MFC Div 4 Final: Inaugural win for St. Michaels / Nobber

October 24, 2016

Jordan Morris gains possession for St. Michaels / Nobber during the Meath Division 4 MFC final against Kilbride at Pairc Tailteann.

St. Michaels / Nobber 3-11, Kilbride 2-09

St. Michaels / Nobber combination finished their inaugural season together as the LMFM sponsored division 4 champions after they produced a powerful display to overcome and break the hearts of a plucky Kilbride side in sun drenched Pairc Tailteann on Saturday afternoon last.

The first half was nip and tuck during the opening quarter with scores hard to come by and with the match deadlocked on four occasions in the opening 20 minutes when the scoreboard read 0-4 apiece. St. Michaels ~ Nobber opened their account in the second minute with a point from play from Thomas Murtagh, Kilbride on the other hand had to wait until the tenth minute when they sent over their first point from a free. Shane McDonnell followed with his sides second point 4 minutes later only for Kilbride to draw level.

A poor kick-out from Kilbride's keeper Jonny McIvor was latched onto by Paddy Tobin who nailed a long range point attempt for his sides third point and a minute later it was level pegging again and they exchanged points once more before McDonnell edged his side in front with a point on 23 minutes. A minute later a very impressive move up-field involving Jordan Morris, Paddy Tobin and Cian Sheridan who passed quickly to McDonnell who rattled the net for his first major. However while St. Michaels ~ Nobber were basking in their glory Kilbride were working their way up-field and gave Alex Farrell no chance between the posts to leave it a one point game. McDonnell came to his sides rescue with 3 points (1f) in a two minute spell to put 4 points between the sides but again Kilbride refused to lie down and finished the half with two points to trail by just two at the break 1-08 to 1-06.  

The second half was three minutes old when Jordan Morris found Paddy Tobin in space, his pass was inch perfect as was Tobin's effort with the point. Kilbride refused to lie down and responded immediately with a point at the opposite end however 15 minutes would elapse before they would trouble the scoreboard operator again as the St. Michaels / Nobber combination battened down the hatches, playing against a stiff breeze they started to dictate matters and their defensive unit must must take a great deal of credit as they defended fantastically from that point forward, nullifying the Kilbride attack while the midfield pairing of McCormack and Murtagh accounted for anything that moved around the middle third.

Ben Reilly and Cian Sheridan covered most of the Navan pitch and captain Shane McDonnell led by example with a personal tally of 2-6. Mc Donnell got his second major at the three quarter stage for a 2-10 to 1-07 lead, Kilbride reduced the deficit to 3 points after they found the net again with 10 minutes on the clock. McDonnell extended the lead to 4 points before Shane McCormack rubber-stamped the victory with a superb goal on 57 minutes, true to form, Kilbride rallied with two consolation points. And so it was that the jubilant St. Michaels / Nobber combination added the division 4 minor championship trophy to their U-16 league trophy at the first time of asking.

St. Michaels / Nobber team and scorers: Alex Farrell, Cormac Clarke, Jack Condra, Harry Dunne, Ciaran O'Reilly, Caolan McConnell, Brian Reilly, Shane McCormack 1-2, Thomas Murtagh 0-1, Ben Reilly, Cian Sheridan, Patrick Tobin 0-2, Jordan Morris, Shane McDonnell 2-6, Ewan Moran. Subs: Scott Doyle for Ewan Moran 30 minutes, Aidan Shields for Paddy Tobin 52 minutes.

Referee: Paul Mooney.

Report by: Pascal Reilly.

Most Read Stories