IFC: Traynor's late goal sinks Nobber

August 14, 2017

Kevin Traynor - Killary Emmets


THERE was a dramatic finish to this North Meath derby as Kevin Traynor struck with a goal in the third and final minute of added time to give Syddan a precious win in the IFC at Drumconrath on Sunday evening.

Seeking their first points of the campaign following two earlier losses it looked as if Syddan would be forced to settle for a share of the spoils after Darren Lambe had tied the sides for the eighth time in the first minute of added time.

Nobber were in possession when Traynor cut out a crossfield ball and then took a return pass from Michael Fedigan before racing through to produce a neat finish to the net.

Alan Farrell and Dale Larkin were on target for Nobber in the opening five minutes before Brian Dillon replied with two converted frees for Syddan. Daire Rowe then pointed Syddan ahead twice with Nobber responding through Larkin and Karl Casserly.

Syddan ended the half stronger with points from Ronan Mooney, Gary Farrelly and Rowe to leave them leading 0-7 to 0-4 at the break.

Nobber started the second half in impressive style with points from Stephen O'Brien and Larkin (two frees) to be level by the 36th minute.

Both sides created goal chances in the third quarter but were unable to find a way past respective keepers Ciaran Farrelly and Dary Hutchinson.

There was still nothing between the sides at the end of the third quarter and the game was in the 53rd minute when Larkin hit his first point from play to edge his side into a 0-11 to 0-10 lead.

Gary Farrelly regained parity and shortly afterwards Ciaran Farrelly made a great block to deny Karl Casserly. The sides then exchanged points before Traynor struck at the death for the decisive score.

SYDDAN - Ciaran Farrelly; Mark Fedigan, Jack Reid, Thomas Meade; Ronan Mooney 0-1, Andrew Garland, Kevin Garland; Kevin Traynor 1-0, Sean Clare; Michael Fedigan, Daire Rowe 0-6 (1f, 1′45), Graham Garland; Cormac Rowe 0-1, Brian Dillon 0-2f, Gary Farrelly 0-2. Subs: Cormac Rafferty for K Garland (h-t), Gary McManus for Dillon (43), Peter Sheehy for Meade (48), Stuart Fedigan for Mark Fedigan (58).

NOBBER - Dary Hutchinson; Eanna Fagan, Paul Meade, Brendan Heffernan; Padraig Weldon, Stephen O'Brien 0-1, Niall Farrell 0-1; Alan Farrell 0-1, Thomas Murtagh; Gerard Campbell, Dale Larkin 0-6 (5f), Darragh Cassidy; Darren Lambe 0-1, Fiachra McEntee 0-1, Karl Casserly 0-1. Sub: Brian Meade for Heffernan BC (30).

Most Read Stories