Fair play TG4

I just heard that sky have the rights to the Limerick v Clare munster semi final. I think that's a disgrace. An amateur game on pay per view. If its on sky it should be on ordinary tv as as well. tg4 rte. A munster semi final is a massive game and its not right that everyone cant watch it. The GAA are gone money mad in the last few years.

wd45 (Westmeath) - Posts: 211 - 24/03/2017 09:21:00    1970606

Replying To Bon:  "Couldn't agree with you more, well said."
Thats very true, I always tell myself i haven't got a word but Sunday i sat down with my cousin who is fluent in irish and understood nearly every bit of the analysis. Usually when i'm watching in TG4 id get up and make a cup of tea and i'd analyse the game with whoever was with me but i made the effort sunday and i ended up learning something about myself haha

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 24/03/2017 09:37:19    1970610

Sundays Gaa Beo;

Live game Football

Monaghan v Dublin

Live game hurling

Galway v Waterford

Deferred game hurling

Clare v Dublin

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 28/03/2017 12:07:00    1972198

Replying To wd45:  "I just heard that sky have the rights to the Limerick v Clare munster semi final. I think that's a disgrace. An amateur game on pay per view. If its on sky it should be on ordinary tv as as well. tg4 rte. A munster semi final is a massive game and its not right that everyone cant watch it. The GAA are gone money mad in the last few years."
Whats this thread have to do with sky, its about tg4, anyway its not our devine right to see all these matches for free, thats my opinion on it, all premier league matches are on subscription channels, but theres no outcry about seeing man utd and liverpool on free tv,

TrevorPhillips (Cork) - Posts: 28 - 28/03/2017 21:56:06    1972559

Whats this thread have to do with sky, its about tg4, anyway its not our devine right to see all these matches for free, thats my opinion on it, all premier league matches are on subscription channels, but theres no outcry about seeing man utd and liverpool on free tv,

TrevorPhillips (Cork) - Posts:10 - 28/03/2017 21:56:06 1972559

Whats the big difference between watching man utd v Liverpool and watching Dublin v Kerry on sky for example. The soccer players get paid, the gaa lads don't. That is my problem with GAA on sky. The spectators have to pay to watch it yet the players get nothing.

wd45 (Westmeath) - Posts: 211 - 29/03/2017 07:15:03    1972615

But our games still have to be able to compete with professional sports regardless if our players are amateurs so your point is moot.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 29/03/2017 13:32:42    1972743

But our games still have to be able to compete with professional sports regardless if our players are amateurs so your point is moot.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts:3393 - 29/03/2017 13:32:42 1972743

So we will just say if Mayo V Kerry All-Ireland semi-final was on sky box office and you had to pay 25 euro to watch would you still be singing the same tune.

If sky want to broadcast games that's fine but the games they get should be on rte as well.

wd45 (Westmeath) - Posts: 211 - 29/03/2017 14:08:08    1972767

I hate to break it to yis lads but RTE is not free.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 29/03/2017 14:11:05    1972770

Its a lot cheaper than sky and everyone has it. not everyone has sky.

wd45 (Westmeath) - Posts: 211 - 30/03/2017 09:07:36    1973017

Replying To wd45:  "Its a lot cheaper than sky and everyone has it. not everyone has sky."
Until other providers came into the market RTE only televised a few matches.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 30/03/2017 12:21:22    1973101

Replying To Htaem:  "I always hear this old chestnut of 'TG4 coverage is great, fairplay to them', but what makes it great? I mean the show to game alright, that's grand, but so does RTE, Eir, Sky etc etc. All I want to see is the game and preferably in a language I understand, which is not Irish!

Ps, no I'm not going to learn a language I have no interest in just so I can understand an Irish commentator, seriously life is busy enough, I have too much shít on for that!"
shouldn't be too difficult. I did Irish for 5 years at school in Tyrone many years ago and I can keep up with commentaries in Irish quite easily. It's only sports coverage, with a lot of recurrent phrases - and the on-screen action is a bit of a clue. Makes me laugh all the wailing and crying down South from crypto-Unionists about the 'difficult' Irish language; get over yourselves ffs

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 30/03/2017 12:48:22    1973114

They always televised a Munster shc semi-final and the 4 quarter finals. Every year SKY seems to be getting bigger games.

