19/02/2012 14:12:37
john.no1 County: Sligo Posts: 431
Who do you think will win it? As a Sligo fan, Im hopeful but I think Shams are the favourites. They have a good all round team, while Sligo have little in the centre of the park, obviously losing Ryan, Kirby and Russell. Shams have had a settled manager for the last few weeks, while Sligo's new manager will have have his work cut out trying to get results early on in his tenure. St. Pats have brought in some quality players but may take time to gel, while Derry look good again this year. I think Bohs will struggle with a lack of experience and could be fighting relegation, however they do have a very experienced manager in O'Callaghan. If Sligo can get 1 or 2 quality central midfielders to supply the likes of North and Quigley, I think we are in with a chance, but due to the fact that Shams have a settled manager and squad you just have to make them favourites at the minute.
19/02/2012 14:55:46
Seamus89 County: Kilkenny Posts: 3806
What about the First Division? The consensus seems to be that Limerick will be the strongest, they're putting in a big effort and they hope to be back in the spiritual home in time for their first season back in the LOI Premier. Still two Galway teams in the league, still one too many. That said, Salthill Devon have a magnificent underage structure.
19/02/2012 16:42:51
itcouldbeme County: Derry Posts: 492
Do Sligo have a manager yet cause they could prob take Fenlon after the day, think the we man might be getting his P45 soon, good enough for him
19/02/2012 17:19:39
dhorse County: Laois Posts: 11355
itcouldbeme County: Derry Posts: 464
1114532 See Fenlon managed to empty Easter road today by the 70 minute are people now starting to realise that this guy is a fraud who's only successes as a manager have been overpriced at best
itcouldbeme County: Derry Posts: 464
1114525 Do Sligo have a manager yet cause they could prob take Fenlon after the day, think the we man might be getting his P45 soon, good enough for him
Would it be true to say your not a huge fan of Pat Fenlon??
19/02/2012 17:31:38
Seamus89 County: Kilkenny Posts: 3806
Itcouldbeme
Leave the man alone, would you? He's not perfect but the way you go on it's as if he's the Anti-Christ. He's a good young Irish manager, and we should all be hoping he succeeds in Britain.
19/02/2012 17:37:05
killer_88_ County: Mayo Posts: 1755
itcouldbeme County: Derry Posts: 464 Do Sligo have a manager yet cause they could prob take Fenlon after the day, think the we man might be getting his P45 soon, good enough for him -------------------------------------------
Hibs have actually been steadily improving under Fenlon. You can't expect him to just turn up and magically turn things around. They've been defending a lot better of late and were really unlucky to run into Celtic at full tilt today.
19/02/2012 17:47:35
Aye goal difference is the onl thing keeping them off the bottom, thats a real sign of a steady improvement lol
19/02/2012 18:39:51
dhorse County: Laois Posts: 11355
itcouldbeme County: Derry Posts: 465
1114553 Aye goal difference is the onl thing keeping them off the bottom, thats a real sign of a steady improvement.
why would that make you laugh out loud
19/02/2012 18:54:14
The only success he's has as a manager has been at the expense of the clubs he has managed and i think its hilarious that up until now he has been fooling people. He's a fraud who can only bring success if the cheque book is blank.......perhaps a future rangers manager!!
19/02/2012 21:06:08
bullring County: Longford Posts: 166
Agree with seamus, we should leave Pat Fenlon alone. He is a Irish manager trying to find his feet, he has a number of Irish lads with him. OK things are not going well for him. But he is only there a few months.
20/02/2012 10:40:16
tribeinbrum County: Galway Posts: 2665
Right then lads, being as the FAI have decided there will be no true Galway team in the league (STD Galway can run and jump), until GUST can obtain a license i'm a floating supporter this year.
Where will be the best craic to head for a few matches. Have to say i've enjoyed my outings to Bray, Boh's and even UCD with Galway United in the past few years but where else would be decent to head for? (Admittedly close to Dublin as when i'm over around Easter that's where i'll be stationed)....
20/02/2012 11:48:42
Pedrito County: Dublin Posts: 1099
tribeinbrum County: Galway Posts: 1145
1114775 Right then lads, being as the FAI have decided there will be no true Galway team in the league (STD Galway can run and jump), until GUST can obtain a license i'm a floating supporter this year.
Where will be the best craic to head for a few matches. Have to say i've enjoyed my outings to Bray, Boh's and even UCD with Galway United in the past few years but where else would be decent to head for? (Admittedly close to Dublin as when i'm over around Easter that's where i'll be stationed)....
Any of the non-tallaght based clubs will do ye grand. Richmond Park is good for a neutral or UCD if you want to avoid a croud as they say.
