Replying To valley84:  "Bull
There are only a few park clubs left in Dublin

Most clubs have their own pitches
And a full time coach"
Most clubs in Dublin have to use council pitches in one way or other fact

hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 24/07/2019 21:03:24    2215983

Replying To hipster:  "Most clubs in Dublin have to use council pitches in one way or other fact"
Do you think our councils give us pitches?

We have to build our own.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 24/07/2019 21:29:59    2215996

Replying To IamDonegal:  "Sure money doesn't get the best of everything.

Imagine thinking that money meant you get the best in what sports science has to offer. People are bonkers thinking these things. Imagine thinking the likes of S and C has something to do with financing.

Money has nothing to do with success at all."
I mean yeah it's all about money, you're right. These 30 year olds who have been the backbone of this team since their 2011 AI had bucket fulls of money thrown at them when they were developing at the ages of 15/16 in 2003. It's all about money. Coaches, parents, hard work, organisation, commitment, sacrifice, up at the crack of dawn. Pfftt!! That's for suckers. Money means you don't need any of this. These lads are in Coppers ever night of the week. Train? Only training is the trip to the bar for the next round. Look at then with their beer bellies, lack of fitness and skill. Layabouts the lot of them but thank God for the magical funds that make it all happen without a finger being lifted. Keep it coming in lads. We'll make good use of her.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 24/07/2019 21:46:18    2216008

Scaramouch, scaramouch will you do the fandango.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 24/07/2019 21:52:35    2216011

Replying To Joxer:  "I mean yeah it's all about money, you're right. These 30 year olds who have been the backbone of this team since their 2011 AI had bucket fulls of money thrown at them when they were developing at the ages of 15/16 in 2003. It's all about money. Coaches, parents, hard work, organisation, commitment, sacrifice, up at the crack of dawn. Pfftt!! That's for suckers. Money means you don't need any of this. These lads are in Coppers ever night of the week. Train? Only training is the trip to the bar for the next round. Look at then with their beer bellies, lack of fitness and skill. Layabouts the lot of them but thank God for the magical funds that make it all happen without a finger being lifted. Keep it coming in lads. We'll make good use of her."
Stop the fudge about money meaning they can indulge themselves.

You know it means the opposite, they're professionals.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 24/07/2019 22:03:10    2216020

Replying To BliainanÁir:  "Stop the fudge about money meaning they can indulge themselves.

You know it means the opposite, they're professionals."
NO they're not. They're amateurs. They all have jobs or are studying. How can Stephen Cluxton teach science in secondary school and be a professional? How can Jack McCaffrey be a medical student and be a professional?

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 24/07/2019 22:07:12    2216024

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Do you think our councils give us pitches?

We have to build our own."
Isn't it well for ye to have all that money to buy your own pitches.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 24/07/2019 22:08:03    2216026

Replying To valley84:  "Bull
There are only a few park clubs left in Dublin

Most clubs have their own pitches
And a full time coach"
Horse****. St Judes play in Tymon, Raheny have to play in St Annes, Clontarf play in St Annes. MOst Clubs do not have their own pitches.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 24/07/2019 22:11:13    2216030

Replying To avonali:  "NO they're not. They're amateurs. They all have jobs or are studying. How can Stephen Cluxton teach science in secondary school and be a professional? How can Jack McCaffrey be a medical student and be a professional?"
How many years will it take Jack to qualify I wonder..

I'd say Stevo is on a 35 hour week alright. A few classes here and there.

Statements from 'The Blue Book' of propaganda. Oh 'officially' they have jobs, studying. You don't leap ahead of the opposition in S&C like Dublin by doing much 'work' outside training. Professional soccer players also pursue studies in spare time at a more leisurely pace.

The Dubs conditioning puts a lie to full time jobs, serious study. Jack McCaffrey is 26, most students of medicine have qualified by them..if not distracted.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 24/07/2019 22:16:11    2216033

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "Really? So you think kids growing up in the next 20 years wouldn't want to attend Dublin North vs South. There's no way they won't and it will capture their attentions far more then the current Turkey shoots. I'm sure they'll want a return to the days where Dublin would win every game by 20 points and there was no excitement. The older Dublin fans will care but in 40 years you'll not be around and the GAA will be in a better place.

Looking at the average age profile on the hill these days it's like going to mass so the 40 years could be a bit generous."
Ye know Jack, that's actually quite a nasty little post. I'm assuming you won't be around in 40 years yourself to see if your prophecies actually come true.
Talk about making assumptions.....

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 24/07/2019 22:28:18    2216047

Replying To legendzxix:  "Less people will watch the best final in years?

A former Dublin player reckons their will be merit in two teams if it's seen after a decade that this is more than a cyclical phase. It's not going to happen at the stroke of a pen. There will be an extensive review.

2026 will be 25 years on from the 2001 report. After a generation of heavy investment and a decade of complete dominance, a natural evolution might come to fruition.