wd45 (Westmeath) - Posts: 211 - 30/03/2017 12:58:54    1973119

Replying To wd45:  "Whats this thread have to do with sky, its about tg4, anyway its not our devine right to see all these matches for free, thats my opinion on it, all premier league matches are on subscription channels, but theres no outcry about seeing man utd and liverpool on free tv,

TrevorPhillips (Cork) - Posts:10 - 28/03/2017 21:56:06 1972559

Whats the big difference between watching man utd v Liverpool and watching Dublin v Kerry on sky for example. The soccer players get paid, the gaa lads don't. That is my problem with GAA on sky. The spectators have to pay to watch it yet the players get nothing."
players being amateurs and not being paid is irrelevant to the broadcasting rights going to sky. the funds go back to the gaa and are distributed to clubs (who the players are members of).

players being amateurs and not being paid is relevant to any commercial revenue the gaa get off their back. my point being it is irrelevant if it is rte or sky. there seems to be an obsession with anti skyism!

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1829 - 30/03/2017 13:15:45    1973131

The problem is that the GAA go on about promoting the games and getting people more involved, yet they now have some of there games televised by sky which rules out a lot of people from watching it.

Also premier league players get paid by there clubs which a large % is coming from sky.
Gaa players play games on sky and get nothing. Can you not see the difference.

wd45 (Westmeath) - Posts: 211 - 30/03/2017 13:36:13    1973142

Where would us Gaa lovers be without TG4? Sat down last night to watch both Leinster and Munster finals online brilliant stuff. Also Kerry are coming with some freakishly good players, they'll be soon dominating again once the old guard get out of the way. Come on Tagh take these lads to Oz so we all have a chance , start off by taking Clifford good man.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 30/03/2017 14:01:57    1973157

Replying To Htaem:  "I always hear this old chestnut of 'TG4 coverage is great, fairplay to them', but what makes it great? I mean the show to game alright, that's grand, but so does RTE, Eir, Sky etc etc. All I want to see is the game and preferably in a language I understand, which is not Irish!

Ps, no I'm not going to learn a language I have no interest in just so I can understand an Irish commentator, seriously life is busy enough, I have too much shít on for that!"
You ask what makes it great?

They provide coverage to the best competitions
- County Finals
- Provincial Club Championships
- Under 21 Championships
- National League
- Minor Finals

These are generally competitive and genuine GAA followers will be interest in games at this level. Hence the appreciation

RTE and Sky really kick in for the crap stuff - the drumming's of the Championship months (May - July)
While they have coverage of the biggest games of the year (Aug-Sept) there's too little matches during this period so the general consensus gives thanks to what TG4 show, rather than how well they show it

I think you have a good point about the language - but I reckon the ratings are high and there's no way TG4 will turn its back on a large part of their purpose to exist.

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 30/03/2017 14:11:50    1973167

Don't forget new laochra gael programmes annually.

The Pete Finnerty one was very good last night.

Donal óg Cusack's programme was excellent too. Looking forward to Tommy Walsh (Kilkenny).

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 30/03/2017 14:22:52    1973173

Have always been a huge fan of TG4 and their coverage even though I have no more than a cupla focail myself. They are seriously committed to showing games at all levels, and I would love it if they somehow got hold of some championship games

And to be honest, I'd rather listen to analysis I only half understand than listen to anything Brolly or Spillane have to say

petejoeduff (Donegal) - Posts: 329 - 30/03/2017 15:26:49    1973200

Replying To petejoeduff:  "Have always been a huge fan of TG4 and their coverage even though I have no more than a cupla focail myself. They are seriously committed to showing games at all levels, and I would love it if they somehow got hold of some championship games

And to be honest, I'd rather listen to analysis I only half understand than listen to anything Brolly or Spillane have to say"
Ha ha! That's true re. the three bores Brolly, Rourke and Spillane. You pick up the few words PeteJoe.

I can't understand anyone cribbing about the Irish language. As another poster said most of it is repetitive language used every game. You'll gradually learn more too, it's not rocket science. Anyways if your into the national games it's a fairly logical progression to try and master the mother tongue at it's most basic.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 30/03/2017 17:06:37    1973240

I see tg4 are live streaming Kildare v galway.

A bit strange considering that it's essentially a dead rubber if Kildare rest players which could definitely happen.

Why not stream a division 1 game? There's something to play for in each of the 4 division 1 games.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 31/03/2017 17:34:56    1973650