05/12/2011 14:32:13
fortyfive County: Tyrone Posts: 5160
Will the Special One behave himself ahead of this weekends El'Clásico from the Bernabéu The two sides met in Augusts Spanish super cup with Barca winning a controversial and ill-tempered second leg at the Nou Camp to claim the trophy by 5-4 on aggregate.
05/12/2011 15:03:30
Seamus89 County: Kilkenny Posts: 3804
1-0 to Madrid.
And this is not a derby. Just so everyone knows.
05/12/2011 15:35:17
Pedrito County: Dublin Posts: 1099
Seamus89 County: Kilkenny Posts: 2826
1080178 1-0 to Madrid.
Actually why not? The Spanish used to call it El Derbia del Espanol (or something spelled correctly). I think the term is based around rivalry rather than vacinity. if the locality is Spain, then then they're the biggest rivals, and some would say only real competition, in Spain. Just expanding the locality really. Spain and Protugal consider themselves two halves of the Iberian Derby. Conversely if two teams share the same city but aren't a rivalry for example West Ham and The Orient (even the same area of the city then technically it's not a Derby in the true sense..... that's just an example btw, they probably are fierce east! east! east-London rivals just the Hammers have bigger fish to bottle.
Barca 2-1 and a sendin' off I reckon. Real will be 1-0 up until the 83rd and then fireworks.
05/12/2011 15:48:05
slayer County: Limerick Posts: 4554
Correct
05/12/2011 15:54:36
Breffni39 County: Cavan Posts: 8382
Love to see Madrid win this well. Barcelona are amazing but they badly need a humbling.
05/12/2011 15:58:07
Inter-v-Juve is the 'Derby d'Italia'. Inter-v-Milan is the 'Derby della Madonnina' (Derby of the Blessed Virgin).
As far as I'm concerned 'Derby d'Italia' is an oxymoron. If it's a derby, it's between two teams in the same city. Maybe, just maybe, you can extend that to games like Newcastle-v-Sunderland, because the cities are so close. But two teams situated hundreds of miles away from each other is not a real derby and never will be.
05/12/2011 16:08:30
Love to see Madrid win this well. Barcelona are amazing but they badly need a humbling.
World-class insight as always. I wonder is football really the most important sport in Catalonia?
05/12/2011 16:09:09
slayer County: Limerick Posts: 4141
1080208 And this is not a derby. Just so everyone knows.
Correct
I'm not sure lads, I think as long as it's local and a rivalry then it's a Derby you can expand "local" - the main ingredient is rivalry.
05/12/2011 16:19:38
Breffni39 County: Cavan Posts: 8382
Seamus89 County: Kilkenny Posts: 2829
1080228 Love to see Madrid win this well. Barcelona are amazing but they badly need a humbling.
World-class insight as always. I wonder is football really the most important sport in Catalonia?
Oh ffs, give over will you. You're a grown man no?
05/12/2011 16:19:58
pplocal County: Tyrone Posts: 5695
As I've explained on the other thread this is a derby, Pedrito has regurgitated a lot of my points in his answer above so I won't go over it again. Real to win 3 - 2, Mourinho, as always, has done a simply fantastic job with Real and he'll mastermind the victory
05/12/2011 16:41:22
slayer County: Limerick Posts: 4554
Anyway, whatever about it being a derby or not, I think Madrid need to win this one Since Mourinho's arrival Real have only beaten Barca in the Spanish Cup and I'm sure nobody in Spain cared about that given the Catalan giants won la Liga and the Champions League.
So I think there is a lot of pressure on Real going into this one.
05/12/2011 17:01:02
Is Man Utd-v-Barca local? I mean, in the grand scheme of things, it is local. It's a big world, and a flight from Manchester to Barcelona only takes a few hours, not much longer than the drive from Madrid to Barca, I'd imagine. Who is to say that Man Utd-v-Barca isn't a derby?
05/12/2011 17:04:28
RoyalBuck County: Meath Posts: 26
i think a lot more pressure is on barcelona then other times, they're not playing well lately (not including weekends result), 3 points behind with a game more played if they lose and madrid win their game-in-hand thats a 9 point gap i dont see mourinho letting slip.
i'll back a 2-1 victory for madrid
05/12/2011 17:08:25
Seamus89 County: Kilkenny Posts: 2831
1080271 Is Man Utd-v-Barca local? I mean, in the grand scheme of things, it is local. It's a big world, and a flight from Manchester to Barcelona only takes a few hours, not much longer than the drive from Madrid to Barca, I'd imagine. Who is to say that Man Utd-v-Barca isn't a derby?
Not a rivalry though, not even a f*cking contest the last two meetings. But yeah you actually do have a point, where do you draw the line? I suppose they don't regualrly play each other - only that they're the first and second best teams in Europe thus should meet in the final or en route. If it was an annual meeting in the final, then perhaps it would be the Euro Derby. Why not.
05/12/2011 17:24:39
Break_er County: Donegal Posts: 758
Breffni39 County: Cavan Posts: 6462
1080236 Seamus89 County: Kilkenny Posts: 2829
1080228 Love to see Madrid win this well. Barcelona are amazing but they badly need a humbling.
Oh ffs, give over will you. You're a grown man no?
It is something he will never be I am afraid.
05/12/2011 17:26:46
El Clasico transcends football, it represents regional and political differences and the rivalry is the biggest and most watched in the World. I don't think you can compare it to United - Barca, they play at least twice a season (quite often more than that) and the games are inevitably hugely important especially now as they are probably the two best teams in the World. They are tense, tight and the talent on show is a joy to behold while United - Barca was like watching a senior team play their under 14's
05/12/2011 17:35:08
pplocal County: Tyrone Posts: 4407
1080286 El Clasico transcends football, it represents regional and political differences and the rivalry is the biggest and most watched in the World. I don't think you can compare it to United - Barca, they play at least twice a season (quite often more than that) and the games are inevitably hugely important especially now as they are probably the two best teams in the World. They are tense, tight and the talent on show is a joy to behold while United - Barca was like watching a senior team play their under 14's
Yeah, good effort but Patrique would have been so much funnier. Yours reads like you typed it in a temper. You're gettin' the hang of Wikipedia though! That bit about a senior team against the under 14s isn't funny - them Barca lads are just short men they're not kids, comparing them to 14 year olds is heightist - not their fault most of united's midfeild is over 6ft.
05/12/2011 18:13:13
Would you address the man's points Pedrito? Barca are on another planet to the best team in England (not anymore, obviously). So are Madrid. Napoli aren't the best team in Italy, but they soundly defeated Man City, who are strolling to the PL. There are serious problems within English football. Yes, it's entertaining. But is it top-quality? Absolutely not. The fact that Michael Carrick is regarded as a good passing midfielder really says it all about the EPL.
05/12/2011 18:19:35
Seamus89 County: Kilkenny Posts: 2833
1080325 Would you address the man's points Pedrito?
I did. I just didn't dumb it down for a tabloid reader.
05/12/2011 18:27:53
Seamus it's easier for him to say that I hate the Brits or I hate United or I hate Ferguson etc. etc. than to respond to the points I've raised. I'm used to such arguments, I'm sure you are as well. If I was as anti-United as he claims I would have recalled the last two meetings between Barca and United not with anger but rather a beaming smile on my face. Rather I actually felt pity for United than they would be so comprehensively shown up in one of the biggest games of their lives, at times I could barely watch out of sheer embarrassment for them
Result Pages: 1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>]
Page 1