NFL Division 2

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "Wouldn't have been hard for one player to get 75% of your scores last year, such a low scoring record anyway.. no harm, but Rory Gallagher is setting you guys up for a fall the way he did 3 years in a row in Donegal, flat out during the league and then totally off the pace by July, running sideways and utterly clueless.

You deserved your win on Sunday and if Donegal aren't playing Fermanagh, you're a County I like to see doing well.

How you can look past the amount of senior players we have either injured or rested and kid yourself on that it doesn't matter is a rare one!"
Fermanagh scored 114 points in the league last season...Donegal only managed 109 with all their attacking football.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 27/02/2019 10:02:49    2168596

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "Wouldn't have been hard for one player to get 75% of your scores last year, such a low scoring record anyway.. no harm, but Rory Gallagher is setting you guys up for a fall the way he did 3 years in a row in Donegal, flat out during the league and then totally off the pace by July, running sideways and utterly clueless.

You deserved your win on Sunday and if Donegal aren't playing Fermanagh, you're a County I like to see doing well.

How you can look past the amount of senior players we have either injured or rested and kid yourself on that it doesn't matter is a rare one!"
Another moaner about missing players. All counties missing players.

Prime example, Fermanagh were missing Eoin Donnelly who is their best player by a mile, Thomas Corrigan is their best forward, Quigley another starter. Do you know how difficult it is for Fermanagh to replace quality players?

Fermanagh won, doesn't matter if you had 10 players out, you were beat, get over it.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 27/02/2019 10:29:50    2168614

Replying To gotmilk:  "Fermanagh scored 114 points in the league last season...Donegal only managed 109 with all their attacking football."
Trust me there will be another excuse, probably missing 45 players last year.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 27/02/2019 10:31:00    2168615

Replying To gotmilk:  "Fermanagh scored 114 points in the league last season...Donegal only managed 109 with all their attacking football."
Is that when Fermanagh were in Div 3 and Donegal were in Div 1?

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 27/02/2019 10:42:12    2168622

Ahem! ... includes 0.17 scored in Division 3 final against Armagh.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 506 - 27/02/2019 10:56:10    2168627

Meath v Kildare hard one to call but home advantage sways it to meath.

Donegal v armagh another hard one to call so I'm calling it a draw.

Fermanagh v Clare fermanagh by three plus

Tipperary v cork surely there's going to be a kick from cork lose this and there as good as relegated, I'm going for one point win for cork.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 27/02/2019 11:05:47    2168628

Replying To Curlew66:  "Ahem! ... includes 0.17 scored in Division 3 final against Armagh."
And 2:11 against us when we were at our worst. I'd be 100% confident of us dismantling fermanagh should we meet this year along the line.

It's dark ages football.

tulachmhór (Offaly) - Posts: 145 - 27/02/2019 11:14:12    2168634

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Trust me there will be another excuse, probably missing 45 players last year."
Funny that. If yous had a Paddy McBrearty it could be the last piece of your jigsaw.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9133 - 27/02/2019 11:54:14    2168647

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Funny that. If yous had a Paddy McBrearty it could be the last piece of your jigsaw."
Amen brother!!!

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 27/02/2019 12:22:34    2168651

For those criticising Fermanagh football, how many of you have actually watched Fermanagh this year? The Kildare lads did and got their arses handed to them. I honestly can't remember if it was 28 or 22 shots Fermanagh had against them (very defensive statistics). Some of the Donegal lads saw us on Sunday too where we had 23 attempts on goal. I doubt the poster from Offaly has seen Fermanagh play. I was at the Kerry v Cavan game in Breffni a few weeks ago and having watched both sides play it's clear that they play the exact same style as Fermanagh, only difference is they are better at taking their scores.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 27/02/2019 12:40:56    2168652

Replying To Curlew66:  "Ahem! ... includes 0.17 scored in Division 3 final against Armagh."
Yeah 17 points scored is the sign of a low scoring team.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 27/02/2019 13:05:53    2168661

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Another moaner about missing players. All counties missing players.

