Galway v Tipperary

Replying To tiobraid:  "Just watched the first half again and there was nothing in cannings tackle. I thought it was A Hurley to the face or neck area.
From the highlights on the Sunday game I think tuohys was certainly deliberate. Anyone who has played hurling knows its not natural to grab at a helmet and he made a few grabs at it.
Impossible for Kelly to see it tho and it'll be harsh but justified under current rules.
Few other decisions could've went our way but Kelly didn't cost us the game. We have been poor all year and despite a huge up in intensity we were quite poor yesterday also. Don't fault the players in any way. It's not easy to put back to back. Disappointed with some jibes fromgalway people about the one in a row specialists.
Galway have only won 20% of the finals they're in so I'd expect some more humility from that minority' of supporters."
I don't think Galway hurling supporters are in any position to slag off Tipperary or anyone for that matter about being one in a row specialists or anything to that effect, especially when one considers our horrendous record in All Ireland finals, I think we'd happily take a few 'one in a row' final wins. Sunday's game was one of those games that could easily have gone either way, and with such fine margins every decision, miss etc is always going to be over analysed to death. I thought neither team played brilliantly, there was a lot of nervousness from a lot of Galway players, for once it was our defence that got us over the line, and I certainly would be looking for a marked improvement from midfield up in the final. I thought Tipperary without ever hitting the dizzy heights of last year's final showed why they are All Ireland champions. There is no doubt that they have been slowly improving since the Westmeath game, and I have no doubt that they would have won the final had they got through last Sunday. So it's Galway back in yet another final, and the added pressure that brings due to our horrendous final record. I honestly think that I will lose the will to live if they lose yet another final, this has to be their year, and while there are no guarantees in life, I firmly believe that they have beaten the best team in the country, so they should not fear either Cork or Waterford.
Cork will never fear Galway in an All Ireland final, but our recent record against Cork is quite impressive, and Galway should have too much power or experience for them. Waterford present a totally different challenge should they win next Sunday, whatever about Galway's brutal final record, Waterford are waiting 58 years, so they will bring a tidal wave of emotion to Croker on All Ireland final day, not to mention they have beaten Galway regularly in championship hurling. So it promises to be a great end to what has been a wonderful hurling championship so far, will Waterford win their first All Ireland in 58 years, will Galway win their first in 29 years, or will Cork return to what they consider their rightful position as the kings of hurling?

gilly0512 (Galway) - Posts: 1176 - 08/08/2017 12:20:18    2030922

Replying To tiobraid:  "I'd fully agree on O'Brien. Bonner had to be replaced. Two other positional decisions probably cost us the game. The first was moving Noel from centre forward where he had Mcinerney in serious bother. The most baffling of all was putting Maher back on Glynn. Galway were clever then and moved Glynn into the corner which took Maher out of the game. I would've let Glynn win as much ball as he liked as he hasn't natural scoring ability unlike Canning."
100% agree with you Galway were tactically better in the second half and moving Joe all around the place finally paid dividends in the last 15 mins.
I could be wrong but Canning seemed to be Galways only scorer in that period.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 08/08/2017 12:22:45    2030924

Incredible end to a fantastic match between two super teams with players giving their absolute all. A credit to their clubs and counties. The poor ground conditions did not help in the error count and the slippery underfoot section in front of the hill was not a help to the teams either in trying to play classic stuff but the whole hearted and mighty physical collisions was a joy to watch.
Canning's winning point was a great score. Tipp had a few chances that should have gone over- but that is sport!
I thought it was a tough game to referee and I thought Kelly did well.
The pulling off of the helmet incident - I hope the player does not get banned. I don't think that any player in today's hyper sensitive time would be so stupid a to pull it off intentionally. ..
Will be a great occasion in Croker next Sunday and an even better one for the All Ireland - with no Kilkenny or Tipp!!!
I hope it is a Waterford v Galway game.
A game for the ages on Sunday. The greatest game in the world.

