MFC Div 5 final: Title for Dunderry

November 11, 2013

Dunderry's Conor Dempsey with Nobber's Sam Ogunbe during the Meath MFC Division 5 decider at Pairc Tailteann. TO VIEW A SELECTION OF PHOTOGRAPHS FOR THIS GAME CLICK HERE
Dunderry 3-14
Nobber 1-19

Dunderry and Nobber served up a thrilling encounter in the Minor Football Championship Division 5 final at Pairc Tailteann. In the end the men in the black and white jerseys took the honours but only after extra time.

Nobber held a 1-8 to 0-7 advantage at the end of the opening half. Dara Cassidy and Dean Halpin chipped in with three points each while their goal came from Sam Ogunbe from the penalty spot. Jack Brady, Mickey Dowdall and Mark Kane kept Dunderry within touching distance with some excellent points.

Dunderry closed the gap to a point 1-9 to 1-10 early in the second half. Man of the match Luke Martyn was on hand to force the ball over the line for their opening goal. But Nobber hit back with the next four points through Cassidy (2), Aidan Shields and Halpin. Five points down and looking at defeat Dunderry rallied and scored 1-6 without reply between the 15th and 25th minute. The outstanding Kane kicked five of those scores while Dowdall goaled and Dunderry where 2-14 to 1-14 ahead. Nobber, who had won the league earlier in the year, refused to accept defeat and points from Halpin and Sean Meade (2) forced the game into extra time.

Scores were at a premium for the two ten minute periods. Nobber held the advantage at the end of the first half when Halpin kicked over two points. Dunderry found it hard to find the target but got the break they just about deserved when Kane was up ended in the square and Alex Walsh showed great nerve to goal from the penalty spot. A replay looked to be on the cards but as Nobber came looking for that point the Dunderry defence held firm and the title was theirs.

After the game Ultan Fitzpatrick presented the MFC Divison 5 Cup to Dunderry captain Stephen Clarke.

Dunderry: Alan Casey, Conor Dempsey, Aaron Feeney, Cormac Harten, Luke Martyn 1-0, Robert McCabe, Killian Leonard Stephen Clarke, Mickey Dowdall 1-2, Mark Kane 0-8, Jack Brady 0-2, Eoghan Daly, Peter Casey. Subs: Cillian Conway, Conor McKenna 0-2, Alex Walsh 1-0, Christian Lawless, Pierse Hickey

Nobber: Tony McEntee, James Murtagh, Ryan Smith Hughes, Alan Jackson, Barry Cassidy, Dara Cassidy 0-5, Sam Ogunbe 1-0, Sean Meade 0-4, Ben Sheridan, Dean Halpin 0-8, Aidan Shields 0-2, Cormac Clarke, Johnny Smith

Most Read Stories