Dublin SHC final: Crokes prevail in extra-time

October 24, 2014

Kilmacud Crokes' Damien Kelly with Danny Sutcliffe of St Jude's.
©INPHO/Cathal Noonan.

Kilmacud Crokes 2-16
St Jude's 1-15

Goals were the key as Kilmacud Crokes captured their sixth Dublin SHC title at the expense of St Jude's after extra-time at Parnell Park this evening.

Inspired by county star Danny Sutcliffe - St Jude's were on the verge of a first success at this level as they led 0-14 to 1-9 with two minutes remaining. But Crokes were not giving up and scores from Sean McGrath (free) and Damien Kelly forced extra-time.

Crokes and captain McGrath picked up where they left off in the first period of extra-time when he found the net to put them five ahead - 2-13 to 0-14. Ross O'Carroll, who supplied the pass, was the scorer of the winners opening goal on 48 minutes.

St Jude's had it all to do in the second period of extra-time and were handed a lifeline when a Paul Maguire free found the net before Ronan Joyce quickly followed up to put three between the sides. However, a Ryan O'Dwyer effort in stoppage time ensured victory for Ollie Baker's side.

Kilmacud Crokes - M Collins; N Corcoran, Rory O'Carroll, J Clinton; C MacGabhann (0-1), J Doughan, B O'Carroll; D Mulligan (0-1), D Kelly (0-1); Ross O'Carroll (1-0), R O'Dwyer (0-2), C Conway (0-1); B O'Rorke (0-1), S McGrath (1-6, 0-4f, 0-1'65), O O'Rorke (0-1). Subs: J Sweeney (0-1) for O O'Rorke, J Burke (0-1) for C Conway, R O'Loughlin for Rory O'Carroll, B O Leidhin for B O'Rorke, B Mulligan for B O'Carroll, C Clinton for D Mulligan, R Walsh for D Kelly.

St Jude's - G Nolan; E McLoughlin, G McManus, C Mangan; R Hardy, A O'Beirne, R O'Brien; P Maguire (1-0f), N Mangan; R Joyce (0-1), D Sutcliffe (0-3), M McGuire; F O Riain Broin (0-10, 9f), T Devlin, J McManus (0-1). Subs: J Ryan for M McGuire, S Larkin for R O'Brien, P Aylward for N Mangan, A McGovern for J McManus, V Walsh for P Aylward.

Referee - D Harrington.



Most Read Stories