The Laois hurlers got great praise for their efforts this year. Donegal, Kerry, Mayo and Tyrone are putting up an incredible challenge. Killarney, Dr Hyde Park and Ballybofey were fantastic in phase 1. Tyrone v Cork, Meath v Mayo and Kerry v Donegal were all good clashes. It's just all been overshadowed. It is what it is. The former Waterford hurling manager said we all get so caught up in winning, it was great to see the Laois hurling story. The fight in Donegal, Kerry, Mayo and Tyrone is also an incredible story."
I agree about waiting until 2026 to consider any proposed splitting of Dublin. At the moment it's hard to say is this a peak in Dublin's performance or is this the norm from now on in which will make the current inter county structures not fit for purpose. I genuinely am not sure which is the case. Who knows, maybe they will fall back a bit and the idea if a split will seem silly.
One thing I do think is Dublin should not have a veto if the GAA at a national level decide, maybe 5 years from now, to split the Dublin inter county team intro more than 1 team. They were the ones who a number of years ago requested they be treated as a special case (due to their potential to grow the game) when it came to the amount of funding they should get and the way that funding was allocated (they receive their money directly from the GAA rather then from a provincial council like a normal county). If you look to be a special case when it comes to funding, and you are then treated this way you lose the right to complain if the GAA decides to treat you as a special case for the good of inter county structures a few years down the line and splits you into different county teams. The case for splitting Dublin is directly linked to the way they were funded.
Times change, remember from a local government point of view this has already happened, county Dublin was split in 3 counties due to its population .

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1338 - 24/07/2019 22:32:59    2216054

The Bull McCabe wouldn't give ye his field I heard.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 25/07/2019 00:02:19    2216076

Its not all about money. They also play all there games at home. Imagine Real madrid or New Zealand always played at home?

brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 674 - 25/07/2019 02:21:33    2216101

Bla bla bla , council's don't give you pitches you rent them , a lot of gas pitches around the country are top quality and a credit to the members past and present of them clubs ,but your arguments are obnoxious and ignorant

hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 25/07/2019 02:22:52    2216102

I hate these threads.

I hate responding to them because it gives them fuel to continue but I do have to try to get some perspective here.

Anyone who is against the GAA's €1.5m a year games development funding going to Dublin GAA is against trying to get as many Dublin born children playing Gaelic games.

That's it. That's what you are fighting.

There's a project in place to coach as many of the roughly 15k children a year born in Dublin as possible.

The cost of that project is currently about 3-3.5m per annum of which the GAA puts up half.

Why does the GAA not put that money into other counties?

It doesn't cost that amount to coach kids in other counties because there are 15k children being born in those counties each year.

Also any stat that compares the money going to Dublin versus say Cork isn't a fair comparison. Anyone using those stats are basing their arguments on a bad faith use of the funding breakdown.

Much of that information has been vociferously spread by the completely unbiased reporting from ... Ewan McKenna?

Most of the money being spent by the games development funds is being spent on GDO's. Dublin based GDO's are employed by the Dublin county board funded in part by GAA central council.

Cork GDO's are employed by Munster Council part funded by GAA central council. Cork children are still having coaching provided to them from funding provided by the GAA central council, it just never flows through the hands of the Cork county board.

Dublin GAA gets around €1.5m a year of a total games development budget of around €11m. It's a whole lot less sensational number there isn't it. That's because the story is a lot less sensational than some would have you believe.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4210 - 25/07/2019 05:44:38    2216111

Replying To avonali:  "NO they're not. They're amateurs. They all have jobs or are studying. How can Stephen Cluxton teach science in secondary school and be a professional? How can Jack McCaffrey be a medical student and be a professional?"
Mark O'Connor is a professional footballer with the geelong cats in Australia and he's doing a business degree.

The same with Stefan Okunbar from Tralee.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 25/07/2019 07:30:34    2216114

Horan is gone very quiet lately. I'd say he was told to pipe down for a while as he was making matters worse drawing attention to the unfair system of funding in place

Thelonesomegoose (Leitrim) - Posts: 204 - 25/07/2019 08:06:28    2216120

Replying To BliainanÁir:  "Stop the fudge about money meaning they can indulge themselves.

You know it means the opposite, they're professionals."
Yes you're right of course, they're professionals. There's nobody better placed than a Laois man, that bastion of Gaelic football, to determine this.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 25/07/2019 08:24:01    2216122

Replying To Jackeen:  "Still no response to my post? Grand so. How is Dublins S&C coach any different to Donegals coach. Bryan Cullen former player. He's hardly the top man in his industry."
wow so Bryan Cullen does all the S&C work on his own?

Also it's terrable to seen on this thread how much Dubs down play themselves. A few pages back telling us how their hurlers weren't all that great and how Bryan Cullen isn't actually all that great at his job..

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 25/07/2019 09:06:11    2216131

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Mark O'Connor is a professional footballer with the geelong cats in Australia and he's doing a business degree.

The same with Stefan Okunbar from Tralee."
So what are you saying. Steve Heighway, famous Liverpool and ~Ireland international did a degree while he was a professional footballer. But he was still a professional footballer. Jack McCaffrey is a full time student. You know this. So why are you saying he's a professional. I don't get your point.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 25/07/2019 11:11:00    2216179