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1821 - 08/08/2017 13:16:26    2030988

Lads - what. a. game! Class!

Just want to say, the game could have gone either way and fair play to the Tipp lads around us, very knowledgeable supporters and sound auld shkins as well. We've had some craic over the past few years.

I really hope we can do it this year. Like, I'd take the week off work and just run laps of Eyre Square in nathin but a pair of Galway hurling shorts for the week!

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 706 - 08/08/2017 14:16:26    2031037

Replying To WildPundit:  "100% agree with you Galway were tactically better in the second half and moving Joe all around the place finally paid dividends in the last 15 mins.
I could be wrong but Canning seemed to be Galways only scorer in that period."
You're right. I think he knocked over our last 5 scores.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2040 - 08/08/2017 14:44:59    2031059

Replying To SaffronDon:  "relax im only asking because i dont know and nothing official seems to have come out yet. I think he's a top manager and hope he does stay on"
His 2 year term is up. The county chairman has already come out to say he hopes Ryan will stay on. We'll know more over the coming weeks.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 08/08/2017 17:23:41    2031186

Replying To Killarney.87:  "His 2 year term is up. The county chairman has already come out to say he hopes Ryan will stay on. We'll know more over the coming weeks."
I hope he does stay on, he is not only an excellent manager but also comes across as a gentleman in how he conducts himself, and he clearly loves the game. The same was also true of O'Shea and Sheedy when they were there.
These things matter too in a manager. There was a great tv image from the crowd on Sunday of 2 older men shaking hands immediately after Cannings winning point. Iv no idea who they were but the looks on their faces was of pure joy after what they had watched, but you only get games like that if managers really believe in their players and have a love of the game of hurling.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 08/08/2017 21:51:54    2031334

Replying To Soma:  "I hope he does stay on, he is not only an excellent manager but also comes across as a gentleman in how he conducts himself, and he clearly loves the game. The same was also true of O'Shea and Sheedy when they were there.
These things matter too in a manager. There was a great tv image from the crowd on Sunday of 2 older men shaking hands immediately after Cannings winning point. Iv no idea who they were but the looks on their faces was of pure joy after what they had watched, but you only get games like that if managers really believe in their players and have a love of the game of hurling."
Well said Soma. Too much is made out of whether or not you won silverware and the season is a failure if you didn't win silverware. There are so many good Hurling stories to tell after this season and most don't involve winning a cup: Carlow's promotion and pushing Laois all the way. Wexford's vast improvement this year. Waterford's first win over Kilkenny since 1959 etc.

Obviously winning trophies is great and that's what you want from a season but there is so much more to it.

I am really proud of the Tipp players after this season. I never gave up on the Tipp team and thought they would bounce back through the qualifiers. They put in some performance against Galway on Sunday, unfortunately it wasn't a enough but it spoke volumes about them and the management team.

Some hurling folk love to run them down and say they can't win back to back and so forth. That was their 9th semi final in 10 seasons. That is incredible consistency and the only time they didn't make the last 4 was when Kilkenny beat them in Nowlan Park in 2013.

This is a superb Galway team and that is why so many Tipp posters on here tipped them to win the All-Ireland back in the spring. We genuinely thought it at the time and we weren't playing games.

Just like our team, the current bunch of Galway players have taken an awful lot of unwarranted criticism over the last 5 - 10 years.

Both teams tried really hard to stop the Kilkenny dominance but one or both would be the fall guy when Kilkenny would yet again bring the Liam McCarthy cup back down the M9.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 09/08/2017 05:03:43    2031418

Replying To Killarney.87:  "Well said Soma. Too much is made out of whether or not you won silverware and the season is a failure if you didn't win silverware. There are so many good Hurling stories to tell after this season and most don't involve winning a cup: Carlow's promotion and pushing Laois all the way. Wexford's vast improvement this year. Waterford's first win over Kilkenny since 1959 etc.

Obviously winning trophies is great and that's what you want from a season but there is so much more to it.

