Home Football Hurling Counties

Donegal - Mickey Hegarty
please login or register to post a message

Result Pages:  1  
Page 1

20/07/2011 16:04:06
Lockjaw

It was great to see Mickey Hegarty finally shut some of the know-it-alls up last Sunday. He has been written off for years by many so called Donegal fans. The two points he scored last Sunday from tight angles showed the man's quality. As I read somewhere he has added substance under McGuinness' style of play to his undoubted ability. Well done Michael.
20/07/2011 16:28:25
switchit

Dead right Lockjaw, I'll hold my hands up as one of those who have given Mickey some grief over the years but he was superb on Sunday and is becoming instrumental to the type of game that we play now. Delighted for him as well as the other more senior lads to finally get his Ulster medal, especially as he had almost played his last game for the county.
Another thing.. I've always thought he has a strange kicking style, when he's lobbing one in on top of the full forwards he seems to have a very long follow through. Just an observation though, he's always been an elegant footballer
20/07/2011 16:31:04
gaelp

1 decent game in 10 years... bout time
20/07/2011 16:44:26
Donegal780

Hes had alot more than one decent game now in fairness but has been off the boil
alot the past few years. Hes got the most ability than anyone on the team! Excellent game he had on sunday..
20/07/2011 16:54:56
Spurious

He played very well on Sunday.
T'Would be nice to see him play as well next time.
20/07/2011 21:21:48
DL

I thought he was man of the match on sunday as most of our attacks went through him that ended in scores,his only mistake was not scoring a point in the first half.
On the point that was made above about him not playing well this last few years I always thought he wasn't being used properly after sweeney and devenny finished up,when them three were together you knew they practised together anticipated runs etc. but since that you would have thought the inside men wern't practising with the men further out and this is where i felt Hegarty lost his way.But McGuinness has brought him back for a reason with a plan(something we havn't had in the past few years)and now it looks like wer back to the days of sweeney and devenny looking dangerous going forward.
21/07/2011 14:35:04
chucknorris

A true gentleman on and off the pitch, gaelp you wouldn't lace the man's boots
21/07/2011 20:14:37
JoeSoap

I have always thought Hegarty was the closest Donegal had to a Declan O'Sullivan type of player, my gripe with him was always that he did not demand the ball enough and he missed some easy scoring chances. On Sunday he finally proved what he's capable of. Ulster finals gone by when Hegarty would've missed a relatively easy chance like he did in the first half, he would've gone missing. This year he stood tall, I was particularly impressed with his defensive work and his 2nd point was a thing of pure joy to watch. Delighted for him!
21/07/2011 21:12:02
Samsforthehills

I'm sorry I forgot that an alright game and a good game on the bounce can excuse a decade of ineptness, cowardice and rubbish.

I dont know him as a person so i wont judge but as a player nothing short of pathetic when it usually really mattered. I was happy to see him finally do well on sunday though,
22/07/2011 13:18:43
onthewing

gaelp do you know anything about gaelic ?
22/07/2011 16:44:53
Butters

Some of them posts are ridculous!! R u people true Donegal supports or do ye just come out when donegal actually start playin well!! Michael Hegarty has been a brillant servant to Donegal football and deserves the sucess more than anyone on the panel!! He may of had one or two bad seasons but then again who hasn't in past 19 years!! Best passer and link man in a very long time!! Give him a break!! Its typical to put down players after little sucess!! Get behind da team and stamp out the negativity!! Donegal abu....
22/07/2011 20:09:20
benjyyy

Samsforthehills

I'm sorry I forgot that an alright game and a good game on the bounce can excuse a decade of ineptness, cowardice and rubbish.

I dont know him as a person so i wont judge but as a player nothing short of pathetic when it usually really mattered. I was happy to see him finally do well on sunday though,

What a joke you are. Hegarty has been a great servant to Donegal football and was one of the main reasons we had so many trips to croke park in the first half of the last decade and beyond. Show some bloody respect!
23/07/2011 12:08:48
81DLSAM

Have to say i'm disgusted at comments from Gaelp and samfor the hills. Heagerty has been a brilliant servant to Gaa in Donegal for god knows how many years. He is one of the most hard-working, committed, unselfish, and humble players you could ever watch or play against. He has played for many a manager and they knew his class, hence why they played him. Fair enough, he doesn't make the headlines in the games, nor is he the star player but he goes about his business in a professional manner with little or no fuss. We could do with more of him and i think young Mc Hugh has the same work ethic. The 2 of you, after him winning his first Ulster after how many years, scoring 2 points and playing fantastic, can only come up with comments like that, then i think it shows how negative and pathetic yous really are towards anyones success. If you have any decencey, yous would withdraw your comments, apologise and try and be positive in future (particularly after winning Ulster).
23/07/2011 12:55:09
whitejacket

Listen you are in a way all right. Yes he played very well on sunday and we are all happy about that. Now on the flip side i would say i could count on two hands were he has played well for donegal before this. When we drew the match against the dubs, i think 2002 he had a super game as well. Ever time after that commentators kept blowing his trumpet. Every time on the sunday game they kept comparing him to trevor Gilies. Well it was RTE! No in the same school never mind the class of trevor giles. But in football you are only as good as your last game so well done micheal and i hope to see more of it this year.
23/07/2011 16:17:25
HowManyStepsRef

Are you guys actually Donegal fans ? Honestly, i'm astonished at the comments towards one of our countys top players in the decade. When Donegal were having disciplinary problems, Michael Hegarty was as professional as ever, a true talent to watch, and hopefully he helps Donegal to more success in the next few years. Yous should take a good hard look at your comments, this is bullsh$t that such an excellent Donegal servant has been slandered like this.
23/07/2011 17:21:26
Lifford Gael

The usual Donegal bitching session....

Some of you lads need to get out more...too much time on your hands.....!

Typical Donegal.... a small bit of success and then the begrudgers come out of the woodwork like flies to sh**e!

Listen to yourselves!

Fair play Michael Hegarty.... delighted for you...an Ulster medal fully deserved!!

Result Pages:  1  
Page 1

please login or register to post a message