Dublin's Success Not Down To Money - GAA President

Replying To BliainanÁir:  "How many years will it take Jack to qualify I wonder..

I'd say Stevo is on a 35 hour week alright. A few classes here and there.

Statements from 'The Blue Book' of propaganda. Oh 'officially' they have jobs, studying. You don't leap ahead of the opposition in S&C like Dublin by doing much 'work' outside training. Professional soccer players also pursue studies in spare time at a more leisurely pace.

The Dubs conditioning puts a lie to full time jobs, serious study. Jack McCaffrey is 26, most students of medicine have qualified by them..if not distracted."
He is qualified. Do your research if you're going to throw around ludicrous accusations such as the above. Tell me now, you wouldn't happen to know Cillian O'Connors hours would you. He is also a teacher. Pure conjecture on your part. Ewan McKenna like if you will. If you say something often enough people might start believing you.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 25/07/2019 11:17:18    2216184

Replying To Jackeen:  "He is qualified. Do your research if you're going to throw around ludicrous accusations such as the above. Tell me now, you wouldn't happen to know Cillian O'Connors hours would you. He is also a teacher. Pure conjecture on your part. Ewan McKenna like if you will. If you say something often enough people might start believing you."
Avonali is the one who said he was a full time student. Direct your little hissy fit at him.

He got a lot of study in the year he had his knee injury so.

Money, money, money Jackeen, 18.2 million.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 25/07/2019 12:14:47    2216227

Replying To avonali:  "So what are you saying. Steve Heighway, famous Liverpool and ~Ireland international did a degree while he was a professional footballer. But he was still a professional footballer. Jack McCaffrey is a full time student. You know this. So why are you saying he's a professional. I don't get your point."
What I'm saying is you can go to college and study and still be a professional footballer.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 25/07/2019 12:25:26    2216234

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "What I'm saying is you can go to college and study and still be a professional footballer."
You can study part time and it has been an option for many years. You can also study part time online if it suits your lifestyle but not as good an experience because you'll experience how remote that remote education is where lecturers don't need to see you.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 25/07/2019 12:53:52    2216253

Replying To Whammo86:  "I hate these threads.

I hate responding to them because it gives them fuel to continue but I do have to try to get some perspective here.

Anyone who is against the GAA's €1.5m a year games development funding going to Dublin GAA is against trying to get as many Dublin born children playing Gaelic games.

That's it. That's what you are fighting.

There's a project in place to coach as many of the roughly 15k children a year born in Dublin as possible.

The cost of that project is currently about 3-3.5m per annum of which the GAA puts up half.

Why does the GAA not put that money into other counties?

It doesn't cost that amount to coach kids in other counties because there are 15k children being born in those counties each year.

Also any stat that compares the money going to Dublin versus say Cork isn't a fair comparison. Anyone using those stats are basing their arguments on a bad faith use of the funding breakdown.

Much of that information has been vociferously spread by the completely unbiased reporting from ... Ewan McKenna?

Most of the money being spent by the games development funds is being spent on GDO's. Dublin based GDO's are employed by the Dublin county board funded in part by GAA central council.

Cork GDO's are employed by Munster Council part funded by GAA central council. Cork children are still having coaching provided to them from funding provided by the GAA central council, it just never flows through the hands of the Cork county board.

Dublin GAA gets around €1.5m a year of a total games development budget of around €11m. It's a whole lot less sensational number there isn't it. That's because the story is a lot less sensational than some would have you believe."
A great effort, your wasting you time whammo, lads have made up their minds and the whole thing is a comfort blanket to safe guard against being from an unsuccessful county.

Can i just say that the most accurate and well evidenced post, ive read on here is a very very long time, you clearly have looked into it detail and analysed the whole GDF arena and come to that conclusion, ive done the same and we share the same opinion.

Its quite amazing really isnt it. But i dont really mind it serves a purpose and is good for Dublin conversely, believe it or not, so lads can knock themselves out and go full Ewan with my full approval as the crow flies.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 25/07/2019 13:04:31    2216255

I hate responding to them because it gives them fuel to continue but I do have to try to get some perspective here.

Anyone who is against the GAA's €1.5m a year games development funding going to Dublin GAA is against trying to get as many Dublin born children playing Gaelic games.

There's a project in place to coach as many of the roughly 15k children a year born in Dublin as possible.

The cost of that project is currently about 3-3.5m per annum of which the GAA puts up half.

It doesn't cost that amount to coach kids in other counties because there are 15k children being born in those counties each year.

Also any stat that compares the money going to Dublin versus say Cork isn't a fair comparison. Anyone using those stats are basing their arguments on a bad faith use of the funding breakdown.

Much of that information has been vociferously spread by the completely unbiased reporting from ... Ewan McKenna?

Most of the money being spent by the games development funds is being spent on GDO's. Dublin based GDO's are employed by the Dublin county board funded in part by GAA central council.

Cork GDO's are employed by Munster Council part funded by GAA central council. Cork children are still having coaching provided to them from funding provided by the GAA central council, it just never flows through the hands of the Cork county board.

