11/03/2011 17:53:17
solano County: All Posts: 464
With the mass exodus out of the Country are there any of our clubs badly affected? I seen in the Herald a few weeks ago that Derrygonnelly said they wern't that badly effected. However, I recently heard A Gallagher, their captain when they won the Champo in 2009 and Ward who was on the County team last year have left. Is this true? If so, I would see this as a big loss. Two good players.
13/03/2011 14:18:16
high.catch County: UK Posts: 153
don't u mean emmigration ?
13/03/2011 18:35:30
Greenandwhite23 County: Fermanagh Posts: 76
Ward is in OZ at the minute but is coming home in a couple of months
13/03/2011 20:53:45
FermGaeil County: Fermanagh Posts: 56
Its unfortunate that the younger players leave. However they are only young once. There's more the life than football
14/03/2011 12:44:42
Yes, sorry emmigration. Very true about these young lads getting away when they are young. Are there any other Clubs missing players this year?
19/05/2011 13:49:05
LiosTuathail County: Kerry Posts: 206
yes alot of clubs are missing players, the bridge, e.g. barry carey but we could debate this all day, whilst this weekends match will be setlled for many reasons the main reason i believe will be down to emmigration, what do yous good people of the erne reckon?
23/05/2011 10:32:49
erneboy County: Fermanagh Posts: 587
Heard Derry suffered too from players heading away to Oz and elsewhere but emigration is the same anywhere in the country so Fermanagh cannot blame their failure on this only.
24/05/2011 12:51:25
DeepSouth County: Fermanagh Posts: 6
I hear County Board is suffering too. They couldn't seem to spare an Official to represent us and the wider Fermanagh community at a recent ceremony in Croke Park.
24/05/2011 16:00:54
ShowsFair County: Fermanagh Posts: 271
every excuse under the sun will be used for the poor showing on Sunday, players leaving due to work, however in other counties if your good enough they find some sort of position to keep the said player at home, so he can play for the county and pay the bills. I blame the black cat that run out in front of the team bus before it entered celtic park, bad omen!!!!
Other excuses such as, a young squad, we are building for the future, the minors won (and fair play to them), they will be the back bone of the team in years to come.
But the common denominator for our county team to be beat in such a fashion, is the management and county board.
Not once did the management hold up their hands and say, sorry we got it wrong.
26/05/2011 14:38:00
manowar County: Fermanagh Posts: 98
No manager is ever going to admit to the public that they got it wrong on the day. They may tell the players that in private but, they will never admit it to the fans.
22/06/2011 15:26:45
abc1234 County: Fermanagh Posts: 280
Is emigration totally to blame for the lack of player numbers in clubs and the county team or would this situation happened anyway?
22/06/2011 17:00:19
IrvinestownMkII County: Fermanagh Posts: 782
My father says players emigrated in their masses in the 1960s and the GAA still flourished here so it's not just emigration the problem.
23/06/2011 21:17:50
Sham tell your dad that familes were big then 7 - 14, now we have more like 2 to 4 so the comparison is not relevant.
29/06/2011 11:26:24
IrvinestownMkII County: Fermanagh Posts: 782
I hear the the clubs are further depleted from this week with more players leaving either for permanant work or summer work.
29/06/2011 12:34:34
all clubs are affected so it should balance out for all.
29/06/2011 16:55:18
I don't like Belleek. All their players should move to Ballyshannon or Bundoran.
29/06/2011 17:41:11
Coa_gael County: Fermanagh Posts: 1010
I think most clubs have lost at least 4 players each so far to emigration
30/06/2011 11:43:59
abc1234 County: Fermanagh Posts: 280
You'll find that it is far more than 4 when you take the summer seeking emigrants!
30/06/2011 12:09:29
SkeaLad County: Fermanagh Posts: 482
I would say our Emmetts club has lost more than any other club to emigration.
30/06/2011 19:59:27
gaalltheway County: Fermanagh Posts: 560
I think this emigration is blown out of proportion as there are jobs if you want to work. Sounds like many of these emigrants want a holiday more that work.
Result Pages: 1  2  3  4  [Next >>]
Page 1