SFC: Dunboyne blitz Ratoath

August 08, 2016

Dunboyne's Robbie McCarthy gains possession against Ratoath during the hoganstand.com Meath SFC game in Ashbourne

Dunboyne 2-15
Ratoath 1-8

Dunboyne emerged as comfortable winners from this hoganstand.com Meath senior football championship second round encounter in very windy conditions in Ashbourne.

St Peters played with the aid of a strong win in the opening half but were rocked by an early 1-1 from last year's intermediate winners.

Eamonn Wallace got the scoreboard working with a good point and minutes later Bryan McMahon rifled a shot into the top corner of Johnny O'Connor's net to open up a four point gap.

But thats as good as it got for Fergie Power's men. Dunboyne dominated the remainder of the half and scored points at will. Ronan Jones got the ball rolling with a fine point. Former Dublin senior Robbie McCarthy followed suit with his first before Donal Lenihan kicked six points in a row. McCarthy added another four to his tally and Conor Donoghue's men were 0-14 to 1-2 up. On the stroke of the half time whistle Cathal Finn's long range effort ended up in the Ratoath net and St Peters went in at the break 1-14 to 1-2 ahead.

Ratoath made headway into that lead in the opening 15 minutes of the second half. Conor Rooney, the Wallace brothers Eamonn and Joey, along with a McMahon brace narrowed the gap to seven points. But the goals they sought failed to come and a stubborn Dunboyne defence weathered the storm.

Lenihan finally got their first score of the second half on the 52nd minute and when substitute Jason daly struck their second goal the game was a good as over after 55 minutes.

Referee David Coldrick dismissed Ronan Jones and Brian Power during the course of the second half.

Ratoath head to Duleek for their third round game against St Patricks while Dunboyne entertain Summerhill in Dunshaughlin.

Dunboyne scorers: Donal Lenihan 0-8, Robbie McCarthy 0-5, Cathal Finn 1-1, Jason Daly 1-0, Ronan Jones 0-1.

Ratoath scorers: Bryan McMahon 1-4, Eamonn Wallace 0-2, Conor Rooney and Joey Wallace 0-1 each

Most Read Stories