NFL Division 2

Replying To OLLIE:  "This weekend I will go for Tipp, Donegal, Meath and Fermanagh all to win."
Don't put the blight on us

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 26/02/2019 16:02:28    2168419

Replying To gotmilk:  "Don't put the blight on us"
Fair play to you gotmilk thrilled for Fermanagh, and I genuinely mean that.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/02/2019 16:10:55    2168427

Replying To gotmilk:  "Don't put the blight on us"
Gotmilk I actually tipped Fermanagh to be relegated. What would I know? It would be great to see them in Division One.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 26/02/2019 16:31:00    2168439

Replying To OLLIE:  "Gotmilk I actually tipped Fermanagh to be relegated. What would I know? It would be great to see them in Division One."
Fair play to them, playing to their strengths, but do we really want to see them in div1?
Their style is awful and theyd drag the decent teams down to a level we were all giving out about before.

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 26/02/2019 16:44:50    2168446

Replying To lilypad:  "Fair play to them, playing to their strengths, but do we really want to see them in div1?
Their style is awful and theyd drag the decent teams down to a level we were all giving out about before."
If they get to Division One they got there on merit. They are only one of four counties still undefeated in the league along with Kerry, Derry and Leitrim. They have the smallest amount of clubs of any county to pick from so fair paly to them.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 26/02/2019 17:05:36    2168451

Replying To Tir Conaill Abu:  "
Replying To Commodore:  "From Yesterday, Yes i can

1. Michael Murphy
2. Patrick McBrearty
3. Odhran MacNiallais
4. Darrach O'Connor
5. Cian Mulligan
6. Micheal Carroll
7. Martin McElhinney
8. Daire O'Baoill
9. Frank McGlynn
10. Anthony Thompson
11. Paddy McGrath
12. Neil McGee
13. Kieran Gillespie
14. Mark McHugh
15. Paul 'Papa' Durkin

The above are all players involved in the Donegal Senior panel in the last 12 months, and most of whom are expected to be featuring come Championship as either starters or subs."
Seriously Commodore you're embarrassing yourself with that post and your knowledge of Donegal GAA is a bit suspect after that:

Paul Durcan only rejoined the panel last week and hasn't featured in years for Donegal.
Mark Mc Hugh and Anthony Thompson have taken themselves off the panel
Kieran Gillespie tore his cruciate and isn't expected back until 2020
As far as I know Darrach O' Connor has been dropped from the squad.

We need to forget this "we're missing players" crap and move on with the opportunities that it's giving younger lads like Gallen, O' Donnell, etc. Kerry are in Division 1 with a group of young lads and are yet to welcome back a host of experienced players, I know they are winning but if they weren't there would be no "we're missing players" crap.

The most disappointing aspect of the defeats was that we were in control of both games and didn't see them out. That could be put down to lack of leaders on the pitch and experience may turn some of these players into leaders. Murphy ain't gonna be around forever lads."
Read my post carefully.....particularly the bit that said "The above are all players involved in the Donegal senior panel in the last 12 months, and most of whom are expected to be featuring come Championship as either starters or subs".

Now as of January 2019,
- Anthony Thompson has not taken himself off the panel, I thought he had in January, but was recently informed otherwise and apparently he may return by end of league.
- Paul "Papa" Durcan is currently back training with the Senior panel.
- Darrach O'Connor has not been dropped, and is expected to return to the squad before Championship.
- Mark McHugh has opted out, but was part of the squad last summer (See my quote above).

I don't know which part of Fermanagh you learned to read in, but you must have missed a lot of the Newspaper articles in recent years where Kerry management were talking about the rebuilding process and attributed poor starts in the opening rounds of the National League to missing key players due to Club Championship.

You're general knowledge appears to be selective

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1106 - 26/02/2019 17:11:11    2168454

Replying To lilypad:  "Fair play to them, playing to their strengths, but do we really want to see them in div1?
Their style is awful and theyd drag the decent teams down to a level we were all giving out about before."
Seriously give over. Kildare were completely outplayed in Brewster. Was it 22 or 28 shots Fermanagh had that day? What's your issue with Fermanagh football? Is it that we don't give teams loads of space? If we could actually take the chances we create we would be averaging about 16/17 points a game. The only problem we have at the minute is we aren't clinical enough in front of goal.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 26/02/2019 17:14:41    2168458

Replying To royaldunne:  "
Replying To Tir Conaill Abu:  "[quote=Commodore:  "From Yesterday, Yes i can

