A combined Dublin/Meath team!!

This is mine - No bias ;) - Any complaints ?

-----------------------------Stephen Cluxton-------------------------------

Donal Keoghan-----------------Kevin Reilly--------------------Johnny Cooper

James McCarthy---------------Cian O'Sullivan------------------Jack McCaffrey

-------------Michael Darragh MacAuley---Shane O'Rourke---------------------

Paul Flynn--------------------Alan Brogan---------------------Stephen Bray--

Cormac Costello------------Diarmuid Connolly-------------------Bernard Brogan

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 02/07/2014 18:18:43    1612792

Stephen Cluxton or Paddy O'ROurke -> Paddy O'Rourke

Donal Keoghan or Philly McMahon -. Donal Keoghan
Kevin Reilly or Rory O'Carroll - Kevin Reilly
Eoghan Harrington or Johnny Cooper - Johnny Cooper

Padraic Harnan or James McCarthy -> James McCarthy
Bryan Menton or Nicky Devereux -> Nicky Devereux
Donnacha Tobin or Kevin Nolan -> Donnacha Tobin

Brian Meade or MD McAuley -> MD McAuley
Shane O'Rourke -> Cian O'Sullivan -> Shane O'Rourke

Graham Reilly or Paul Flynn -> Paul Flynn
Damian Carroll or Dean Rock -> Damian Carroll
Andy Tormey or Diarmuid Connolly -> Diarmuid Connolly

Bryan McMahon or Paul Mannion -> Bryan McMahon
Stephen Bray or Kevin McMenamin -> Stephen Bray
Dalton McDonagh or Alan Brogan -> Dalton McDonagh

Former_Poster (Meath) - Posts: 394 - 02/07/2014 18:28:44    1612801

Stephen bray at 12? No if anywhere 14. I'd replace a brogan with Andy tormey. And Flynn with biggy.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/07/2014 18:30:16    1612802

Flynn with Biggy ? Hahaha

See this is what i love about you RD, You give us a serious laugh.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 02/07/2014 18:34:17    1612807

got to hand it to ye guys. the leinster final is more than 2 weeks away and there are 3 related dublin meath threads.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1949 - 02/07/2014 18:35:02    1612808

1. Stephen Cluxton

2. Philly McMahon
3. Rory O'Carroll
4. Johnny Cooper

5. James McCarthy
6. Ger Brennan
7. Jack McCaffrey

8. Michael Dara McAuley
9. Cian O'Sullivan

10. Paul Flynn
11. Alan Brogan
12. Diarmuid Connolly

13. Paul Mannion
14. Bernard Brogan
15. Cormac Costello

Subs:
Deveraux
Currie
Nolan
Daly
Fitzsimons
Bastic
McManamon
Rock
O'Gara
Andrews

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13725 - 02/07/2014 18:48:10    1612816

Former Poster......

You chose so many meath boys over Dubs that you must be fancying meath for the All Ireland never mind Leinster! Hilarious!

Graham Reilly is the only Meath boy that might get in the current Dublin team!

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 02/07/2014 18:52:33    1612819

Feck it, If we dont promote it noone will ;)

It's Dublin and Meath, One of the GAA's historical BIG rivalries.

May aswell have people talk about it.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 02/07/2014 18:53:40    1612820

kiloughter

got to hand it to ye guys. the leinster final is more than 2 weeks away and there are 3 related dublin meath threads.

You gotta give the people what they want :-)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 02/07/2014 18:56:44    1612823

Who would disagree with JayP? If I was a Dub, I'd be worried about the form of some of the players.

Former_Poster (Meath) - Posts: 394 - 02/07/2014 19:03:27    1612829

You gotta give the people what they want :-)

This is it man. This is exactly it.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 02/07/2014 19:06:11    1612830

1 Cluxton
2 Keoghan
3 O'Carroll
4 Cooper
5 McCarthy
6 O'Sullivan
7 McCaffrey
8 MacAuley
9 Flynn
10 Reilly
11 Brogan
12 Connolly
13 Costelllo
14 Bray
15 Bernard Brogan
thats team I'd be picking if i had both Meath and Dublin players available for selection

stekhli (Dublin) - Posts: 3121 - 02/07/2014 19:12:17    1612833

Stephen Cluxton or Paddy O'ROurke -> Paddy O'Rourke

Donal Keoghan or Philly McMahon -. Donal Keoghan
Kevin Reilly or Rory O'Carroll - Kevin Reilly
Eoghan Harrington or Johnny Cooper - Johnny Cooper

Padraic Harnan or James McCarthy -> James McCarthy
Bryan Menton or Nicky Devereux -> Nicky Devereux
Donnacha Tobin or Kevin Nolan -> Donnacha Tobin

