SFC: Late free denies Summerhill full points

August 16, 2014

Summerhill's Brian Ennis
Summerhill 1-7
St Patrick's 0-10

A late free converted by St Patrick's prevented Summerhill from gaining two valuable points in round 4 of the Meath SFC at Dunshaughlin on Saturday.

Niall Mooney scored the equaliser for St Pat's after referee David Coldrick awarded the Stamullen men a free with time almost up.

Summerhill should of had the game sealed by this stage as they battled back from a two point half-time deficit to dominate the second half.

Brian Ennis' penalty put Summerhill in front and the reigning champions were two points up in the dying minutes but couldn't see off their dogged opponents.

Summerhill were without five players that started the round 3 win over Rathkenny. The entire half back line of Padhraig Geraghty, Richie Hatton and Stephen Husband and the midfield duo of Conor Gillespie and Micheál Byrne were all absent due to injuries and illness.

Experienced campaigners Gary Rispin, Damien Byrne and Davy Dalton were called in while Eamonn McDonnell and Ronan Ryan made their championship debuts.

It was 17-year-old Ryan that gave Summerhill the lead early on but Declan McCabe's men found it hard to score against the wind. Full-forward Gary Rispin fisted over Summerhill's second point in a low-scoring first half. St Pat's lead by two after 30 minutes, 0-4 to 0-2.

Gary Rispin got his second point straight from the throw-in after cutting inside his marker. Soon after Kevin Ryan was hauled to the ground in the penalty area. Brian Ennis stepped up and buried his spot kick to the goalkeeper's right.

Summerhill had now the lead and the breeze in their favour and kicked four points from David Larkin (two), Paul Rispin and Barry Dardis.

One of Larkin's points could have easily resulted in a green flag but the half-forward couldn't keep his shot down as he bore down on goal.

Summerhill were made to rue those golden opportunities as St Pat's managed to work their way back up the field and grab a share of the spoils.​

The 2013 winners need to beat neighbours Moynalvey in the final round and hope other results go in their favour if they wish to take third spot in Group C and progress to a preliminary quarter-final.

Summerhill: Tony McDonnell; Padraigh Jennings, Caolan Young, Eamonn McDonnell; Davy Dalton, Willie Ryan, Ronan Ryan (0-1); Damien Byrne, Brian Ennis (1-0, penalty); Adrian Kenny, Paul Rispin (0-1), David Larkin (0-2); Kevin Ryan, Gary Rispin (0-2), Barry Dardis (0-1). Subs: Alan Lyons for W Ryan, Ross Ryan for A Lyons, Jack Fagan for G Rispin, A Lyons for D Byrne (black card).

Most Read Stories