Waterford Crystal Cup: Treaty rout students

January 11, 2014

Limerick's Cathal McNamara with Shane Healy of IT Tralee.
©INPHO/Donall Farmer.
Limerick 10-17
IT Tralee 0-9

TJ Ryan's reign as Limerick hurling manager began with a facile victory over IT Tralee in Rathkeale last night.

After falling behind twice in the opening eight minutes, the Munster champions took complete control to crush the students and set up a semi-final meeting with All-Ireland champions Clare next weekend.

The home side never looked back after Graeme Mulcahy got the goal rush underway in the ninth minute. Donal O'Grady, who has been reappointed captain for this year, and John Fitzgibbon added two more in the space of 60 seconds before Paul Browne and Mulcahy added further majors to leave the Treaty perched on a 5-10 to 0-6 lead at the break.

Four of IT Tralee's first half points came from the stick of new Kerry captain John Egan, three frees and one '65'.

It continued to be one-way traffic in the second half as Fitzgibbon and Mulcahy brought their tallies to 2-7 and 3-1 respectively.

Limerick: B Hennessy; S Walshe, P O'Loughlin, R English (0-1); W McNamara, C McNamara, G O'Mahony; P Browne (2-2), P O'Brien; W Hickey (1-1), D O'Grady (2-2), J Ryan (0-2); G Mulcahy (3-1), M Ryan, J Fitzgibbon (2-7, 0-5 frees). Subs: D Kennedy for M Ryan (half-time), B Lynch for W McNamara (53 mins), N Quaid (0-1) for O'Brien (55 mins).

IT Tralee: N Delaney; S Lynch, A Fealy, C Farrell; B Murphy, M Cleary, J Walsh; C McDonnell (0-1) , K Carmody; S Healy (0-1), G O'Grady (0-1), C Harty (0-2); G O'Doherty, D Wallace, Kerry, J Egan (0-4, three frees). Subs: N Lynch for S Lynch (41 mins), D Nolan for O'Doherty (45 mins), A Gavin, for McDonnell (56 mins).

Referee: F Horgan (Tipperary).

Most Read Stories