Prime example, Fermanagh were missing Eoin Donnelly who is their best player by a mile, Thomas Corrigan is their best forward, Quigley another starter. Do you know how difficult it is for Fermanagh to replace quality players?

Fermanagh won, doesn't matter if you had 10 players out, you were beat, get over it."
A Tyrone man talking about moaning, that's a bit rich.

I already said they deserved to win and wished them well, they're a likeable County and supporters unlike some.

It doesn't matter if you had ten players out... really?

I am over it. This is a discussion forum and it's okay to discuss the games.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 27/02/2019 13:37:04    2168675

Replying To gotmilk:  "For those criticising Fermanagh football, how many of you have actually watched Fermanagh this year? The Kildare lads did and got their arses handed to them. I honestly can't remember if it was 28 or 22 shots Fermanagh had against them (very defensive statistics). Some of the Donegal lads saw us on Sunday too where we had 23 attempts on goal. I doubt the poster from Offaly has seen Fermanagh play. I was at the Kerry v Cavan game in Breffni a few weeks ago and having watched both sides play it's clear that they play the exact same style as Fermanagh, only difference is they are better at taking their scores."
Hahaha 2 point win and you handed our arses to us?? What do define what we did to you last summer as then??

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 27/02/2019 14:24:39    2168686

Replying To kildare73:  "Hahaha 2 point win and you handed our arses to us?? What do define what we did to you last summer as then??"
You beat a team who were completely deflated after an ulster final loss. Yes we did hand your a*** to you. One point from play, 11 shots in total. If we were actually able to shoot it could have been a double figure loss that night.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 27/02/2019 15:00:02    2168699

Kildare posters can have short memories .. lost something like 10 games in a row Last season including to the mighty Carlow in the championship.. yes you played in a thriller in Newbridge but then it was the perfect storm of events for yiz but fair play .. you beat us very well in Navan but as like you met us in 2008 we we in a dark place after the Ulster final non performance which is like an all Ireland final loss for us .... anyway just how many times does the underdog have to outplay and win against so called superior counties before those so-called superior county supporters have the good grace to take it on the chin and not offer up a decent excuses about the Fermanagh style and their own misfortunes ??
If Fermanagh learn to score everyone should be seriously worried .. and from the upward scoring trend we are on ... .. be afraid as Armagh or Donegal will be in a relegation dog fight yet .. I predict it to be Donegal and predict Armagh to turn them over on sat eve ... wouldn't that make for an interesting run in to the end of the league !

KeshGFC (Fermanagh) - Posts: 334 - 27/02/2019 15:45:32    2168716

Donegal scored 109 points in their seven Division 1 games
Fermanagh scored 97 points in their 7 Division 3 games.

Fermanagh played an extra match losing 1.16 - 0.17 to Armagh in the Division 3 league final.

Statistics .. level playing field .. fair comparison etc

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 506 - 27/02/2019 15:54:52    2168719

So Donegal averaged a point extra a game than Fermanagh (and that also included one game where they managed to hit a crazy 3-14). They also conceded a crazy amount of scores last year, something Fermanagh didn't.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 27/02/2019 16:20:40    2168726

Kildare, Clare, Cork and Armagh all to win!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 27/02/2019 17:21:31    2168741

You mean Ulster Finalists Fermanagh scored more in Division 3 than Ulster Champions Donegal did in Division 1 last year? Shocking stuff.....That's beyond belief now.

I'll do a similar comparison between Donegal and Fermanagh in the Ulster Championship later, to see if that trend continued into Championship (the part of the season that matters).

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1112 - 27/02/2019 17:37:20    2168751

Can we please move on from the game and this childish attitude of we've scored more than you bulls@#t.

Are Fermangh enjoying this run? you bet your life they are.

Donegal supporters need to be a little more humble, it was once us who were being mocked for our style of play, 2011????? Some supporters seem to believe that we have a God given right to be in Div 1. The league table doesn't lie.

Fermangh gaels enjoy these times as you've enjured enough barren years. It would be great to see yourselfs in Div 1 and would surely be a reward for the commitment and endeavour for both players and supporters.

DLlegends (Donegal) - Posts: 503 - 27/02/2019 18:31:39    2168757