IFC semi-final: O'Brien goal crucial as Ratoath get past Cilles

September 23, 2015

Ratoath's Bobby O'Brien

Ráth Tó 1-13
St Colmcille's 0-10

Ratoath's Intermediate footballers battled gamely to record a 6 point winning margin over a spirited St Colmcille's outfit on a rain soaked Monday night in Duleek.

Despite the conditions the standard of football was quite good with both teams in the first half evenly matched. It was pretty much score for score throughout the opening half with Conor Rooney kicking 2 excellent points from 45's to keep his side in touch. That said both sides had goal chances with Shane Duffy pulling off a couple of decent saves . Ratoath's forwards came more into it as half time approached with Eamonn Wallace slotting over a point and could easily have added a goal to his tally but his shot was narrowly wide. A Brian McMahon free made it level at the interval 6 points apiece with the game very much up for grabs.

Fergal Power's charges began the second half on the front foot with points from McMahon and Joey Wallace giving the Ratoath men the lead.Although Ratoath were dominant for much of this second half the result was still in doubt for long periods as a series of goal chances went abegging . Bobby O'Brien did manage to raise a green flag in the tenth minute to open up a 4 point lead  but there was still only 3 point between the teams with 15 minutes to go. While the forwards weren't converting all their chances at one end the defence tightened up considerably a the other end as the East Meath men were finding scores much harder to come by compared to the opening half.Eventually after hitting a number of wides Ratoath found their scoring range and through points from Wallace, McMahon and substitute, Brian Daly, ran out comfortable enough winners over a gallant St. Colmcille's side.

Best for the victorious side, who now go on to play Nobber on Sunday week, were Conor McGill, Brian Power, Cian O'Brien,Bryan McMahon and Eamon Wallace

Foireann Ráth Tó: Shane Duffy,Paul Flaherty, Conor McGill, Daragh McGill, Brian Power, Gavin McGowan, Brian O'Connor, Cian O'Brien, Keith McCabe, Eamon Wallace (0-3), Bobby O'Brien(1-0), Bryan McMahon (0-5), Conor Rooney(0-3),Frank Coyne, Gareth Rooney Subs - Joey Wallace(0-1) for Gareth Rooney(black Card), Emmet Boyle for Coyne, Brian Daly(0-1) for O'Connor

Most Read Stories