SFC: Gillespies goal and Ennis' points crucial for Summerhill

May 16, 2016

Shane Melia Donaghmore Ashbourne with David Larkin Summerhill during the hoganstand.com Meath SFC game in Pairc Tailteann.

SFC: Gillespies goal and Ennis' points crucial for Summerhill

Two late late points from super sub Brian Ennis gave Summerhill their second win in the hoganstand.com Meath Senior Football Championship with this narrow victory over Donaghmore Ashbourne in glorious sunshine in Pairc Tailteann.

Summerhill 1-11 Donaghmore Ashboure 0-12

Donaghmore Ashbourne flew out of the blocks and where three points up within ten minutes thanks to fine efforts from Bryan Menton, Conor Carton and Micheal Deegan (free). Midfielded Padraig Geraghty got the Hill of the mark with an excellent point. Deegan pointed another free before Summerhill made their decisive move. John Lyons' men hit 1-3 without reply to take control of proceedings. 

Points from David Larkin, a brilliant effort from half back Iarla Hughes and a crucial goal along with a point from Ciaran Gillespie had Summerhill ahead 1-4 to 0-4. The Moores narrowed the gap to a point thanks to scores from Conor Carey and Deegan but once again Summerhill found another gear to finish the half with a flourish. A brace from Larkin and a second from Geraghty left the 2013 champions ahead 1-7 to 0-6 at the break.

Free takers Deegan and Barry Dardis got the opening scores of the second half before Donaghmore Ashbourne enjoyed their purple patch. Deegan pointed three times from frees and Carton fisted over his second score to tie up the game 1-8 to 0-11. With five minutes left corner back John Lavelle put Summerhill back in front. Carey replied for Donaghmore Ashbounrne and it looked as if a draw was on the cards. Brian Ennis had other ideas. Only on the field a s substitute, the 2013 captain hit two brilliant points to gave Summerhill a well deserved win.

Summerhill Scorers: Ciaran Gillespie 1-1, David Larkin 0-3, Padraigh Geraghty 0-2, Brian Ennis 0-2, Iarla Hughes 0-1, Barry Dardis 0-1, John Lavelle 0-1

Donaghmore Ashbourne scorers: Michael deegan 0-6, Bryan Menton, Conor Carton and Conor Carey 0-2 each

Summerhill: Tony McDonnell, John Lavelle, Caolan Young, Willie Ryan, Iarla Hughes, Richie Hatton, Ross Ryan, Micheal Byrne, Padraigh Geraghty, David Larkin, David Dalton, Ronan Ryan, Paul Rispin, Ciaran Gillespie, Sean Dalton. Substitutes: Barry Dardis for Paul Rispin, Brian Ennis for Sean Dalton, Sean Dalton for Ciaran Gillespie

Most Read Stories