MFC: Div 2 title for Vincents Curraha

November 17, 2012

St Vincents Curraha captain Shane O'Brien raises the Christopher Reynolds Cup at Ashbourne. TO VIEW A SELECTION OF PHOTOGRAPHS FOR THIS GAME CLICK HERE
St Vincents Curraha 2-15
Na Fianna 1-8

St Vincents Curraha claimed the Meath Minor Football Championship Division 2 title with a convincing win over Na Fianna under lights at Ashbourne.

St Vincents Curraha dominated proceedings from the throw in. County minor players James McEntee and David Toner were outstanding for the winners in the opening half. McEntee opened the scoring with a pointed free and the same player added three more within ten minutes. Danny Battersby made in 0-5 to 0-0 before McEntee raced through the Na Fianna defence to score the games first goal. Further points from Donal McDermott, Richard O'Sullivan and Toner had the winners in complete control after 25 five minutes leading 1-8 to 0-0. Lee Hyland opened the Na Fianna account on the 26th minute. The Enfield side kicked two more points before the break through Hyland and Aaron Farrell. St Vincents Curraha led 1-8 to 0-3 at the interval.

Jamie McCormack made it 1-8 to 0-4 in the opening minute of the second half. For the next ten minutes the teams traded scores, Hyland and Andrew Glynn for Na Fianna and O'Sullivan and Sean O'Hanrahan for Vincents Curraha. The winners held a 1-11 to 0-6 lead after 15 minutes and could afford the luxury of a missed penalty, Danny Battersbys spot kick was saved by Na Fianna keeper Jonathan McCloskey. Sean O'Hanrahan, who came on as a blood sub for David Toner got his teams second goal on the 20th minutes and the lead was out to 2-11 to 0-7. Na Fianna kept going and were rewarded with a point from Aaron Farrell and a goal from Jamie McCormack to close the gap to six points. But Vincents Curraha were not to be denied victory and finished with a flurry of points from Toner, Battersby and Seamus Hogan.

After the game Peter O'Halloran, Minor Board Secretary, presented the Christopher Reynolds Cup to St Vincents Curraha captain Shane O'Brien.

St Vincents Curraha: Conor White, Andrew Coyle, Conor Joyce, Donal McDermott (0-1), Jamie Harford, Evan McGovern, Ciaran Brangan, James McEntee (1-4), Mark Cawley, Shane O'Brien, David Toner (0-2), Seamus Hogan (0-1), Richard O'Sullivan (0-2), Danny Battersby (0-4), John Mangan.
Subs: Sean O'Hanrahan (1-1)

Na Fianna: Jonathan McCloskey, Ciaran Gilna, Stuart Lumb, Darren Ryan, James Geoghan, Dylan McDonagh, Joshua Devine, Michael farley, Anthony Neary, Philip Geraghty, Lee Hyland (0-3), Evan Hendrick, Andrew Glynn (0-1), Michael Hughes, Aaron Farrell (0-2).
Sub: Jamie McCormack (1-2)

Referee Pat Clarke Seneschalstown

Most Read Stories