Jack O'Shea comments on Ciaran Kilkenny

I don't care what Jack O'Shea has done in the game but its an absolute disgrace for him to come out and publically criticize Ciaran Kilkenny who is one of the best young dual players in the country, to call him a "junior footballer" when he is a young player who has a lot of pressure on him while trying to break through at the top level is disgraceful. He is obviously just jealous that Dublin are producing better quality young players than Kerry and he just had to give a distasteful dig. No player is going to be perfect when they have just gotten onto a senior county panel.

hurlingexpert (Clare) - Posts: 1941 - 14/06/2013 11:34:36    1406368

bad form by o shea .seems like cute kerry tactics to me .

liffo (Offaly) - Posts: 649 - 14/06/2013 11:44:42    1406377

I don't know why he is having a go at Ciaran Kilkenny, But Ciaran isn't too concerned about It and seems to have a thick skin about the whole thing so that's good to see. Suppose everyone is entitled to their "opinion"

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 14/06/2013 11:45:53    1406378

hurlingexpert
County: Clare

I don't care what Jack O'Shea has done in the game but its an absolute disgrace for him to come out and publically criticize Ciaran Kilkenny who is one of the best young dual players in the country, to call him a "junior footballer" when he is a young player who has a lot of pressure on him while trying to break through at the top level is disgraceful. He is obviously just jealous that Dublin are producing better quality young players than Kerry and he just had to give a distasteful dig. No player is going to be perfect when they have just gotten onto a senior county panel.

Whatever his reason for his stupid comments, I doubt Jacko has much to be jealous about of Dublin .....

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 14/06/2013 11:48:06    1406384

Can anyone post a link to exactly what he said?

unclegerry (Mayo) - Posts: 1223 - 14/06/2013 11:48:50    1406386

I would have my suspicions about this. I have had enough experience of journalists to know that I would like to hear Jack's version of events before jumping to conclusions.
If what was reported is accurate the it is not alone poor form but inaccurate as well. Kilkenny is a fine young player who has a great future in the game.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 14/06/2013 11:49:53    1406389

Great player

A we bit harsh on Ciaran...

Although he has it all to prove

AS HE SAID HIMSELF.. If Jack feels the urge to comment perhaps he could get in contact?

Sounds like Ciaran is only too happy to take his comments on board and listen to his advice

Clever lad.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 14/06/2013 11:51:13    1406392

When I said "Great Player" - I was talkgnn about Jack

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 14/06/2013 11:52:28    1406396

Thought Ciarán's response was very level headed and mature, would have been easy, and tempting, to bite back. Jacko was bang out of order and should know better. Singling out a young player, who is a damn fine player, for comments like that smacks of sh*te stirring. If that was an ex-Dublin player slagging off a young Kerry player.... imagine the outrage.....and I say that as a culchie. Well done CK, stay above the sh*te-talk and prove you have better class.

commander (Kildare) - Posts: 225 - 14/06/2013 11:55:09    1406399

Well said commander

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 14/06/2013 11:57:35    1406405

commander

1406399 Thought Ciarán's response was very level headed and mature, would have been easy, and tempting, to bite back. Jacko was bang out of order and should know better. Singling out a young player, who is a damn fine player, for comments like that smacks of sh*te stirring. If that was an ex-Dublin player slagging off a young Kerry player.... imagine the outrage.....and I say that as a culchie. Well done CK, stay above the sh*te-talk and prove you have better class.

Fair play to you.

Decent bit of sense you have there.. it's rare around here and deserves to be highlighted. :)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 14/06/2013 11:58:13    1406406

That is harsh (plus 100% untrue) from O'Shea. If Ciaran Kilkenny is a "junior footballer", what does that make any young Kerry forward? None of them would be fit to lace his boots.

Fair play to Kilkenny for being the bigger man and refusing to get into a war of words. A classy response from a class young man.

mayoboy1 (Mayo) - Posts: 1654 - 14/06/2013 12:00:30    1406410

Good defending there jimbo, I'd say you were a tight
corner back in your day. lol

We should wait until we know what Jack said exactly,
before judging him. As for Kilkenny, he's a class act,
full stop.

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 14/06/2013 12:02:02    1406414

TheGateKeeper

1406414 jimbodub

Good defending there jimbo, I'd say you were a tight
corner back in your day. lol

We should wait until we know what Jack said exactly,
before judging him. As for Kilkenny, he's a class act,
full stop.
______

I was clueless in the backs.. centre half forward in my day

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 14/06/2013 12:04:44    1406419

Lads this has really annoyed me , how could he say that about a 19 year old kid? Totally out of order from O Shea , even if he does or doesn't make it in the game he should never have said that it's an absolute disgrace. Ciaran Kilkenny is one of the nicest fella's you'll ever meet he's a credit to the Gaa , Jack O Shea very disappointed in you.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 14/06/2013 12:05:05    1406422

1406422 Lads this has really annoyed me , how could he say that about a 19 year old kid? Totally out of order from O Shea , even if he does or doesn't make it in the game he should never have said that it's an absolute disgrace. Ciaran Kilkenny is one of the nicest fella's you'll ever meet he's a credit to the Gaa , Jack O Shea very disappointed in you.
________

Follow the same logic as Ciaran...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 14/06/2013 12:08:20    1406426

If what Jacko said is 100 percent accurate then Ciaran's response shows a lot of class and maturity. Best way to answer critisism is on the field and I have no doubts young Kilkenny will do just that

dubupnorth (Dublin) - Posts: 1897 - 14/06/2013 12:09:19    1406428

Plus

Thegatekeeper is right..

Jack O'Shea has no problem with the Dubs...I've seen him at a few Dub games standing on the hill

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 14/06/2013 12:10:18    1406430

Lads this has really annoyed me , how could he say that about a 19 year old kid? Totally out of order from O Shea , even if he does or doesn't make it in the game he should never have said that it's an absolute disgrace. Ciaran Kilkenny is one of the nicest fella's you'll ever meet he's a credit to the Gaa , Jack O Shea very disappointed in you.

Clondalkin

I awaited you response to this, I can nearly see the smoke coming from your keyboard pal ha ha ..

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 14/06/2013 12:18:43    1406439

I can't believe he said that about a 19 year old player starting out in the game Waynol, give the kid a chance FFs Jacko. I'll just have to calm down and think happy thoughts (Anna Geary)

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 14/06/2013 12:24:03    1406441