Kerry V Tyrone.

I'll be honest in my assessment, as best I can:
Kerry v lethargic in that second half, not committing bodies forward. Jason Foley was very poor as was Paul Geaney. Didn't se Peter Harte incident so can't comment. However WHY would Clifford drag his man to the ground when we had a free and he was on a yellow, officials need to obtain some common sense and also what did the umpire see?.. Tyrone deserved it, they added intensity to their game in the second half whilst Kerry were playing at pedestrian pace.
McCurry really stood up for Tyrone and was counted for, eventually won Tyrone the game.
Can't judge that game too much for future performances I'd say with the conditions they way they were. However one thing Kerry need to learn is to man up, and kill teams off when they've the foot on the throat. They were 0-08 to 0-03 up at 1 stage and could have gone in 8 or 9 points ahead which would have made life very tough for Tyrone in that 2nd half, but they didn't. Just something to ponder. We look forward now to Meath in Killarney in 2 weeks.

AnFear16 (Kerry) - Posts: 33 - 09/02/2020 17:24:10    2266449

Replying To reithi:  "Awful conditions pitch was not fit for a game. Well done tyrone got the job done but Clifford sending off was a joke ref was busy with black cards but it was right in front of umpires., he was putting his hands out to show he was doing nothing. Why would he when he had a free which I presume was overturned too. Makes a mockery of game"
Have to agree with this. One player pulls another to the ground and both get yellow's, even if the other did nothing, it's a cop out.

Kerry were 2 pts behind and looking for scores, so why would Clifford instigate this especially when he already was on a yellow. He was hard done by today. Umpires never seem to see anything, I don't know what they're doing.

county man (Limerick) - Posts: 1102 - 09/02/2020 17:30:58    2266454

the editorial article on the website is shocking. Umpire believes it was a yellow on Clifford, what was the ref.supposed to do? Also, Clifford abused the umpires afterwards and will face further discipline. Hoganstand need to write a retraction.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1667 - 09/02/2020 17:38:57    2266456

Replying To AnFear16:  "I'll be honest in my assessment, as best I can:
Kerry v lethargic in that second half, not committing bodies forward. Jason Foley was very poor as was Paul Geaney. Didn't se Peter Harte incident so can't comment. However WHY would Clifford drag his man to the ground when we had a free and he was on a yellow, officials need to obtain some common sense and also what did the umpire see?.. Tyrone deserved it, they added intensity to their game in the second half whilst Kerry were playing at pedestrian pace.
McCurry really stood up for Tyrone and was counted for, eventually won Tyrone the game.
Can't judge that game too much for future performances I'd say with the conditions they way they were. However one thing Kerry need to learn is to man up, and kill teams off when they've the foot on the throat. They were 0-08 to 0-03 up at 1 stage and could have gone in 8 or 9 points ahead which would have made life very tough for Tyrone in that 2nd half, but they didn't. Just something to ponder. We look forward now to Meath in Killarney in 2 weeks."
If only some other Kerry posters took a leaf out of your book.

Fair and balanced assessment of the game.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 09/02/2020 17:41:02    2266457

Well done to the winner. Thanks be to be God micky is not one of ours. We do not send our teams out to win at all cost this is what micky does best and has been doing for many years now Joe brolly had the right words for that type of game. I want no part of that.. And micky jumping up and down on the side line as if something great had been achieved.

traleegerry (Kerry) - Posts: 738 - 09/02/2020 17:57:06    2266465

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "the editorial article on the website is shocking. Umpire believes it was a yellow on Clifford, what was the ref.supposed to do? Also, Clifford abused the umpires afterwards and will face further discipline. Hoganstand need to write a retraction."
Abused the umpires?!!!
If I was him they'd have black eyes, commendable restraint for such a young man in the face of that utter injustice.
It's the umpires that should be facing someone's....

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 09/02/2020 17:59:54    2266466

Replying To The_Fridge:  "If only some other Kerry posters took a leaf out of your book.