Dublin GAA gets around €1.5m a year of a total games development budget of around €11m. It's a whole lot less sensational number there isn't it. That's because the story is a lot less sensational than some would have you believe."
No matter how many times you post this, and you've posted it many times, nobody will debate this with you because nobody has enough knowledge to on this forum.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 25/07/2019 13:16:59    2216265

Replying To BliainanÁir:  "Avonali is the one who said he was a full time student. Direct your little hissy fit at him.

He got a lot of study in the year he had his knee injury so.

Money, money, money Jackeen, 18.2 million."
Another charmer!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 25/07/2019 13:19:39    2216267

Replying To Joxer:  "Yes you're right of course, they're professionals. There's nobody better placed than a Laois man, that bastion of Gaelic football, to determine this."
Laois is a bastion of Gaelic football, and of hurling too.

Thelonesomegoose (Leitrim) - Posts: 204 - 25/07/2019 13:29:21    2216272

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.sportsjoe.ie/amp/gaa/dublin-players-day-jobs-like-counties-heres-proof-136986

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 25/07/2019 13:32:45    2216276

Replying To avonali:  "Horse****. St Judes play in Tymon, Raheny have to play in St Annes, Clontarf play in St Annes. MOst Clubs do not have their own pitches."
That's not true.

valley84 (Westmeath) - Posts: 1890 - 25/07/2019 13:44:12    2216285

Oh for heavens sake , stop making sense -:)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 25/07/2019 13:46:30    2216288

If we give Dublin a half point for winning All-Irelands at home, a rural county a goal for winning an All-Ireland and a point for a rural county runners-up, we have a fair reflection of county of the decade:
1. Kerry 1-2
2. Donegal 1-1
3. Mayo 0-4
4. Cork 1-0
5. Dublin 0-3 (6 half points, 6 in-a-row required to be converted into a goal.)
6. Down 0-1

A fair scoring system?

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7842 - 25/07/2019 14:10:31    2216300

Replying To Jackeen:  "No matter how many times you post this, and you've posted it many times, nobody will debate this with you because nobody has enough knowledge to on this forum."
Ignore... ignore... Ignore

Read Ewan's latest highly biased rant based on flawed figures and come onto HS to copy and paste the same BS

So much in common with Ewan. A highly biased hate filled mindset

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 25/07/2019 14:20:17    2216301

Is this true? Why haven't Dublin come out & said this? You're not the only one that hates these threads by the way. You'd swear Dublin & Kerry were the only counties in Ireland the way they ho on.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 25/07/2019 14:23:55    2216302

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "What I'm saying is you can go to college and study and still be a professional footballer."
Keep going, what else does Jack McCaffrey do with his spare time?

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 25/07/2019 14:34:19    2216307

Replying To keithlemon:  "Keep going, what else does Jack McCaffrey do with his spare time?"
Sure being a Doctor.. you're hardly busy

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 25/07/2019 14:38:20    2216312

Replying To legendzxix:  "If we give Dublin a half point for winning All-Irelands at home, a rural county a goal for winning an All-Ireland and a point for a rural county runners-up, we have a fair reflection of county of the decade:
1. Kerry 1-2
2. Donegal 1-1
3. Mayo 0-4
4. Cork 1-0
5. Dublin 0-3 (6 half points, 6 in-a-row required to be converted into a goal.)
6. Down 0-1

A fair scoring system?"
Legend.....you'll destroy your mind with all these convoluted permutations....God love you.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 25/07/2019 14:48:40    2216320

Replying To lilylanger:  "Is this true? Why haven't Dublin come out & said this? You're not the only one that hates these threads by the way. You'd swear Dublin & Kerry were the only counties in Ireland the way they ho on."
https://res.cloudinary.com/dvrbaruzq/image/upload/fl_attachment/nlvhtgiloh9tbt50rx3s.pdf

Page 64 of the financial statements.

I'm a little off actually.

Dublin gets €1.23m of €11m of total games development.

You can see that nearly €4m is being spent across the rest of the country on development staffing.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4222 - 25/07/2019 15:14:20    2216340

Replying To TheUsername:  "A great effort, your wasting you time whammo, lads have made up their minds and the whole thing is a comfort blanket to safe guard against being from an unsuccessful county.

Can i just say that the most accurate and well evidenced post, ive read on here is a very very long time, you clearly have looked into it detail and analysed the whole GDF arena and come to that conclusion, ive done the same and we share the same opinion.

Its quite amazing really isnt it. But i dont really mind it serves a purpose and is good for Dublin conversely, believe it or not, so lads can knock themselves out and go full Ewan with my full approval as the crow flies."
Never go full Ewan

You'll expose yourself dreadfully on twitter while cowardly trying to back track and delete your obviously biased hate filled bile in order to save face.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 25/07/2019 15:17:09    2216346

Replying To Joxer:  "Yes you're right of course, they're professionals. There's nobody better placed than a Laois man, that bastion of Gaelic football, to determine this."
Laois is a true dual gaelic games county. When ye try and play the national game it's just pure constipated hurling. You rely on muscle and bulk again. No natural skill in the majority of players.

A few weeks ago we sent all the Joxers and Jackeens homeward ta think again!

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 25/07/2019 15:18:00    2216347