Monaghan SHC final: 'Blayney back on top

August 07, 2017

Castleblayney's Ronan Meegan in action for Monaghan.
©INPHO/Presseye/Mark Pearce.

Castleblayney 1-17

Inniskeen 0-15

In one of the first county finals to be played this year, Castleblayney Faughs claimed their 13th Mick Quigley Cup since 2000 when they dethroned the holders Inniskeen at Clontibret yesterday.

'Blayney hit an unanswered 1-5 during the first half to take control with wing forward Shane Forde scoring the only goal in the 17th minute. They went on to lead by 1-10 to 0-6 at the break and Inniskeen - who defeated Monaghan Harps in last year's decider - were always playing catch-up after that.

With Ronan Meegan helping himself to 0-11 (0-9 from placed balls) and Donal Meegan also prominent, Inniskeen narrowed the gap in the second half, but a 0-8 haul from Hugh Byrne and impressive performances from Mark Treanor, Brian McGuigan and man of the match Fergal Rafter ensured 'Blayney of the spoils.

Castleblayney - P Collins; J Deasy, J McHugh, E Leonard; P Finnegan, P Treanor, B Connor; M Treanor (0-2), D Crowe (0-1); H Byrne (0-8f), B Flanagan, S Forde (1-0); F Rafter (0-3), F Finnegan, B McGuigan (0-3). Subs: N Adair for F Finnegan, S Lambe for S Forde, P Malone for F Rafter.

Inniskeen - G Ruddy; C Meegan, P Dowdall, P Garland; P Deery, M Murphy, PJ Boyle (0-1); D Meegan (0-2, 1f), TJ Byrne; R Meegan (0-11, 8f, 1'65), N Butler (0-1), P McGahon; T Meegan, D McGahon, T Hilliard. Subs: P Brooks for T Meegan, C Faul for P McGahon.

Referee - J McAndrew.


Most Read Stories