SFC: Pats prise point off champions

May 23, 2015

St Pats Donal Landy

A spirited display was rewarded with a point as St Patrick's held champions O'Mahonys in this exciting hoganstand.com SFC Group B clash at Duleek on Friday evening.

St Patrick's ...... 1-12
O'Mahonys ....... 0-15

Boosted by a brace of points from sub Shane Landy and Neil O'Flaherty free, St Pats earned the draw their endeavour deserved.

There was never more than three points between the teams in one of the most exciting clashes in the championship to date.

O'Mahonys looked well-placed to post their third win of the campaign when leading by three points after 51 minutes. David Nelson's men had outscored the Stamullen-Julianstown side by 0-6 to 0-2 in the second-half to that point.

Ruairi O Coileain's 48th minute point - with assistance from Stephen Bray and Shane Gillespie - proved to be O'Mahonys' final score.

O'Mahonys created more clearcut goal chances but couldn't convert any one of them.

After the scores became tied for the sixth time, sub Finian Everard's effort from distance tailed wide while Jake Regan was unlucky to see his punched effort crash against the crossbar from sub Ross Geraghty's delivery.

Despite the closeness of the exchanges the lead only changed hands twice. With Stephen Bray driving them forward, O'Mahonys started well.

In the 11th minute Alan Vickers long delivery found Kevin Lynch who placed Neil O'Flaherty for an expertly netted goal from close range and leave it 1-2 to 0-4.

With Donal Landy leading the way with scores from play, Ciaran O'Hare's charges were never headed for the remainder of the half and led by 1-7 to 0-9 at the break.

Stephen Bray tied the scores for the penultimate time within two minutes of the restart. It was followed by one of Shane Gillespie's four points from play.

O'Mahonys were never headed over the remainder of the game, but St Pat's gutsy display was rewarded with their first point of the campaign following losses to Skryne and Ballinlough.

The east county side have now beaten and drawn with O'Mahonys in league and championship respectively inside 10 days.

St Patrick's - Robert Cluskey; Adam Byrne, David McQuillan, Andy Reilly; JP Ryan, Ray Russell, Barry Moore; Alan Vickers, Ciaran Calvey; David Stafford, Niall Mooney, Andy Mooney; Neil O'Flaherty (1-5, 0-4fs), Kevin Lynch (0-1), Donal Landy (0-4). Subs - Finian Everard for Calvey (42), Shane Landy (0-2) for Ryan (50).

O'Mahonys - Marcas Brennan; Shane Crosby, Niall McKeigue, Darragh Maguire; James O'Reilly, Brian Dillon, Darragh Smyth; Cormac McGuinness, Ruairi O Coileain (0-3, 1f); Rory Maguire, Stephen Bray (0-1), Alan Forde (0-4); Jake Regan (0-2, 1f), David Bray (0-1), Shane Gillespie (0-4). Subs - Henry Finnegan for Maguire (28), James O'Malley for Finnegan (35), Stephen Monaghan for McGuinness (53), Ross Geraghty for Dillon (57).

Referee - Patrick Nelis (Kilmainham).

Most Read Stories