IFC Quarter Final: Dunderry stun Trim

September 26, 2016

Dunderry's Martin Garry gets the ball away before it goes over the line as Trim's Shane Downes closes in during the Meath IFC quarter final at Athboy

Dunderry ripped up the form book with this win over neighbours Trim in the Meath Intermediate Football Championship quarter final played in soft conditions at Athboy.

Dunderry 2-9 Trim 0-7

From the word go Kevin Dowd's charges meant business. Stephen Coogan was in great form for the winners and he opened the scoring from a free. James Toher sent over two points for the team in red and with 15 minutes gone the game was level 0-2 each.

Coogan turned the game on its head with a brilliant goal and Simon Carty followed up with a point to open up a four point advantage. Neil Heffernan pulled one back for the town side before they were dealth another blow. County star Alan Douglas was black carded by referee Cormac Reilly. Dunderry went in at the break 1-4 to 0-3 in front.

Trim outscored their neighbours 0-4 to 0-1 in the opening 15 minutes of the second half. Daire Lynch got the ball rolling while Sean Fitzgerald, Toher and Owen McGrath also got in on the scoring act to narrow the lead to one 1-5 to 0-7.

But thats as good as it got for Trim as Dunderry completely dominated the remainder. Conor Farrell's shot deceived Trim keeper Conor O'Mahony and ended up in the net. Dunderry grew in stature from this and proceeded to tag on four unanswered points from Coogan (3) and substitute Colm Harte as the Trim challenge faded.

Dunderry take on Ballinabrackey in the semi final.

Dunderry: D. Jennings, A. Newman, D. McCormack, C. Dempsey, D. Callaghan, D. Clarke, M. Garry, L. Dempsey, P. Kennelly, M. Kane, L. Martyn, S. Coogan (1-6,5f's), C. Farrell (1-1), S. Carty (0-1), A. Watters. Subs: C. Harte (0-1) for D. Clarke, J. Martin for M.Kane, S. Maguire for M. Garry, D. Mahon for L. Martyn

Trim: Conor O'Mahony, Colm Flaherty, Shane Downes, Rory McGrath, Ciaran O'Rourke, David Foley, Robbie Kenny, Francis Murphy, Alan Douglas, Sean Fitzgerald 0-1, James Toher 0-3, Luke Moran, Neil Heffernan 0-1, Owen McGrath 0-1, Daire Lynch 0-1.

Referee Cormac Reilly

Most Read Stories