Kerry V Dublin

Replying To Belclare1:  "Rte showed in from a different angle.. it started by guess who? John Small..."
No that's just you take on it blle edn.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 10/02/2019 10:33:53    2163914

Replying To jimbodub:  "No got a bargain B&B in this Bullring place you mentioned.. strangely it was the only place still available and we'll there wasn't any photos of the place but I'm sure it'll be grand..

Is Paul Murphy playing again?

Have fond memories of him and where's Kevin McCarthy these days.. he looked to be chomping at the bit not so long ago"
Kevin McCarthy scored 3-07 for his club in the allireland intermediate final in crokepark yesterday jim so he's doing great thanks.

Paul Murphy had a great game last night also.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 10/02/2019 10:40:10    2163915

An enjoyable match. Compelling if not a classic. I thought the Dubs would dig out the draw or even sneak a win. But fair play to Kerry, they held their nerve at the end. Interesting to read the reactions to it. The outcome far more important for Kerry than for Dublin. A lot of doubters in the kingdom will be reassured by that win. They've put in far more work early on for the league this year than previously. I expect they are probably missing a few from Dr Crokes/Kilcummin as well? And the possibility of a return, too, of Darth V... sorry, Diarmuid Connolly, is absolutely tantalising. However, enough signs to suggest that the Dubs will likely win a second meeting between these sides later in the summer. But a second defeat for the Dubs maybe also gives just enough to suggest that the five-in-a-row might not be so inevitable. Interesting times ahead.

offyertrolley (Leitrim) - Posts: 141 - 10/02/2019 11:08:42    2163923

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Kevin McCarthy scored 3-07 for his club in the allireland intermediate final in crokepark yesterday jim so he's doing great thanks.

Paul Murphy had a great game last night also."
Looks like there'll be no stopping this green juggernaut come the Summer.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 10/02/2019 11:21:12    2163926

Can the kids who want to accuse whoever started the handbags at the end please leave the forum this is for adults only.

My god ; he started the row no no he started it, no pictures clearly show he started it, who cares seriously?

Great game of football why are we always trying to pick holes or blame someone else when that was outstanding entertainment last night. Both teams got stuck in and I seen nothing to cry about just hard honest football.

Ps my post didn't get tru earlier but just want to say it's great to see Tommy Walsh back playing football.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 10/02/2019 11:30:49    2163927

Replying To superbluedub:  "Replying To kingdomfan: "Great to beat that shower in Tralee tonight. Hope ye enjoy the long trip back to the kip that is Dublin. Ciarraí abú"

And this is class ?"
Sure isn't it only a bit of banter , relax.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 10/02/2019 11:54:56    2163937

Replying To Joxer:  "I guess they're not excuses it's just a statement of fact. Feb and Aug are chalk and cheese. Feb sees the squad with only a few weeks training under their belt, a young experimental team, slow muddy ground and a league crowd in the teen Ks. Summer will be the exact opposite of all of these things. These aren't excuses, maybe you're seeking out excuses, just facts. They apply to all teams not just Dublin."
Slow muddy ground? What game were you at last night ? The pitch was perfect.
also we had 9 young lads playing last night Shane Ryan o'beaglaoich Tom Sullivan Spillane diarmuid o'connor Dara Moynihan seanie Shea gavin O'Brien gavin Crowley.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 10/02/2019 12:03:11    2163940

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Can the kids who want to accuse whoever started the handbags at the end please leave the forum this is for adults only.

My god ; he started the row no no he started it, no pictures clearly show he started it, who cares seriously?

Great game of football why are we always trying to pick holes or blame someone else when that was outstanding entertainment last night. Both teams got stuck in and I seen nothing to cry about just hard honest football.

Ps my post didn't get tru earlier but just want to say it's great to see Tommy Walsh back playing football."
Good post Clondalkin.

Great game of ball last night, especially it being February. Credit to both teams but especially to Kerry who get the win to continue their impressive start under Keane.

Disappointing to lose from a Dubs point of view, league final prob out of reach now and under a little bit of pressure now to get some more points on the board, when you consider it's Mayo up next too.

Dubs still showed enough last night, certainly more than in Clones where they were well beaten, to suggest they're not quite a beaten docket just yet.

Kerry were impressive though and will certainly be a force to be reckoned with come summer, in the way they haven't been the last 2 summers.

With their two club teams winning the weekend and taking Dublin's scalp as well, it's been a great weekend for football in the Kingdom!

Both teams that have changed manager, Kerry and Mayo, have confounded those that said it would take time for them to challenge. They're both ready and we're going to have a great summer whomever takes home Sam.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13703 - 10/02/2019 12:21:55    2163943

Replying To westkerry:  "The most important thing from a Kerry perspective last night was to give our young lads belief that Dublin are beatable and not invincible. The other big difference for us was in previous years Dublin pulled away from us in the closing stages of big games however we held in there last night.
We have the Crokes lads to come back aling with Kevin MacCarth 3.7 in Croker yesterday , and David Clifford.
2 all Ireland club titles yesterday also, Good day for Kerry GAA."
What's the story with JOD - are we moving on without him at this stage? 13/14 season he was our shining light up front but with increasingly rare odd flashes hinted from an undoubted talent ever since.

Kingdomson (Kerry) - Posts: 244 - 10/02/2019 12:36:28    2163948

Replying To kingdomfan:  "Great to beat that shower in Tralee tonight. Hope ye enjoy the long trip back to the kip that is Dublin. Ciarraí abú"
We'll you're a right charmer & the 4 people that liked it too!

