SFC prelim q-final: O'Mahonys assert themselves in extra time

September 23, 2017

Stephen Bray Navan O'Mahonys with Na Fianna's Christy Cosgrave at Lomans Park Trim

SFC prelim q-final: O'Mahonys assert themselves in extra time

Navan O'Mahonys eventually shook-off the challenge of Na Fianna in an engrossing SFC preliminary quarter-final at Trim on Saturday afternoon

O'Mahonys 1-20 Na Fianna  1-13 after-extra-time

In a match of two 'games', the sides were tied seven times in the first hour. Thereafter, Na Fianna failed to score.

The Baconstown-Enfield-Rathmolyon outfit posted three unanswered points at the end of normal time level mattters at 1-13-each.

Na Fianna were unable to carry the momentum in the additional 20 minutes as O'Mahonys secured a quarter-final meeting with Summerhill.

Tomas O Flaharta's posted seven points without conceding any making light of the loss of key forward Ruairi O Coileain, sent-off in stoppage time at the end of the hour.

2007 All-Star Stephen Bray put in an industrious 80 minutes capping it with six points. Paul Whelehan chipped in with a quartet of scores, including two in quick succession coming up to the hour mark that looked to have settled matters.

Bray posted two points within nine minutes of the start of extra time. It left four between between the sides, only the second time that amount separated the sides..

Just before the interval in extra time a foul on Whelehan led to a black card for Na Fianna sub Mark Slevin.

As the foul was committed just outside the penalty zone, a close range free was awarded and duly converted by Bray. It left it 1-18 to 1-3 at the break..

The second period of extra time yielded just two scores; another Bray (free) with the final score coming from Dylan Regan with sub James O'Reilly providing the assist for O'Mahonys' 21st score.

But for the intervention of Na Fianna 'keeper Shane Geraghty, Dylan Regan might have goaled in the last action of the game.

Scores were tied seven times in normal time. O'Mahonys - playing into the town goal - were wasteful in the first 30 minutes, recording nine wides to Na Fianna's one.

O'Mahonys' 'keeper Marcas Brennan saved well from Sean Martin early on while Dylan Regan's low shot was off target 29 minutes in.

Tied at 0-6-each at the break, O'Mahonys resumed with a flourish. Dylan Regan atoned for his earlier miss netting - with assistance from Brian Dillon - within 40 seconds of the restart. Dylan Regan then pointed and the Brews Hill side were four clear.

Na Fianna received a 38th minute tonic when Sean Martin netted, capitalising on Dean Barrett's forward run. The board read 1-7 to 1-6.

O'Mahonys moved three clear, 1-9 to 1-6, by the 43rd minute when Whelehan registered. Two points in quick succession for team captain Conor Downey (one free) tied the scores, 1-9-each, early in the final quarter.

Daniel Queeney's 48th minute free restored the lead to Na Fianna, for the first time in 20 minutes. O'Mahonys rallied and while Na Fianna fluffed a few lines the Hoops looked to have settled matters when outscoring the south county side by 0-4 to 0-1 in a 10-minute spell.

However, Na Fianna weren't finished, but having forced extra time couldn't find the necessary to advance to a meeting with their neighbours.

In overcast but blustery conditions, it took Stephen Bray 13 seconds to point O'Mahonys in front. Barry Clancy soon levelled matters. It was the first of three times during the opening half that scores were tied.

Who the wind favoured was difficult to discern but Na Fianna were two points clear three times in the opening 20 minutes. The pendulum swung O'Mahonys way and they regained parity twice before the interval.

Navan O'Mahonys - Marcas Brennan; Ian Matthews, Niall McKeigue, Gary O'Brien; James O'Malley, Cormac McGuinness (C), Shane Crosby; Damien Moran, Daragh Maguire; Ruairi O Coileain (0-4, 2fs), Stephen Bray (0-6, 2fs), Dylan Regan (1-4); Paul Whelehan (0-4), Jake Regan, Shane Gillespie (0-1). Subs - Conor Finnegan for Moran (19), Brian Dillon for Jake Regan (28), James O'Reilly (0-1) for Crosby (39). Extra-time - Dylan Regan for O Coileain, Stephen Monaghan for D Regan (75).

Na Fianna - Shane Geraghty; John Baldwin (0-1), Daniel Devine, James Geagan; Anthony Neary, Michael Farley, Owen McDonnell (0-1);  Ethan Devine; Daniel Queeney (0-5, 4fs) ; Barry Slevin, Conor Downey (C) (0-3, 1f), Sean Martin (1-0); Barry Clancy (0-3, 1f), Christy Cosgrave, Dean Barrett. Subs - Damien Downey for Farley (55). Extra-time - Mark Slevin for Geagan (70), Michael Collins for Baldwin (71), Brian Queeney for Slevin (bc 72), Andy Glynn for McDonnell (78).

Referee - Patrick Nelis (Kilmainham)

Most Read Stories