Historic first title for Dunshaughlin

September 18, 2000
Dunshaughlin overcame the disappointment of losing last year's final by sweeping aside the challenge of Kilmainhamwood to lift the Keegan Cup for the first time in the club's history. The south Meath outfit succumbed to favourites Skryne in the final twelve months ago, but their entire demeanour this year suggested a greater confidence in their own ability. And that confidence was not misplaced, as Dunshaughlin powered away from their opponents to record a thoroughly convincing 1-19 to 2-6 victory. In doing so, they had to recover from the double blow of two Ray Magee goals in 60 first half seconds. They did so admirably, amassing point after point to blow 1996 champions Kilmainhamwood out of the water. The Kealy clan provided five of the winning team, and this success is the greatest day in the family's long and proud history. Midfielder Dermot turned in a fittingly inspirational captain's performance, with younger brother Richie the assassin-in-chief, and Man of the Match recipient, with 0-7. Other notables included the impressive wing forward Niall Kelly, while Trevor Dowd and David Crimmins provided excellent support for Kealy in the inside forward line. Dunshaughlin: R. Gogan, F. Gogan, K. McTigue, C. Byrne, Denis Kealy, A. Kealy, R. Yore, Dermot Kealy (0-2), G. Dowd (1-0), N. Kelly (0-3, one sideline), P. McHale (0-1), B. Kealy, R. Kealy (0-7, three frees), D. Crimmins (0-1), T. Dowd (0-4, two frees). Subs: T. Sullivan (0-1) for McHale, K. Healy for Dowd, G. Blake for F. Gogan. Kilmainhamwood: R. Finnegan, D. Cunningham, P. Shankey, L. Shankey, J. Corrigan, R. Madden, A. Crosbie (0-1), M. Curtis, K. Russell (0-1), A. Shankey (0-1), L. McCormack, M. Shankey, R. Magee (2-1, one free), C. Gilcreest, F. Owens (0-1). Subs: B. Stafford (0-1) for M. Shankey, A. Rogers for Corrigan, P. Carolan for A. Shankey

Most Read Stories