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 10/02/2019 12:44:14    2163949

Replying To MesAmis:  "Good post Clondalkin.

Great game of ball last night, especially it being February. Credit to both teams but especially to Kerry who get the win to continue their impressive start under Keane.

Disappointing to lose from a Dubs point of view, league final prob out of reach now and under a little bit of pressure now to get some more points on the board, when you consider it's Mayo up next too.

Dubs still showed enough last night, certainly more than in Clones where they were well beaten, to suggest they're not quite a beaten docket just yet.

Kerry were impressive though and will certainly be a force to be reckoned with come summer, in the way they haven't been the last 2 summers.

With their two club teams winning the weekend and taking Dublin's scalp as well, it's been a great weekend for football in the Kingdom!

Both teams that have changed manager, Kerry and Mayo, have confounded those that said it would take time for them to challenge. They're both ready and we're going to have a great summer whomever takes home Sam."
Exactly. It was a fantastic match and I thought Kerry just deserved the tight win. Dublin finished very strongly, especially impressive given they were a man down.
With Mayo starting very well also, it creates a bit of a buzz again ahead of the championship.
Last night's game had fast counter-attacking, the ball being moved quickly (by hand and foot), some good long kick-passing as well as some excellently taken scores on both sides.
When both teams play in this manner, it creates a large amount of contested possessions, which makes for great entertainment.
It's the complete antithesis of the slow, lateral build-up which most people are sick of.
It requires a management team to have trust in their players and I hope it's something I see more of from my own county this year.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2030 - 10/02/2019 12:46:17    2163950

Good game last night. Kerry coughed up a couple of soft points near the end, even though Dublin were then down to fifteen men. Came good in the end though.

marooney (Galway) - Posts: 88 - 10/02/2019 12:47:08    2163951

Replying To blueshirt1:  "Excellent game for this time of year, thought gavin o brien, dara Moynihan and tom o Sullivan played really well. I feel jack barry needs to impose himself more, needs more urgency in his game. I still don't know about Adrian spillane, maybe a lot of unseen work and in fairness they kept the Dublin midfield quiet. I see the usual patronising arrogant dub posters on here. Enjoy yere period of dominance, it will be coming to an end sooner rather than later. Class was never one of yere traits."
Ah yes last we forget the usual batch of *new* Kerry supporters arrive when they get a win over the Dubs. 4 posts but you know who's the usual patronising arrogant Dub posters are. You're fooling nobody lad!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 10/02/2019 12:54:52    2163956

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Slow muddy ground? What game were you at last night ? The pitch was perfect.
also we had 9 young lads playing last night Shane Ryan o'beaglaoich Tom Sullivan Spillane diarmuid o'connor Dara Moynihan seanie Shea gavin O'Brien gavin Crowley."
I didn't say last night I said Feb. Jayzis for a lad whose team beat the greatest to ever play the game last night yer in fierce form. Ye won lad be happy. What ye think of the Dubs who don't travel? By Jayzis we brought the noise. The Jacks will be back. Watch this space.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 10/02/2019 12:57:35    2163958

Good game last night. Kerry coughed up a couple of soft points near the end, even though Dublin were then down to fifteen men. Came good in the end though.

marooney (Galway) - Posts: 88 - 10/02/2019 13:09:21    2163964

Replying To Joxer:  "I didn't say last night I said Feb. Jayzis for a lad whose team beat the greatest to ever play the game last night yer in fierce form. Ye won lad be happy. What ye think of the Dubs who don't travel? By Jayzis we brought the noise. The Jacks will be back. Watch this space."
Fair play to yiz

You could hear it loud and clear

Proud of how the Dubs battled on while unjustly down to 14 men

It was an awful decision and while I still think Kerry deserved it overall. The sending off undoubtedly had a big part to play but sure them are the brakes..

I can only imagine the outrage from a certain few it was a Kerry player sent off in such circumstances.

They win the game but are still moaning about ref decisions that went against them.. imagine if they had of lost..

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20598 - 10/02/2019 13:14:16    2163967

Replying To Kingdomson:  "What's the story with JOD - are we moving on without him at this stage? 13/14 season he was our shining light up front but with increasingly rare odd flashes hinted from an undoubted talent ever since."
Jod needs a sports phycologist to work on him he's pure nervous after all the injuries to is shoulders .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 10/02/2019 13:18:29    2163970

Replying To Joxer:  "I didn't say last night I said Feb. Jayzis for a lad whose team beat the greatest to ever play the game last night yer in fierce form. Ye won lad be happy. What ye think of the Dubs who don't travel? By Jayzis we brought the noise. The Jacks will be back. Watch this space."
Of course ye'l be back, crokepark are making sure of that with the 1.3 million they gave ye during the week plus all yer games at crokepark.

But sure ourselves and the rest of the country will struggle on on our own steam and try and catch up on our own.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 10/02/2019 13:22:18    2163971

Loses make the victories even more sweeter

There's no better tonic

Refocus body and mind and Dublin have proven beyond doubt that they can learn and progress further from defeat.

Monaghan beat Dublin more convincingly and then lost a game after that, it's just the way at this time of the season

There's a massive prize to be won and games played in January/February have zero relevance to that.

Dubs didn't even play well and only lost to a late score while being down to 14 men

It's very encouraging so far and just what the doctor ordered in my opinion

5 in a row is very much on...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20598 - 10/02/2019 13:23:50    2163972

Ah yes,the usual arrogant know it alls appear from time to time to enlighten us.

Ps, funny how much some Kerry fans make of a win in Feb compared to a loss in Feb.
you just have to laugh.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 10/02/2019 13:26:18    2163974