Official Connacht Football Championship Thread

Would love to see a Connaught team make it to the semi finals! The province needs a boost! Any chance of Leitrim beating Sligo??

sashman (Kildare) - Posts: 465 - 11/05/2011 11:31:16    928210

927533 The Connaght championship will make interesting viewing this year, with sligo and the sheep stealers improving, and mayo and galway firmly in transition. Connaght and ulster are probably the most open provinces this year. I believe mayo will go in as slight favorites but in truth there isnt a huge amount in it. It remains to be seen whether sligo or ross can manage to reproduce their best form outside of connaght and this is a shame. Dont forget sligo had kerry all but beaten only a couple of years ago, but for a last minute penalty miss. They are capable of a big performance and could easily take a large scalp when playing well

Mayo in transition? Transition from what,i dont ever remember them being a quality team to be in transition from!

laser (Galway) - Posts: 230 - 11/05/2011 11:39:06    928217

laser

Ray Silke didnt think so when he referenced Mayo as a source of inspiration when they won the All Ireland in 1998.

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 11/05/2011 11:57:55    928241

laser, like it or lump it, mayo have been the best team in connaght over the last decade. Many of the guys who were in that team have now retired. The ones who have replaced them are young lads with potential, hence the transition.

Do you understand the word transition?
The dubs are on here lambasting connaght football and a galway poster tries to start an argument with a mayo poster...

So connollydub, it is now connaght minus galway that you have the issue with, even though galway's recent returns in connaght has been well below par. So galway are above the standard of the others, yet dont win the title. How can that be possible? Some fantastic reasoning on your part. Furthermore, why not remove cork and kerry from muster? or meath and dublin from leinster? It kinda defeats the purpose doesnt it?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 11/05/2011 13:02:42    928304

I'm getting dangerously precious about the Connacht championship reading some of these replies. Personally I can't see a team from our province getting their hands on Sam in September, which is a great shame, but it is just the way it goes sometimes, but I think it will be competitive championship. And there are some good footballing sides and some excellent footballers that will be busting a gut for their county.

I was chatting to a young fella in his early 30's a few years back when Sligo won Connacht. I don't think I've ever seen a happier man at a sporting event (though I have applied for women's beach volleyball tickets in the London Olympics next year) as he saw his county win the cup for the first time in his life. It took the pain of defeat from me straight away.

And add the prospect of a trip over the border to watch a Galway v Mayo match makes a great day. I know there's a rivalry between our counties, but the Mayo lads are good craic and the team play good football.

Up the West.

Wests_Awake (Galway) - Posts: 877 - 11/05/2011 14:25:57    928385

the master, mayo have not been the best team in connacht in the last decade.
Mayo have 3 senior connacht titles in the last decade,
Galway have 5!

laser (Galway) - Posts: 230 - 11/05/2011 15:16:33    928428

From the neutral perspective there should be 2 to 3 highly-competitive matches in Connacht this year. I'd give a slight nod to Mayo to win. I can see them edging Galway in a semi-final in Castlebar and then going on to beat Sligo in the provincial decider.

A probable Mayo and Galway clash in the semi-finals should be as ultra-competitive as ever. Mayo look a little stronger to me at the moment but it will be interesting to see how many of Galway's under-21 side are called into O'Flatharta's championship squad and maybe even force their way into the starting fifteen. On the other side I think Sligo have enough to beat Leitrim at home and then turn the tables on Roscommon from their defeat to the same opposition in last year's provincial decider.

I can easily see one other Connacht representative, probably Galway joining Mayo at the last eight stage.

eviemonkey (Cork) - Posts: 308 - 11/05/2011 15:49:34    928456

laser, don't be blinding The Master with cold hard facts now, will ya.

Gaillimh abú.

Wests_Awake (Galway) - Posts: 877 - 11/05/2011 16:21:38    928481

Im sorry west awake. Things have gone very quiet though havent they!

laser (Galway) - Posts: 230 - 11/05/2011 16:35:52    928503

Wests_Awake

laser, don't be blinding The Master with cold hard facts now, will ya.

Gaillimh abú.

There is enough having a a go with us besides fighting with ourselves. I for one will be supporting ALL Connacht counties and I hope to enjoy the craic with the Galway fans in Castlebar all 12 of ye.

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 11/05/2011 16:38:58    928511

paddyogall

There is enough having a a go with us besides fighting with ourselves. I for one will be supporting ALL Connacht counties and I hope to enjoy the craic with the Galway fans in Castlebar all 12 of ye.

----

I see what you did there. Hilarious stuff.

abhainn (Galway) - Posts: 1000 - 11/05/2011 17:08:18    928526

I'll second that Paddy. Whatever Connacht counties get through will have my support.

Also don't be annoying the 12 Galway fans that turn up on your way out of McHale Park at half time on 26/06 now after the beating Galway have given you ;-)
(That's if you get past London!!!!)

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 11/05/2011 17:20:20    928534

mayos best player and only leader is from roscommon

01ros (Roscommon) - Posts: 113 - 11/05/2011 17:37:53    928555

I'll even support Roscommon despite their antics in 2001.

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 11/05/2011 17:43:11    928561

Since when is Ballina in Roscommon?

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 11/05/2011 17:46:47    928563

im fairly sure it isn't but ballaghaderreen is.andy moran is by a long way your best and most consistant player, mc garity second best

01ros (Roscommon) - Posts: 113 - 11/05/2011 19:11:53    928644

liathroidboy

in football terms galway and mayo would view getting the dubs in the championship as getting a easy draw-

Jees, you really haven't a notion about Gaelic football.

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 11/05/2011 19:13:13    928647

ok, connacht havnt done well when it comes to all irelands in the last few years but people go around saying ulster is the most competitive province in the championship. i don't think this is true. look at the connacht final results in the last number of years - '06 - mayo beat galway by a point, '07 - sligo beat galway by a point, '08 - galway beat mayo by a point, '09 - mayo beat galway by a point, 10 - roscommon beat sligo by a point,. 5 years, 5 finals, 4 different winners, every final decided by a point, 70% of connachts teams making at least 1 final appearance. stats speak for themselves.

galwayman95 (Galway) - Posts: 292 - 11/05/2011 20:55:52    928730

Did I say most connaght titles laser? Or did I say best team in connaght? We have consistently gone the furthest in the championship over the last 10 years. Im not trying to make it into a mayo v galway thread, but merely showing you the error in your ways

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 11/05/2011 21:04:19    928741

01ros, first off, alan dillon is a better player than andy moran. Secondly, if the guy was from roscommon wouldnt he play for roscommon?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 11/05/2011 21:07:49    928746