20/02/2012 12:02:01
To be fair i ws thinking of Pats. Shels are up again aswell so a trip to Tolka wouldnt be that bad.........
I thought when i was at UCD's Bowl it was a very vociferous, if small crowd.....
20/02/2012 12:31:43
legendzxix County: Kerry Posts: 2431
With Ireland's success in qualifying for Euro 2012 and the involvement of ex-LoI players in this success. The FAI should be running a promotion campaign for the LoI using ex-LoI players who are part of the Euro 2012 qualifying success. There is no better way to promote the talent that has come through the league.
Many barstoolers have been scrambling and asking for McClean exclusion. Many could've see that player in action in Ireland but missed that opportunity.
20/02/2012 12:43:56
legendzxix County: Kerry Posts: 2431
On LoI 2012, it's a disgrace that A Championship clubs have been frozen out. Having a third tier and a gateway for clubs to join the league proper should remain a part of the LoI structure.
It's hard to look past Shamrock Rovers for the Premier title. It'll be interesting though to see hos Shamrock, Sligo and Derry get on with their new managers. Shels as Cup finalists and Cork should make an impact on the Premier, maybe not as dramatic as Derry last year but I expect both to be in around the top half to mid-table. Limerick are clear favourites to win the first division. Waterford and Longford will possibly be the two clubs to contest a play-off setting up a play-off promotion/relegation place against the side finishing 11th in the Premier. I wouldn't want to call the 11th place just yet.
20/02/2012 14:05:31
tribeinbrum County: Galway Posts: 1146
1114815 To be fair i ws thinking of Pats. Shels are up again aswell so a trip to Tolka wouldnt be that bad.........
I thought when i was at UCD's Bowl it was a very vociferous, if small crowd
There'll be a good atmosphere down Tolka park this season, there's always that excitment that comes with a newly promoted/returning team and a lot of the old crowd that were a bit busy to attend games for the last few years might free up their schedules now that games are worth going to again, but for a neutral I'd say Pat's have their eyes on big things ths season - I mean the title's going to Tallaght and no two way about it but Pats will have their say. Go to any Pats and Shels match in either venue be a good spectacle. I'm headin' to Richmond Park tonight actually for the Setanta Cup game, home tickets but don't really care who wins.
I haven't been to UCD for about 3/4 yrs at least - it is a nice spot of a balmy summer's eve, when we get one, which we don't.
20/02/2012 14:17:10
Will have to check out the fixtures then and see who's at home when i'm over.
Wouldn't really be entertaining a trip to Tallaght, take me half the night to get there and back and i'll be fancying a few pints before and after. Might check out Richmond if Pats are at home.
20/02/2012 14:27:50
MesAmis County: Dublin Posts: 5765
South Dublin to make it 3 in a row methinks. Don't really see what's changed at Sligo for the better. You wonder if they've a fight in them at all. Realistically they never really challenged for the title last year as they're bad start to the year always left them behind the council tenants. Derry were, and probably will be again, the main challengers.
The Bohs will do ok again I think. We won't be relegated (on the pitch in anyways!!!) as there are a few other more likely candidates. Cork and Shels back in the league will add interest too. Pats have assembled a squad that seems to be entirely made up of midfielders so that'll be interesting to watch.
As for the 1st Division. Limerick will walk it and may well end up about 20 points clear by the time its over.
20/02/2012 14:41:02
Shels have Sligo at home on Frday week and away to Bohs the following, that's the pick of the action (in Dublin of course obviously Derry and Bohs will be the best of Matchday 1).
The rest you can decide yourself, see below, Yeah pintswise Shels, Pats and bohs are your best-bet though I willl say Tallaght's not the hardest to get out of now that the Luas bring you right back into the 1st world.
[url=]http://www.airtricityleague.ie/about/press-office/3886-airtricity-league-premier-division-fixtures-2012
20/02/2012 16:56:16
MesAmis County: Dublin Posts: 4152
1114962 South Dublin to make it 3 in a row methinks. Don't really see what's changed at Sligo for the better. You wonder if they've a fight in them at all. Realistically they never really challenged for the title last year as they're bad start to the year always left them behind the council tenants. Derry were, and probably will be again, the main challengers.
The Bohs will do ok again I think. We won't be relegated (on the pitch in anyways!!!) as there are a few other more likely candidates. Cork and Shels back in the league will add interest too. Pats have assembled a squad that seems to be entirely made up of midfielders so that'll be interesting to watch.
As for the 1st Division. Limerick will walk it and may well end up about 20 points clear by the time its over.
Re. Sligo, it depends who they get, I'd rate them ahead of Derry but only because I reckon Zayed was a bigger loss to Derry than Paul Cook was to Sligo.
Result Pages: 1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  [Next >>]
Page 1