Kerry V Dublin

The dubs are in bad form this morning. Losing to us seems to bring out this behaviour but has not happened very often in recent times.

Its only the league relax a bit. Im sure ye thought the young Kerry lads would be an easy pushover for a nearly full strength Dublin side but the year is long.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 10/02/2019 13:42:10    2163980

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Ah yes,the usual arrogant know it alls appear from time to time to enlighten us.

Ps, funny how much some Kerry fans make of a win in Feb compared to a loss in Feb.
you just have to laugh."
Was just thinking that!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 10/02/2019 13:49:49    2163981

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Of course ye'l be back, crokepark are making sure of that with the 1.3 million they gave ye during the week plus all yer games at crokepark.

But sure ourselves and the rest of the country will struggle on on our own steam and try and catch up on our own."
We'll whatever about the rest of the country struggling I think Kerry are doing ok what with all those "supplements" they're taking. Fierce fit for Early Feb. Wonder why?

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 10/02/2019 13:54:45    2163982

Doesn't it really highlight how remarkable Dublin's competitive victories in a row record is..

Crazy that they went so long unbeaten (and that continues in Championship)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 10/02/2019 14:04:34    2163987

Lads do ye honestly think Kerry fans need to be told about the dangers of reading too much in to performances in February? We know all about it we have had absolutely turgid league campaigns in the past and ended up with Sam in Sept and vice versa.

It was nice to win that one last night and especially to see good performances from youngsters like Moynihan etc. It won't mean much later on, but it's a step in the right direction. I think the win will mean more to the younger Kerry panelist's than the loss will effect Dublin if that makes sense, and it would have been very disappointing to cough up the draw after playing so well for most of the game.

I'd still expect Dublin to be too strong around the middle for us if we meet in the championship but I hope we find out. Games like last night are how these guys will learn and I'd prefer to win them than lose them.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 10/02/2019 14:08:00    2163989

I know I'm probably wasting my time but it is depressing in the extreme to read the tenor of some of the posts here in the wake of a great game of football served up by two great teams.

A realtively small number of posters seem to have huge chips in their shoulders & have a huge need to put this chip on display at the slightest provocation.

The fact of the matter is that there are some posters whose comments I no longer bother to read at all because I have a fair idea wht will be in the post & life is way too short to spend it reading drivel.

I'm not saying for one minute that people can't be passionate supporters of their own team, I plead guilty here myself, but that doesn't mean that we need harp on, ad nauseum, about how great our team is & how lousy everyone else is. It really is as boring as hell.

Just saying like,

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 10/02/2019 14:17:30    2163990

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Of course ye'l be back, crokepark are making sure of that with the 1.3 million they gave ye during the week plus all yer games at crokepark.

But sure ourselves and the rest of the country will struggle on on our own steam and try and catch up on our own."
Ha ye we'll buy a couple of forwards with the €1.3m. That's how it works afterall isn't it, money = success. But sure we've been beaten three times already this year and we're only in the second week of Feb. The green juggernaut is only getting started.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 10/02/2019 14:26:05    2163994

Well, that certainly brushed the cobwebs off us. The game turned out almost exactly how I thought it would. Kerry showed a lot of desire and took some great points in the first half. Our lads showed their metal in the second half. Wonderful contest for an early league match and it will instill confidence in Kerry and other teams around the country, which is great for the game.
It was exactly what Dublin needed if you ask me and Its certainly what Kerry required to start them on their new journey. So great night all round, just sorry I couldn't stay for the night to have the 'banter' with non-virtual Kerry people :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8589 - 10/02/2019 14:30:49    2163998

Replying To Torcaill:  "Will wait and see, but could be waiting a long time. Yellows like this can't be overturned!!!!"
Incorrect, cards have been overturned on appeal to the CCCC.

Uimhir.a.3. (Galway) - Posts: 409 - 10/02/2019 14:39:48    2163999

Replying To jimbodub:  "Loses make the victories even more sweeter

There's no better tonic

Refocus body and mind and Dublin have proven beyond doubt that they can learn and progress further from defeat.

Monaghan beat Dublin more convincingly and then lost a game after that, it's just the way at this time of the season

There's a massive prize to be won and games played in January/February have zero relevance to that.

Dubs didn't even play well and only lost to a late score while being down to 14 men

It's very encouraging so far and just what the doctor ordered in my opinion

5 in a row is very much on..."
Did you enjoy the game on telly last night jim? pity you couldn't afford to come down coz it was a great game and great atmosphere plus you'd see away more live at the game then you would on tv.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 10/02/2019 14:46:01    2164003

Anyone know where Cluxton and Philly are? Just wondering cause I've heard nothing on why their not playing ?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 10/02/2019 14:50:18    2164006

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Did you enjoy the game on telly last night jim? pity you couldn't afford to come down coz it was a great game and great atmosphere plus you'd see away more live at the game then you would on tv."
I could afford to go chief

It just wasn't doable, I had family stuff on Friday and Saturday but I made sure to book my place in front of the tv for 7pm!

I did enjoy it on the tv very much like the vast majority of GAA fans but it made Fitzsimons sending off all the more frustrating having the benefit of seeing the ridiculousness of it in replays etc

Sure what was there not to enjoy!

Great game but a pity we didn't have 15 players to finish with as the game warranted a more just finish. Kerry faded badly only for a gaping 15 v 14 hole at the end.. Dubs could have got something from the game which was to their credit but Kerry deserved it.