Brian Meade or MD McAuley -> MD McAuley
Shane O'Rourke -> Cian O'Sullivan -> Shane O'Rourke

Graham Reilly or Paul Flynn -> Paul Flynn
Damian Carroll or Dean Rock -> Damian Carroll
Andy Tormey or Diarmuid Connolly -> Diarmuid Connolly

Bryan McMahon or Paul Mannion -> Bryan McMahon
Stephen Bray or Kevin McMenamin -> Stephen Bray
Dalton McDonagh or Alan Brogan -> Dalton McDonagh

This is a thread combining players from both sides and you can pick who you like of course. Presumably you are comparing the two teams that started their respective games against Kildare (Meath) and Wexford (Dublin) which is your choice, But if you could pick from both squads including subs/injured players, Who would you pick then ? Presumably Bernard would be there ?

In all your picks there i've only one MAJOR gripe really and its the goalkeeper, Stephen Cluxton is better than Paddy O'Rourke. Stephen Cluxton gives alot more to Dublin than just kicking over a few frees and stopping shots.

I agree that Keoghan is a better man marker than Philly, I also agree that Kevin Reilly (in my view anyway) pips Rory O'Carroll (Just, picture finish between the two), wouldnt agree with Donnacha Tobin but not a major issue, Cian O'Sullivan is technically a CHB, So again i can see the reasoning behind SOR inclusion, Hence why i also picked SOR and dropped Cian to CHB. Damian Carroll over Rock (Considering Rock has only started one game) is again fair enough, wouldnt get into arguments over that. I suppose Dalton McDonagh over Alan Brogan is one that doesnt sit right but Alan hasnt had a great year so far, Then again like SOR he has been out for some time..

Interesting picks though, Naturally you will get alot of Dubs shooting you down but im sure there is logic in your mind behind your picks even if we may not agree on some of them.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 02/07/2014 19:14:35    1612835

Who would disagree with JayP? If I was a Dub, I'd be worried about the form of some of the players.

Like who ?

We've won our last 4 competitive games (V Cork, Derry, Laois and Wexford) by margins of 7 or more.

I do agree we have not played fantastically well in comparison to this time last year maybe, But its about building up to our peak and not peaking too soon.

I'm not overly worried about anyones performances so far, I think they will all need to improve for Meath (And any team we play after wether that be in the All Ireland QF or Qualifiers) but thats natural as the summer progresses for top teams to improve bit by bit.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 02/07/2014 19:18:39    1612837

Stek, Impressive team, But i'll say what i said before, Dont get the biggy fascination, I honestly dont rate the guy at IC level. Never produces worldies against top teams (Kildare are not a top team)

And ive seen on the Meath forum one or two saying he either bucks up performance wise or he gets dropped.

But anyway, Thats your view. You're entitled to it. Wouldnt have Biggy there myself personally.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 02/07/2014 19:21:04    1612838

I do enjoy the dublin meath rivalry. it is huge although no where near as historical and long standing as galway mayo or cork kerry. in fact dublin meath really only came into its own from 1983ish onwards in terms of regularity even though there have been many great duels since.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1949 - 02/07/2014 21:52:06    1612955

kiloughter

To be fair Leinster is more of a mine field with 11 teams so Meath v Dublin probably hasn't happened as often as other great fixtures like Cork v Kerry or Mayo v Galway but still we've played each over 60 times in championship football dating way back to 1894 so it's historical enough in fairness.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 02/07/2014 21:59:36    1612960

The Dublin Region is big enough already! With a city and 3 counties, ye hardly need to absorb another county!? Would many players from Kildare and Wicklow make a Greater Dublin Area XV?

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7915 - 03/07/2014 09:16:12    1612976

I would bring in K Reilly and drop Philly McMahon.
Stick ROC corner back, sure most teams play with 2 full forwards now anyway.

Cluxton
ROC Reilly Cooper
McCarthy Deveraux McCaffrey
MDMA COS
Flynn Brogan Dermo
Brogan Mannion Costello

Any 6 of - Bray, Shane O'R, Rock, Kev Mac, O'Gara, Nolan, Newmann, Andrews, Keoghan, Carroll, Bastic

The lads picking mainly Meath players must be smoking something, Dublin are the best team in the counrty. I wouldnt swap more than 5 of them with Mayo, Donegal, Cork, Kerry, Monaghan or Tyrone so why would people think 5+ of the Meath lads would get into the team.

GAAHattrick (Dublin) - Posts: 278 - 03/07/2014 09:50:15    1612989

No real complaints Wayno,but I would have Newman in for sure,probably ahead of Alan Brogan,Brogan may not be the same player since his injury and is getting older.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 03/07/2014 09:55:13    1612993