I am really proud of the Tipp players after this season. I never gave up on the Tipp team and thought they would bounce back through the qualifiers. They put in some performance against Galway on Sunday, unfortunately it wasn't a enough but it spoke volumes about them and the management team.

Some hurling folk love to run them down and say they can't win back to back and so forth. That was their 9th semi final in 10 seasons. That is incredible consistency and the only time they didn't make the last 4 was when Kilkenny beat them in Nowlan Park in 2013.

This is a superb Galway team and that is why so many Tipp posters on here tipped them to win the All-Ireland back in the spring. We genuinely thought it at the time and we weren't playing games.

Just like our team, the current bunch of Galway players have taken an awful lot of unwarranted criticism over the last 5 - 10 years.

Both teams tried really hard to stop the Kilkenny dominance but one or both would be the fall guy when Kilkenny would yet again bring the Liam McCarthy cup back down the M9."
Well said, Killarney. Your post is spot on, and says it all.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3422 - 09/08/2017 10:30:18    2031468

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Well said, Killarney. Your post is spot on, and says it all."
Thanks a lot. Hard to see Galway lose it from here.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 09/08/2017 13:26:51    2031555

Replying To Killarney.87:  "Well said Soma. Too much is made out of whether or not you won silverware and the season is a failure if you didn't win silverware. There are so many good Hurling stories to tell after this season and most don't involve winning a cup: Carlow's promotion and pushing Laois all the way. Wexford's vast improvement this year. Waterford's first win over Kilkenny since 1959 etc.

Both teams tried really hard to stop the Kilkenny dominance but one or both would be the fall guy when Kilkenny would yet again bring the Liam McCarthy cup back down the M9."
Well said. They've been incredibly consistent since 2008. Only Galway and KK have ended our All Ireland ambitions in that time which is no shame. Only 2 teams have put back to back in the last 30 odd years. Tipp probably have the talent to have won more but bar 2012 they've lost nothing in defeat. Some of their scores last weekend was out of this world. Also If John had passed that ball to Noels hand it probably would've been the greatest goal every scored in Croke Park. The TV didn't do the build up and interchange of passes justice...it was unbelievable skill by a number of players.
I hope Ryan stays on and we can unearth 3-4 players. We will lose serious talent in the next 3 years but the likes of Barrett, Ronan M, Breen, McCormack (who after rewatching the match back was the clear man of the match on Sunday), Bubbles, John McGrath - serious spine to the team for years to come.
We are very lucky in Tipp that we have 7-8 from the 2012 minor winning team and 7-8 from the 2007 minor/2010 u21 team who are currently on the panel. I'd be hopeful that there is at least 3-4 off last years minor winning team that can make the step up too. We are still in a very strong place!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 09/08/2017 15:30:26    2031633

Replying To tiobraid:  "Well said. They've been incredibly consistent since 2008. Only Galway and KK have ended our All Ireland ambitions in that time which is no shame. Only 2 teams have put back to back in the last 30 odd years. Tipp probably have the talent to have won more but bar 2012 they've lost nothing in defeat. Some of their scores last weekend was out of this world. Also If John had passed that ball to Noels hand it probably would've been the greatest goal every scored in Croke Park. The TV didn't do the build up and interchange of passes justice...it was unbelievable skill by a number of players.
I hope Ryan stays on and we can unearth 3-4 players. We will lose serious talent in the next 3 years but the likes of Barrett, Ronan M, Breen, McCormack (who after rewatching the match back was the clear man of the match on Sunday), Bubbles, John McGrath - serious spine to the team for years to come.
We are very lucky in Tipp that we have 7-8 from the 2012 minor winning team and 7-8 from the 2007 minor/2010 u21 team who are currently on the panel. I'd be hopeful that there is at least 3-4 off last years minor winning team that can make the step up too. We are still in a very strong place!"
Yeah fingers crossed Tiobraid. I am hoping McGrath, Cadell, Morris and Kehoe will come good for us when they come of age.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 09/08/2017 15:46:58    2031646