Keep on trucking lads!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 10/02/2019 15:09:40    2164022

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "I know I'm probably wasting my time but it is depressing in the extreme to read the tenor of some of the posts here in the wake of a great game of football served up by two great teams.

A realtively small number of posters seem to have huge chips in their shoulders & have a huge need to put this chip on display at the slightest provocation.

The fact of the matter is that there are some posters whose comments I no longer bother to read at all because I have a fair idea wht will be in the post & life is way too short to spend it reading drivel.

I'm not saying for one minute that people can't be passionate supporters of their own team, I plead guilty here myself, but that doesn't mean that we need harp on, ad nauseum, about how great our team is & how lousy everyone else is. It really is as boring as hell.

Just saying like,"
Well said.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 10/02/2019 15:11:09    2164023

Replying To lilylanger:  "We'll whatever about the rest of the country struggling I think Kerry are doing ok what with all those "supplements" they're taking. Fierce fit for Early Feb. Wonder why?"
Sorry... What??

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 10/02/2019 15:15:41    2164026

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Anyone know where Cluxton and Philly are? Just wondering cause I've heard nothing on why their not playing ?"
They stepped down with Jayo but rumor has it they are in training with Diarmo to swim the channel

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 10/02/2019 15:32:50    2164028

Good game for the new Kerry manager and best game so far of the league. Fast paced, quick retaliation by both teams; Its was nail burnt stuff. Kerry's defense has improved but still vulnerable when run at as seen by Dublin's two goals, thigh the first assisted by some Kerry deflection. Sean O Shea is steadily blossoming similar to Bryan Sheehan and Maurice Fitzgearld. Dublin players as always, showed why they are 4 in row champs, a team that never gives up and as a Kerry person, always dangerous in the last quarter and it could easily have been a draw.

While both teams played well and without a doubt a confidence boost for the young Kerry players. Something similar happened in the league of 2017 where Kerry drew with Dublin in Austin Stacks and beat them in the league final. However, we saw very little of that spark in the following two championships.

Having said that, this is a beginning of a stronger Kerry team with David Clifford, Gavin White, Kevin McCarthy to come back. We can hope only to see James O Donoghue of 2014 but he has been unfortunate with ongoing injuries.

Having said all that, look who Dublin has to come back ..Cluxton, Kilkenny, Philly and maybe even Connolly himself and even with that, yesterday outside the Pale, with a man down, Dublin showed their class and came back to draw ....only for a well orchestrated point by Peter Crowley.

No doubt too, Kerry have been preparing a little bit longer than Dublin for this league. So with all these variables, and the fact that this is only February, there are still no big threat to Dublin's 5 in a row but there are certainly genuine rumblings. I'm looking forward to seeing how both Kerry and Dublin fair out against the remaining crews.

kerrykerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1779 - 10/02/2019 16:02:26    2164052

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Sorry... What??"
Don't take any notice of littlelanger Gerry he's just angry that a manager with only 2 games of senior management experience and a young team beat his beloved dubs.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 10/02/2019 16:21:33    2164069

Replying To kerrykerry:  "Good game for the new Kerry manager and best game so far of the league. Fast paced, quick retaliation by both teams; Its was nail burnt stuff. Kerry's defense has improved but still vulnerable when run at as seen by Dublin's two goals, thigh the first assisted by some Kerry deflection. Sean O Shea is steadily blossoming similar to Bryan Sheehan and Maurice Fitzgearld. Dublin players as always, showed why they are 4 in row champs, a team that never gives up and as a Kerry person, always dangerous in the last quarter and it could easily have been a draw.

While both teams played well and without a doubt a confidence boost for the young Kerry players. Something similar happened in the league of 2017 where Kerry drew with Dublin in Austin Stacks and beat them in the league final. However, we saw very little of that spark in the following two championships.

Having said that, this is a beginning of a stronger Kerry team with David Clifford, Gavin White, Kevin McCarthy to come back. We can hope only to see James O Donoghue of 2014 but he has been unfortunate with ongoing injuries.

Having said all that, look who Dublin has to come back ..Cluxton, Kilkenny, Philly and maybe even Connolly himself and even with that, yesterday outside the Pale, with a man down, Dublin showed their class and came back to draw ....only for a well orchestrated point by Peter Crowley.

No doubt too, Kerry have been preparing a little bit longer than Dublin for this league. So with all these variables, and the fact that this is only February, there are still no big threat to Dublin's 5 in a row but there are certainly genuine rumblings. I'm looking forward to seeing how both Kerry and Dublin fair out against the remaining crews."
Thank you for what is probably the most level headed honest and fair assessment of what happened. You sound a decent sort unlike some of the embarrassing offerings from so called Kerry supporters.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 10/02/2019 16:33:24    2164084

What's with all the red thumbs lads? It seems if you're from Dublin you automatically get one. Gives me the warm & fuzzies! Hit a girl up!!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 10/02/2019 17:07:16    2164122

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Thank you for what is probably the most level headed honest and fair assessment of what happened. You sound a decent sort unlike some of the embarrassing offerings from so called Kerry supporters."
Yerra I don't see any Kerry poster calling a fella a belle-end, nor laughing at a 19 year old being hospitalized, nor posting scatter-gun insults late on a Friday night.
Let he who is without sin and all that good stuff ;D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 10/02/2019 19:13:52    2164202