1. Michael Murphy
2. Patrick McBrearty
3. Odhran MacNiallais
4. Darrach O'Connor
5. Cian Mulligan
6. Micheal Carroll
7. Martin McElhinney
8. Daire O'Baoill
9. Frank McGlynn
10. Anthony Thompson
11. Paddy McGrath
12. Neil McGee
13. Kieran Gillespie
14. Mark McHugh
15. Paul 'Papa' Durkin

The above are all players involved in the Donegal Senior panel in the last 12 months, and most of whom are expected to be featuring come Championship as either starters or subs."
Seriously Commodore you're embarrassing yourself with that post and your knowledge of Donegal GAA is a bit suspect after that:

Paul Durcan only rejoined the panel last week and hasn't featured in years for Donegal.

We need to forget this "we're missing players" crap and move on with the opportunities that it's giving younger lads like Gallen, O' Donnell, etc. Kerry are in Division 1 with a group of young lads and are yet to welcome back a host of experienced players, I know they are winning but if they weren't there would be no "we're missing players" crap.

The most disappointing aspect of the defeats was that we were in control of both games and didn't see them out. That could be put down to lack of leaders on the pitch and experience may turn some of these players into leaders. Murphy ain't gonna be around forever lads."
Well said. Every county is missing players. But it's who is playing that counts not who is not. Our lads that came in have done ok so far. Nothing has been achieved yet. Still all to play for , for every county."]Yes, every county is normally missing a few players at different stages of league and Championship every season, but I think the number of influential players Donegal are currently missing is really exceeds the norm this season.

We are currently missing key Influential players, those players that really make a team tick. Those young players who featured last year and did well, had the experienced players around them steadying the ship as they found their feet in the team.

This year has seen most of last years new players become the seasoned veterans, and yet we are shocked that they aren't seeing out games? I'm confident we will see things change in the coming weeks, might surprise a few on Saturday night against Armagh.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1106 - 26/02/2019 17:23:39    2168459

Replying To Commodore:  "
Replying To royaldunne:  "[quote=Tir Conaill Abu:  "[quote=Commodore:  "From Yesterday, Yes i can

1. Michael Murphy
2. Patrick McBrearty
3. Odhran MacNiallais
4. Darrach O'Connor
5. Cian Mulligan
6. Micheal Carroll
7. Martin McElhinney
8. Daire O'Baoill
9. Frank McGlynn
10. Anthony Thompson
11. Paddy McGrath
12. Neil McGee
13. Kieran Gillespie
14. Mark McHugh
15. Paul 'Papa' Durkin

Well said. Every county is missing players. But it's who is playing that counts not who is not. Our lads that came in have done ok so far. Nothing has been achieved yet. Still all to play for , for every county."]Yes, every county is normally missing a few players at different stages of league and Championship every season, but I think the number of influential players Donegal are currently missing is really exceeds the norm this season.

We are currently missing key Influential players, those players that really make a team tick. Those young players who featured last year and did well, had the experienced players around them steadying the ship as they found their feet in the team.

This year has seen most of last years new players become the seasoned veterans, and yet we are shocked that they aren't seeing out games? I'm confident we will see things change in the coming weeks, might surprise a few on Saturday night against Armagh."]Totally agree with your post. We played the young lads last year in the early rounds of the league too but the diff then was that we had paddy kicking an average of 8 points a game. These young lads need murphy and co back, hopefully starting on Saturday night.. Saturday's team selection will be interesting.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2392 - 26/02/2019 17:42:00    2168463

Totally agree with your post. We played the young lads last year in the early rounds of the league too but the diff then was that we had paddy kicking an average of 8 points a game. These young lads need murphy and co back, hopefully starting on Saturday night.. Saturday's team selection will be interesting.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 492 - 2/26/19 5:42:00 PM 2

I was looking at our Championship scoring stats last year, and McBrearty, Murphy constantly contributing heavily, in fact those two alone scored 10-11 points on average per Championship match until McBrearty got injured early in the Ulster final. 50% of our scoring came from those two.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1106 - 26/02/2019 18:39:43    2168474

Embarrassed for you for this comment .. dragging teams down are you for real ???? The great teams will open us up and out score us .. teams without a plan will appear clueless and frustrated and score 6 or so points before going home with tail between legs tut tutting about our style all the way... if we actually figure out how to put the ball over the bar and convert chances then teams should be seriously worried as that has been the only thing preventing us from romping home the last few matches .. and from the second half in Letterkenny it appears we have found out scoring boots
As for Donegal posters lamenting their top scorers from last year being injured... we are without Seamie who scored 75% of all our scores in 2018 .. but as Rory put it we focus on the men that take the field .. I advise DL does the same.
Ferm favs for Div 1 I say !

