MFC: Seneschalstown ease to Division 4 title

September 05, 2011

Seneschalstown's James Meade gains possession ahead of Moynalty's Kevin Maguire during the Meath MFC Div 4 decider at Pairc Tailteann
Seneschalstown 4-13
Moynalty 0-5

Despite not making the knock out stages of the Meath SFC the future of Seneschalstown football looks bright with this showing from their minors. Moynalty were totally outclassed in the MFC Div 4 decider at a wet Pairc Tailteann.

Corner foward Niall Lyons was a handful for the Moynalty defence all night. The Seneschalstown number 13 got the games opening score and added another three in the opening half. Eamon Sheridan was wearing the full back jersey but was playing all over the pitch and he got in for the games opening goal to put Seneschalstown 1-5 to 0-1 up after twenty minutes. Michael Cahill got Moynalty's opening score after fifteen minutes. Seneschalstown led at half time 1-6 to 0-3.

The heavy rain left Pairc Tailteann very slippy but this didn't effect the Seneschalstown performance in the second half. Centre foward James Meade had the game in the bag after a minute with the winners second goal. Three unanswered points from the brilliant Lyons left Moynalty 2-9 to 0-4 behind.William Mullen raced through from the half back line for a point and Brendan Lynch added their third goal. Moynalty's only scores came from the boot of full foward Paul Lynch. Ross Howard closed out the game in the last minute when he netted after a great solo run.

Eamonn Sheridan, William Mullen, James Meade and Niall Lyons were outstanding for the winners while Johnathan Lynch, Ollie Sheridan and Paul Lynch tried hardest for Moynalty.

After the game Meath Minor Board Chairman John Kavanagh presented the MFC Division 4 Cup to Seneschalstown captain Adam Gargan.

Seneschalstown scorers: Niall Lyons 0-8, James Meade 1-2, Eamonn Sheridan, Brendan Lynch and Ross Howard 1-0 each, William Mulllen 0-2, Darragh Geraghty 0-1.
Moynalty scorers: Paul Lynch 0-3, Ollie Sheridan and Michael Cahill 0-1 each.

Seneschalstown: P. Brady, J. Smith, B. Mc Kendry, D. Mc Loughlin, N. Mc Cabe, W. Mullen, A. Gargan, T. Cummins, E. Sheridan, B. Lynch, J. Meade, R. Howard, N. Lyons, E. Meade, E. Noonan. Subs: D. Geraghty for Noonan, H. Maguire for E. Meade, M. Mc Keown for Mc Kendry, S. Cunningham for Lynch, M. Fox for Mullen.

Referee Peter Downey Rathkenny

Most Read Stories