Fair and balanced assessment of the game."
If only some Tyrone supporters could be honest about how their team goes out to play football...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 09/02/2020 18:00:40    2266467

See Tyrone back to their old tactics doing whatever it takes to win , am sure Kerry will remember today and will have the last laugh later in the year hopefully

topdownfan (Down) - Posts: 555 - 09/02/2020 18:03:34    2266469

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "the editorial article on the website is shocking. Umpire believes it was a yellow on Clifford, what was the ref.supposed to do? Also, Clifford abused the umpires afterwards and will face further discipline. Hoganstand need to write a retraction."
Couldn't agree more. I tried to start a thread on it, but shockingly (insert sarcasm warning) it wasn't posted. Hard to see how the mods can keep a straight face when they remove a comment from a discussion, when they allow tripe like that with headlines like that, to be top story on their homepage.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 09/02/2020 18:10:55    2266471

He did give the umpires an earful but I think most people in that position would be angry too if they'd been given their marching orders in similar circumstances.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1898 - 09/02/2020 18:13:10    2266472

Yeah yet if some poor unfortunate at a post later in the year gets a slap from a player leaving the field after receiving a red on the word of the umpire you can be sure the wringing of the hands headline will be produced to create more clicks

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 09/02/2020 18:14:56    2266475

Replying To TheHermit:  "Abused the umpires?!!!
If I was him they'd have black eyes, commendable restraint for such a young man in the face of that utter injustice.
It's the umpires that should be facing someone's...."
Listen to yourself! You sound ridiculous, but I have to say, I appreciate the laugh you gave me.

"he'd have black eyes"... priceless. You're funny.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 09/02/2020 18:16:06    2266477

Replying To traleegerry:  "Well done to the winner. Thanks be to be God micky is not one of ours. We do not send our teams out to win at all cost this is what micky does best and has been doing for many years now Joe brolly had the right words for that type of game. I want no part of that.. And micky jumping up and down on the side line as if something great had been achieved."
Struggling when quoting Brolly chief. Any thoughts on how Peter Harte got his second yellow along with a Kerry defender getting his first for a off the ball tangle? There is none so blind as those who will not see!

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 09/02/2020 18:19:42    2266479

In fairness that red card has been comimg for a while. David dishes it out a lot himself, the 2 yellows routine backfired today.

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 09/02/2020 18:28:35    2266482

Replying To benched:  "Struggling when quoting Brolly chief. Any thoughts on how Peter Harte got his second yellow along with a Kerry defender getting his first for a off the ball tangle? There is none so blind as those who will not see!"
He has a selective memory

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 09/02/2020 18:43:27    2266498

Replying To Smiler21:  "What were you saying"
Sorry I posted in the first half. Some turn around in second half. Tyrone got a great lift at the very welcome return of the class act that is Cathal Mc Shane. Mc Curry and Morgan stood up when needed as did many others. The ref made some very strange decisions. Tyrone thoroughly deserved their win.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 09/02/2020 18:47:07    2266503

Poor aul Kerry

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12116 - 09/02/2020 19:12:55    2266516

Replying To benched:  "Games called off all around the country due to the storm but have a cut at a county who managed to get a game played sure!"
None of the counties that called games off have pumped millions into a centre of excellence?

blacknamber (Kerry) - Posts: 267 - 09/02/2020 19:22:43    2266521

It appears this defeat really hurt a few Kerry fans! Fair play to Tyrone, took some lovely scores to win.
I cannot believe the headline on main page - how the hell was that allowed?? Other media outlets jumping all over the Clifford yellow also. Can someone please post a link to the incident? On my viewing on tele - Clifford charges into the Tyrone player who then drags him to the ground? Harte 2nd yellow probably very harsh also but didn't see it. There are double-standards at play here.

ardmhacha (Armagh) - Posts: 172 - 09/02/2020 19:33:24    2266523

Replying To festinog:  "Listen to yourself! You sound ridiculous, but I have to say, I appreciate the laugh you gave me.

"he'd have black eyes"... priceless. You're funny."
Jaysus you must be hard up for a laugh if a post is setting you off....

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 09/02/2020 19:52:57    2266533