17/07/2011 19:25:44
AudiMan County: Donegal Posts: 166
Let nobody forget the first time Jim Mc Guinness went for the Donegal manager's job, several members of the interview panel (donegal county committee officials at the time) were snickering at some of his answers during the interview and when he told them beforehand he wanted to use a laptop and projector, he was told "we are not into that". Who's laughing now! Well done Jim.
17/07/2011 20:47:19
jbrown County: Donegal Posts: 38
well done jim...you,ve shown that you knew more about football than the original interview board did...wheres all the detractors now who came on highland radio to berate you......well done lad
17/07/2011 20:49:17
fortyfive County: Tyrone Posts: 5200
John brennan asked me today which direction was Clones and the next question was where would you get a good aul Ulster fry around here , Old school I doubt JB could use a lap top but look what happened to Armagh a year after winning the All Ireland the used a symbol on the back of the shirt instead of focusing on the 15 men in front of them..... Always had time for Jim looks ten years younger without the beard lol .
17/07/2011 21:22:19
mickeylinden County: Monaghan Posts: 562
Jim has turned about 25 counties against donegal football a county that turned some of the greats of our sport takes as team and sets them up to play this rubbish they are sickening to watch trying to play a game which tyrone could play but donegal will never know how against the big guns.Will jim know what to do when gooch or bernard brogan running at him i think not.puke is not even the name for the drivel donegal play.
18/07/2011 09:11:12
chucknorris County: Donegal Posts: 86
A big congrats to every man woman and child from donegal, home or abroad. To jim and all mentors and team. Goodtimes
18/07/2011 09:35:24
wehaveher County: Donegal Posts: 123
Jim's only trying to please one county,Donegal.Some of those greats never won a thing.Every other year those 25 teams you mention would be capable of beating us,not any more.It's great to see a Donegal team playing with pride and passion for the jersey,something we hadn't seen in years. His aim at the start of the year was an Ulster title,now we're in bonus territory.Well done to Jim and the boys
18/07/2011 10:09:43
fatfrog County: Donegal Posts: 156
Didn't come on here to reply to a silly begruder, but it must have been a proud moment for the county bowing out to Offaly 1-18 to 1-10 on the 25th of June, if you played like us you there could be a very small glimmer of a chance you'd still be in the championship. Where is the Anglo Celt today.....
Anyways,
Jim McGuinness has to be applauded for what he has done in such a short period of time. Winning the Ulster is amazing but that aside. How he has "gelled" them boys together, how they play as a proper team, have belief in themselves, has the supporters genuinely supporting them again, brought a complete overhaulf of professionalisim to the county set up and answered all his critics especially those within the county. Well done Jim For the first time in a long time there is alot of guys and girls who are geniuinley proud for being from Donegal today and proud of our team. Keep it up and please God let them fools let you get on with the game and when we do eventually have a small slip up not to be thinking "is he the right man for the job???" Of course he is look what he has achieved in a few months give Jim time and god knows what he'll achieve for use with his lovely, beautiful, stylish, attaching "puke" football. Also nice to see a few boys swallow their pride last night on RTE. Tir connaill Abu
18/07/2011 12:02:31
donegael County: Donegal Posts: 122
@mickylinden (the monaghan man who cant find a Monaghan player worthy of taking their name for forums) What is your problem. The Anglo Celt is in Donegal. And you probably dont know but Donegl beat Tyrone along the way. You have derided Donegal after every game and hopefully you continue to do so for a few months yet. Maybe you feel we should do it the Monaghan way!
18/07/2011 13:35:49
smart92 County: Donegal Posts: 20
well done jim good work good preperation lads showed that today your self and rory have made a good job of the squad,hopefully after moday you can get them gatthered up and put a big push on at training for the quarther final, donegal arent finished at ulster i think!!gooluck!
18/07/2011 14:12:43
dieharddonegal County: Donegal Posts: 67
Anyone know if the dates for quarter finals are fixed yet or when we might be out again?
18/07/2011 14:45:44
HowManyStepsRef County: Donegal Posts: 246
The August bank holiday, double headers on the Sunday and the Monday. Back in Croker :)
18/07/2011 15:09:47
Pointer County: Donegal Posts: 1189
Well done Jim and the lads on a great win yesterday let the begrudgers cry all they want it's a new era in Donegal football and the Anglo Celt is back in the Hills after 19years win fair and square by the better team on the day.
18/07/2011 15:18:22
Gavmcfad County: Donegal Posts: 45
Is the quarter finals an open draw. I know we meet one of the 4 teams which came through the back door, but if Tyrone beat Armagh can we be drawn against them again.
18/07/2011 15:33:11
eunans4ever County: Donegal Posts: 564
Any1 know if the lads are on the lash still. I fancy a few pints meself
18/07/2011 16:02:29
Jamesie County: All Posts: 259
Firstly well done to Jim on turning around the team it seems a long time since that embarrassing day in Crossmaglen upwards and onwards lads!! Secondly I don't know what this mickylinden guy's problem is his hate for Donegal is unreal and he is using the style of play as cover sure he accused us of destroying Clones every time we played there this past 30 years get a grip man and stop stirring it up we are over the moon after yesterday and don't need your negative crap, most hated team in Ireland? wise up!
Also stayed over in Clones on Saturday night and went to every bar in the town and had a great night and not one bad word was said about Donegal folk in fact they had nothing but praise!
18/07/2011 17:22:27
HotFuzz County: Sligo Posts: 54
Well Done and Congrats to Donegal on yesterdays win. great for Ulster Football and the championship in general to see a different team get their day in the sun. Honestly think they could make at least the semi's if not a final. I remember reading an article before the start of the league where Jim said he felt he was managing a situation not a team with injuries and different problems they were having. What a turnaround.... Well done and the best of luck for the rest of the Championship.
18/07/2011 19:39:21
Curlew66 County: Roscommon Posts: 24
Your young manager showed great strength in refusing to alter tactics following a tsunami of criticism of your playing style .. he also drew the line at personal jibes aimed at his players, earning him much admiration in neutral quarters. He now has a v fit, hard-working,confident young team who appear comfortable on the ball while playing a measured/disciplined brand of football .. they also kicked 10 smart points from play (compares favourably with your total from play in Sept`92). None of the remaining teams are eager to draw Donegal in the last eight. Sometimes one feels that TV panelists tend to have very selective memories .. two such high profile pundits predicted in their Sunday tabloid columns "an ugly match with a record low score for an Ulster final" .. I will let two results speak for themselves. 1980 All-Ireland final KERRY 1.9 - ROSCOMMON 1.6 (when a certain Kerry player lay down for over two mins while his team-mates trailing by 5pts searched for his missing contact lens) 1993 Ulster final DERRY 0.8 - DONEGAL 0.6 (Youknowho`s first Anglo Celt medal). Well done again and best wishes for the quarter-finals.
18/07/2011 19:45:17
dllover County: Donegal Posts: 250
lets not forget Martin McHugh the silent Giant manager...he has Donegal and Kilcar flying
18/07/2011 21:35:57
fielder County: Donegal Posts: 55
Well done lads! great result! cant wait for croker!
19/07/2011 09:36:25
LKGael County: Donegal Posts: 95
Well done to Jim and the team - great result
In hindsight, Jim was lucky not to get the job when he went for it first time,. this allowed him to take the U21's , start to evolve a system of playing and identify talent.... sometimes these things work for you...
Keep up the good work
Result Pages: 1  2  [Next >>]
Page 1