you standing on the hill beside me?
your really off the walls pal

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 03/09/2014 11:06:49    1647356

johngrace

you obviously didnt watch the match right
you say two scores came from inside donegal 45 line
well clearly thats lies
bernard brogan,alan brogan and philly mcmahon kicked a point each from inside the 45
and flynn kicked 4 connolly kicked 2
so in fact only one dublin point was scored from outside the 45 yard line in the first half.
in the second half the majority of dublins wides came from the edge of the d.
in fact we were 7 points behind and we kicked 4 of them wides in a row before andrews/brogan cant remember which one
kicked a point and we followed that point with another wide
poor shooting yes but not allowed chances lies

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 03/09/2014 11:35:13    1647381

The OP has selectively extracted articles from Mondays papers - and another one from yesterday and posted them across several threads on the national - Donegal and Dublin forums clearly to troll a reaction.

Anyone that is wasting energy trying to interpret and debate is a bigger fool

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 03/09/2014 11:41:40    1647387

02/09/2014 10:57:09
JohnGrace1989

1646614 Jackeen
Of Dublins 9 Scores in First half how many where scored from within Donegals 45?
Dublin had one half chance at a Goal
Donegal had 6 and took 3

Dublins Sub Bench was exposed
All well throwing Boys on when teams are already beaten but Dublin Did not have anybody that could come on and make an Impact on the game.
The Game turned in about the 22min when Donegal Started to Boss the Game and pushed up on YOUR kick outs.
When Donegal ran at your defence after Toye came on Dublin had no answer.
Your Manager has a lot to answer too. For large periods of the game he sat in the stand and only game to the line on the 55min

Johnny Grace.Your gloating a bit too much. ye have won nothing yet. I think Donegal may have peaked too early. I think Kerry will beat them to end their Ulster hodoo

HandyMoran (Roscommon) - Posts: 327 - 03/09/2014 12:19:20    1647413

JohnGrace1989

JohnGrace is Not
However what he will say is this
Your Bookies Said it
Your media Said it
Your Fans Said it
You still said it at Half Time
And most Donegal fans said it get over yourself.

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 03/09/2014 13:11:37    1647447

ruanua

The OP has selectively extracted articles from Mondays papers - and another one from yesterday and posted them across several threads on the national - Donegal and Dublin forums clearly to troll a reaction.

Anyone that is wasting energy trying to interpret and debate is a bigger fool

-----
Spot on Ruanua. Best policy is not to respond to this guy. Not only has he got every stat from the game incorrect so far but he is clearly scouting for reactions. For his sake let's hope Donegal bring home the goodies or else I fear that there will be a few on here who will be pointing out the error of his ways following the final.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 03/09/2014 16:00:40    1647572