David Coldrick to referee the All Ireland Final

Well lads what do ye think? Very capable referee I think. Should do a very good job and it's very doubtful there will be any dodgy decisions made in the final.

Jimin10 (Meath) - Posts: 783 - 01/09/2010 19:28:33    762867

Referee's not making to many dodgy decisions umpire's feckin up

DABLACKSPOT (Westmeath) - Posts: 551 - 01/09/2010 19:36:44    762871

Hopefully all goes well for him

Best of luck David.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 01/09/2010 19:45:48    762878

gonna reserve judgement considering the poor level of refereeing and officiating in general so far this year

b.mullins (Dublin) - Posts: 1413 - 01/09/2010 19:52:32    762882

Meath man and Cork are playing.....em i will hold back on my judgement :)

rebeltrev (Cork) - Posts: 344 - 01/09/2010 19:57:37    762887

y rebeltrev,whats wrong with him being meath

squareball_99 (Down) - Posts: 55 - 01/09/2010 20:29:37    762927

01/09/2010 19:28:33
Jimin10

762867 Well lads what do ye think? Very capable referee I think. Should do a very good job and it's very doubtful there will be any dodgy decisions made in the final.

Yeah-should be ok-lives far enough away from both counties not to be unduly influenced into giving handy frees or maknig teams have to work hard to win one

GrizzlyAdams (Tyrone) - Posts: 576 - 01/09/2010 20:35:26    762935

Good choice Down to win by a touch down

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 01/09/2010 20:54:12    762946

squareball_99
County: Down

762927 y rebeltrev,whats wrong with him being meath

Well we have a bit rivalry with Meath going back to the end of the 80's. He should be fine but some of the decisions made by Refs this year have been shocking so we will wait and see.

rebeltrev (Cork) - Posts: 344 - 01/09/2010 20:58:38    762950

rebeltrev,

I hear he has a sister married to one of the McCartans !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 01/09/2010 20:59:05    762951

Very good choice!! Meath men tend to let it be a mans game!!

wise_guy (Tyrone) - Posts: 1584 - 01/09/2010 21:04:38    762960

Cavan_Slasher

762951 rebeltrev,

I hear he has a sister married to one of the McCartans !!

I hope your just winding me up....:)

rebeltrev (Cork) - Posts: 344 - 01/09/2010 21:07:20    762967

rebeltrev,

met David with her a few times in a pub in Rostrevor !! After a few pints he is a great man for singing "The Star of the County Down" and "The Mountains of Mourne"!!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 01/09/2010 21:14:54    762980

best of luck to david on the 3rd sunday this month a huge honour for his club blackhall gaels

pa1 (Meath) - Posts: 9 - 01/09/2010 21:23:31    762994

Only joking rebeltrev, sleep well !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 01/09/2010 21:44:40    763029

Good luck to the man. I hope he does well.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13846 - 01/09/2010 21:53:12    763045

He was great in Galaxy quest!

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 02/09/2010 09:19:50    763087

Down have never lost an All Ireland Final.
Cork have never won an All Ireland Final when David Coldrick has reffed it.
Let's hope tradition is the winner here ;-)

Good luck David

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 02/09/2010 09:20:06    763088

Good luck to David

MARNELL (Westmeath) - Posts: 728 - 02/09/2010 09:42:50    763099

A good referee amd I hope all goes well for him.I've seen him do a few games and he's one of the best in the business.Good umpires too. There's some very good up and coming referees but people seem to focus on the bad performances rather than the good ones. I mean, there has been over 60 games in the championship this year and the majority of them have passed off without any glitches, yet sadly it's the admittedly high profile mistakes that continuallly get highlighted.
That said, it's been the best championship I think I've ever seen. Some very entertaining games. Maybe mistakes by the referees are part of the GAA's plan to make it exciting for us punters!!

Trenchman (Waterford) - Posts: 114 - 02/09/2010 11:48:03    763213