IFC: All square in Castletown

September 12, 2017

Syddan's Graham Garland


A DISAPPOINTING IFC campaign ended for both Syddan and Walterstown following this share of the spoils at Castletown on Saturday evening.

Syddan went into the game needing a victory to have any chance of a place in the knockout stages but with results at other venues failing to go in their favour a win here would still not have been sufficient to see them go through.

Despite conceding a goal after just three minutes, scored by Ruairi O'Dowd, Syddan found themselves in a good position to take both points when leading 1-7 to 1-3 at half-time.

They still enjoyed a two point lead with minutes remaining but were reeled in by a point from substitute David Donnellan on the hour mark before Donnellan struck the equaliser in the third minute of added time.

Syddan had responded well to the concession of that early goal as Kevin Traynor and Gary McManus added points to Gary Farrelly's opening score.

A thundering shot from Graham Garland found the net off the underside of the crossbar and that left Syddan leading 1-3 to 0-1 by the end of the opening quarter. Gary Farrelly, Cormac Rowe, Sean Clare and McManus all found the range before the end of the half as Walterstown relied on points from the boot of Brian O'Connell to keep them in contention.

Walterstown upped the tempo at the start of the second half and were level by the 38th minute. O'Connell converted his third free before Paul Donnellan netted from the penalty spot following a foul on Conor O'Sullivan.

Substitute Daire Rowe pointed twice after his introduction and Syddan led 1-10 to 2-5 when they were awarded a penalty on 51 minutes.

However Rowe dragged his spot-kick wide of the target and that left the door open for Walterstown to hit back with points from Paul Donnellan and John Geoghegan.

Scores from Graham Garland and Daire Rowe had Syddan back in front with minutes left but they were unable to close the game out.

SYDDAN - Ciaran Farrelly; Mark Fedigan, Jack Reid, Kevin Garland; Stuart Fedigan, Andrew Garland, Ronan Mooney; Kevin Traynor 0-1, Sean Clare 0-1; Graham Garland 1-1, Gary McManus 0-2, Michael Fedigan; Cormac Rowe 0-1, Paddy Farrelly, Gary Farrelly 0-2 (1f). Subs - Peter Sheehy 0-1 for Reid (5), Brian Dillon for G Farrelly (39), Daire Rowe 0-3 (2f) for McManus (42), Cormac Rafferty for Mooney (46).

Most Read Stories