IFC: Rowe stars as Syddan down Trim

April 21, 2014

Syddan's Kevin Traynor
TRIM 1-11

After scoring 1-7 for the Meath minors Daire Rowe continued where he left off on Saturday by bagging 1-6 in this IFC win for Syddan at Simonstown on Sunday.

The Syddan men seemed set for a comfortable enough victory as they held a five point advantage with six minutes remaining. However they had to endure an anxious finale as the fast-finishing town side scored a goal courtesy of Mark McCormack, and a point from James Toher to reduce the deficit to the minimum in added time.

Davy Dalton's side then went agonisingly close to an equaliser but Colm Flaherty's last-gasp effort rebounded off a post before the referee blew his final whistle.

Syddan's goal came within two minutes of the start and by the end of the quarter Daire Rowe had also posted three points as Syddan led 1-3 to 0-3.

Points from James Toher (two) and Mark McCormack kept Trim in touch before Syddan went four clear following a long range effort from Brian Dillon. At the break though Syddan had to be content with a 1-5 to 0-6 lead.

A Ronan Fitzsimons point reduced the deficit to the minimum within a minute of the restart and there was still a point between the sides entering the final quarter after Toher accounted for his fifth of the game.

Syddan kicked for home after that and raced into a five point lead following further scores from Daire (three) and Cormac Rowe.

However they eased up within sight of the winning post and it almost proved costly.

SCORERS - SYDDAN: Daire Rowe 1-6 (2f), Cormac Rowe, Brian Dillon (1f) 0-2 each, Mark Fedigan, Paddy Farrelly 0-1 each. Trim: James Toher 0-6 (5f), Mark McCormack 1-2, Sean Fitzgerald, Ronan Fitzsimons, Owen McGrath 0-1 each.

SYDDAN - Ciaran Farrelly; Barry McConnon, Ben Bashford, Mark Fedigan; Ronan Mooney, Kevin Traynor, Jack Reid; Stephen Dillon, Brian Dillon; Robbie Farrelly, James Farrelly, Ian Curran; Daire Rowe, Paddy Farrelly, Cormac Rowe. Sub - Fiachra Ross for R Farrelly (39).

TRIM - Brendan Murphy; Colm Flaherty, Eoin Kelly, Shane Downes; Daryl Phelan, Stephen Farrell, David Foley; Robert Bourke, Frankie Murphy; Luke Moran, James Toher, Sean Fitzgerald; James Cullen, Ciaran O'Rourke, Mark McCormack. Subs - Ronan Fitzsimons for Phelan (21), Mark Gilsenan for Moran (h-t), Owen McGrath for Cullen, Eoin O'Connor for O'Rourke, Ciaran Joyce for Farrell (all 44).

REF - Gerry McGivney (Simonstown).

Most Read Stories