Sensation as K'wood knock senior champions out

September 04, 2000
Skryne are out of the championship as Kilmainhamwood produced the shock of the year by beating the reigning champions by five points in a thrilling semi-final. Kilmainhamwood entered the semi-final stage as rank outsiders in most people's opinion, but they produced a performance of style and clinical finishing that left Skryne reeling at Pairc Tailteann. The reigning champions hit 15 wides over he course of the hour, and even an impressive tally of 1-5 by Trevor Giles was not enough to save their blushes, as they fell to a 1-13 to 3-12 defeat. The holders were 0-5 to 0-2 ahead entering the second quarter before Larry McCormack hit Kilmainhamwood's first goal, and boosted by that score they went on to lead by 1-7 to 0-6 at the interval. It was an impressive performance from the North Meath side considering that they were forced to line out without their key midfielder, Ken Russell. Skryne hit back with two early points before Francis Owens punched in his side's second goal. It was nip and tuck until the defining moment in the match occurred with ten minutes remaining. The 'Wood were three points ahead at that stage when a Skryne shot hit the crossbar and rebounded to safety. Not long after Ray Magee claimed his side's third goal, and the match was as good as over. Giles did get a late consolation goal for the losers but Kilmainhamwood scored the last two points of the match, one coming from 1988 Texaco Player of the Year, Brian Stafford. Their victory earns Kilmainhamwood a pace in the decider against Dunshaughlin, who defeated Trim by 2-11 to 0-12 in the other semi-final. It will be a first time meeting for the two sides in a county final. Kilmainhamwood last won the Keegan Cup in 1996, while Dunshaughlin lost out in last year's decider. In the two-relegation playoff played at the weekend, Seneschalstown beat Moynalvey by 2-11 to 0-11 and Oldcastle defeated Navan O'Mahony's by 2-07 to 0-08. Moynalvey now play Gaeil Colmcille, while O'Mahony's must face Blackhall Gaels. The losers of these games will play intermediate football next year.

Most Read Stories