Home Football Hurling Counties

Donegal - Paddy McBrearty
please login or register to post a message

Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>]
Page 1

19/07/2011 20:31:12
extra

Lads, I was watching some of Kilcar's minor games last year on youtube and McBrearty was super from midfield, and half-forward...a strong runner and solid place kicker!! Himself and Murphy will tear up all before them in another number of years! I have huge admiration for Jim McGuinness, and hate criticising any inter county manager, but would Donegal not be better served in the open spaces of Croke Park with McBrearty's running from Half-forward? Stick Brick Molloy inside and have McHugh running a marathon, Hegarty controlling proceeding with McBrearty around Half-forward..I personally think the youngster is wasted inside.
19/07/2011 21:20:52
Samsforthehills

With respect I have an inkling that our manager knows best with what to do with a 17 year old lad in his debut senior season better than a supporter (albeit with good intentions) who has seen a couple of videos on you tube.
19/07/2011 21:48:34
Lifford Gael

extra:

What exactly do you mean by 'open spaces of Croke Park'? I've heard this phrase a few times and just wondered what exactly is meant by it???
20/07/2011 09:56:03
buckshot

The weird thing about it is that Croker is only about 2 metres longer and 4 metres wider than Clones
20/07/2011 10:16:24
dstuction

On the mcbrearty idea i dont think it a good idea but maybe in the future. At the moment donegal play a game designed for ryan bradley. He has been brilliant this year. I think the team will start the same in QF unless we draw a team without a big midfield.

Is that a fact about croker. It always feels massive when your there and proved the downfall of the sweeper system before.
20/07/2011 11:04:57
Spurious

Donegal's game is not designed for Ryan Bradley...That's quite a strang comment! The game plan is almost the same as was used for Glenties (when he trained them) and the under 21s. Ryan Bradley was not on any of those teams!

The gameplan is designed around fit players, sweepers and runners and the long ball into Murphy and McFadden.
20/07/2011 11:53:01
extra

Samforthehills, clearly Jim McGuinness knows best, it was a suggestion i put forward to just to gain peoples viewpoints. Obviously dstuction made a valid point when he said maybe in the future, as there is a difference between facing the Glenties minor defence and the Dublin Senior defence, but McBrearty is going to be a big star in the future i reckon, big, strong composed!! Both didnt he grab a goal and a couple of points from the 40 v Tyrone??
20/07/2011 11:56:41
extra

Lifford Gael, Croke park is a massive pitch, like Pairc Tailteann and Casement park!! The breadth and length of pitch is huge and so in every Championship game there, there will be always open spaces and the best teams exploit this space!!
20/07/2011 13:36:35
donegal789

Extra , you say that mcbrearty would be a good midfielder of half forward because of a video you seen on YouTube . But there is a massive difference between club minors and inter county football . in a few years maybe he could like what murphy is doing this year. He is still on 17 and learning the style of inter county football and being in the full forward line is probably his best position for him and his stronger position.
20/07/2011 15:24:55
dstuction

Obviously what i mean is players like bradley. He is getting up and down the field brilliantly and one of the only players breaking tackles the initial team mentioned talks about mc brearty in HF and Brick inside but then you'd be losing one of the more consistant players this year
20/07/2011 17:15:44
Lifford Gael

extra:

But Croke Park is not a massive pitch for the reasons outlined by others on this thread - its dimensions are in line with GAA pitches generally including Clones and Casement Park.

Its an illusion that it's a bigger pitch probably down to the camera angle from a height whenever games are televised on tv.

Therefore this whole thing about 'the wide open spaces of Croke Park' is nothing but a myth!!
20/07/2011 17:40:07
donegal1992

Never seen a better underage player than MC Brearty, lucky he's versatile, could play midfield or anywhere in forwards, once he gets a bit of experience , chf will be place for him
21/07/2011 13:27:47
extra

Lifford Gael, so can i mention the wide open spaces of Casment Park?? Also, McBrearty obviously has a massive future and its going to be hard for him to be dominating games this early, but surely he could be given a bit more freedom, than he already is. In my opinion he looks uncomfortabel inside, is that too with the level hes playing at or the position?? I also mentioned earlier that the difference between minor club and senior inter county is massive.
21/07/2011 16:03:41
dstuction

Doesnt he play full forward for kilcar? I know i seen him play midfield for minors last year and hf for under 21s this and he is good running with the ball but he is more dangerous inside where he can drift into space infront and swivel and shot
21/07/2011 16:51:25
B.Bap

The playing area at Mac Cumhaill Park is actually larger than Croke Park.
21/07/2011 17:00:04
smart92

Agree totally that bradley is a great forward had some excellent games for donegal this year,has really got himself into shape, on the mc brearty saga, i tought adrian hanlon filled this role very well he is a great play maker and when he gets the chance he can hit nice scores like we saw in the antrim game,he may even get a shout back after the roumers of others breaching diciplin, i think jim should take adrian hanlon back to the county set up,and start a fresh sheet if any one else steps out of line banish them cause i find it harsh the lad was let go and the other boys that have acted the wagg have'nt even been addressed,i only see brick as a super sub good lad to be taking on for the last 15-20mins but as for starting i think they should leave that to the lads that can be dangoures for the full 70min,what do you's think?!
21/07/2011 18:54:59
Spurious

What rumours are you on about? McBrearty played a few games at wing forward for Kilcar.
22/07/2011 09:33:16
YoungSal

Well done to Jim and his team, a great reward for a great job done in such a short time, lets push on from here, we are in bonus territory. A 100% penalty, contact made. Cannot access footage of the so called Derry penalty claims. A bit fed up with John Brennan's crib after the game, he around long enough to know that you don't get explanations from the GAA. Talking to a previous Derry manager after the game (PC) and absolutely no complaints. Unfair to single any particular Donegal player out as they are all committed to a system. Forget about injury time, if Derry were still there they wouldn't win, impossible to replace the Bradley brothers and very unfortunate for them. Speaking of Bradley's, a special mention of Ryan, first Inishowen man to win an Ulster medal (Des Newton is a Roscommon man after all). A great achievement and hopefully more to come.
22/07/2011 15:42:55
up_donegal

Agree that mc brearty is a great young player. senn him play a lot because he plays for my neighbouring club and I go to school with him. I think he needs to be protected though. if you watch the derry game his marker was trying to wind him up... something easily done because I know he doesnt have the calmest head. And its going to be hard for him to have the pressure of inter- county football ohn him while he does his leaving, so i think he's best kept in full forward for the time being.

About these rumours of players after the homecoming...... I think its best to believe that they are only rumours untl we hear something more official fro the county board / jim
24/07/2011 19:09:38
Samsforthehills

Up donegal - You refer to his marker the last day trying to 'wind him up' he enarly broke his jaw and the lack of comment afterwards was disgracefull. We can only but hope should McBrearty come on the end of another disgusting belt like that he'll spend the rest of the game as an extra man because that derry lad should have walked.

Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>]
Page 1

please login or register to post a message