KeshGFC (Fermanagh) - Posts: 334 - 26/02/2019 20:02:01    2168492

Not much good to yous when he goes awol before Monaghan game last year.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2392 - 26/02/2019 20:59:43    2168506

Replying To KeshGFC:  "Embarrassed for you for this comment .. dragging teams down are you for real ???? The great teams will open us up and out score us .. teams without a plan will appear clueless and frustrated and score 6 or so points before going home with tail between legs tut tutting about our style all the way... if we actually figure out how to put the ball over the bar and convert chances then teams should be seriously worried as that has been the only thing preventing us from romping home the last few matches .. and from the second half in Letterkenny it appears we have found out scoring boots
As for Donegal posters lamenting their top scorers from last year being injured... we are without Seamie who scored 75% of all our scores in 2018 .. but as Rory put it we focus on the men that take the field .. I advise DL does the same.
Ferm favs for Div 1 I say !"
I don't begrudge a team who punch above their weight, play to a game plan and follow it up with results, and your analogy of Kildare coming without a plan, appearing clueless and not scoring is spot on. However, it's not good football to watch. Do we want to see it in division one? I can't imagine anyone from Fermanagh gives a hoot what anyone else want to see to be honest. Good on ye and keep playing to your strengths.

Sweetspot (Kildare) - Posts: 323 - 26/02/2019 21:08:48    2168510

Replying To KeshGFC:  "Embarrassed for you for this comment .. dragging teams down are you for real ???? The great teams will open us up and out score us .. teams without a plan will appear clueless and frustrated and score 6 or so points before going home with tail between legs tut tutting about our style all the way... if we actually figure out how to put the ball over the bar and convert chances then teams should be seriously worried as that has been the only thing preventing us from romping home the last few matches .. and from the second half in Letterkenny it appears we have found out scoring boots
Embarrassed? Get over your snowflake self. At least im honest no patronising pats on the back from me, we were awful against you up there, ive no problem admitting that, but id rather watch us than yous and from a neutral point of view id say if peiple were honest enough theyd agree.

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 26/02/2019 22:12:29    2168523

Replying To lilypad:  "Embarrassed? Get over your snowflake self. At least im honest no patronising pats on the back from me, we were awful against you up there, ive no problem admitting that, but id rather watch us than yous and from a neutral point of view id say if peiple were honest enough theyd agree."
I'd agree with that, Kildare are generally excellent to watch.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1106 - 26/02/2019 23:12:36    2168534

Replying To lilypad:  "Embarrassed? Get over your snowflake self. At least im honest no patronising pats on the back from me, we were awful against you up there, ive no problem admitting that, but id rather watch us than yous and from a neutral point of view id say if peiple were honest enough theyd agree."
To be fair I'm embarrassed for you.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 26/02/2019 23:17:12    2168537

Replying To The_Fridge:  "To be fair I'm embarrassed for you."
Sorry to hear that but dont worry youll get over it.

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 26/02/2019 23:24:54    2168538

Wouldn't have been hard for one player to get 75% of your scores last year, such a low scoring record anyway.. no harm, but Rory Gallagher is setting you guys up for a fall the way he did 3 years in a row in Donegal, flat out during the league and then totally off the pace by July, running sideways and utterly clueless.

You deserved your win on Sunday and if Donegal aren't playing Fermanagh, you're a County I like to see doing well.

How you can look past the amount of senior players we have either injured or rested and kid yourself on that it doesn't matter is a rare one!

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1319 - 26/02/2019 23:45:43    2168544

Congrats to all the Fermanagh supporters here on a very well deserved win at the weekend. In truth it should have been more were it not for some wayward shooting. From a Donegal perspective it was a repeat of the Tipp game. Playing some reasonable stuff in the first half before been absolute garbage in the 2nd. Of course the red card did have a baring but no excuse for another 2nd half of flat unimaginative predictable play. Countless times players running at pace off the shoulder receiving the ball to ultimately put the breaks on and turn back with a hand pass. It took 30 mins in the 2nd half for a foot pass to be played inside. Huge game Saturday night. in which the Donegal starting team will make interesting reading as alluded to already. I imagine some reinforcements will be called upon. The championship is what it is all about however even with players missing I am now a little concerned with how Donegal are going.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2779 - 27/02/2019 00:36:25    2168550

What I seen of Kildare of Brewster was nothing to special.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 27/02/2019 09:01:02    2168578