SFC: Summerhill ease to Oldcastle win

May 15, 2011

Summerhill's Richie Hatton with Oldcastle's Ronan Farrelly.
Summerhill 0-14
Oldcastle 1-5

Summerhill made it three wins from three starts in the Meath Farm Machinery SFC Group A with a comfortable win over Oldcastle on Sunday.

With Sean Dalton leading the way in attack, Summerhill made early headway with three points on the board in the opening six minutes.

The 'Hill continued to boss matters in the opening 30 minutes which were also graced by fine scores from Brian Ennis and Adrian Kenny.

By half-time it was 0-8 to 0-2, with both Oldcastle scores coming from frees with Paddy Gilsenan and Ronan Farrelly registering.

This pattern continues on the resumption and by the three-quarter stage it was 0-13 to 0-3.

Ronan Farrelly and Paddy Gilsenan did their best to revive Oldcastle while substitute Niall Mangan got their first score from play in the 46th minute.

Another replacement Conor McHugh capitalised on uncertainty in the Summerhill rearguard to flick home a goal five minutes later.

Good defensive work prevented Oldcastle from making any further headway. However, Mangan struck a post with a goal attempt near the end.

By that point, Summerhill had the spoils in the bag, while Oldcastle still await their first win of the campaign.

In addition Kathy Butler became the first female to run the line in a Meath SFC fixture. The Leitrim-native is attached to the O'Mahonys club.

Summerhill - S. McDonnell; D. Dalton, C. Young, W. Ryan; S. Husband (0-1), R. Hatton, M. Gorman; P. Comey, M. Byrne (0-1, f); D. Larkin (0-1), A. Kenny (0-1), B. Lyons (0-1); P. Rispin, B. Ennis (0-5, 3fs), S. Dalton (0-4).

Oldcastle - P. Coakley; S. Farrelly, C. McPartland, D. Hawden; P. Lynch, R. McHugh (0-1, f), E. Gilsenan; R. Pakenham, V. Reynolds; P. Gilsenan (0-2, fs), T. Farrelly, T. Rahill; A. McCann, Ronan Farrelly (0-1, f), Robbie Farrelly. Subs - N. Mangan (0-1) for Rahill (23), C. McHugh (1-0) for Pakenham (ht), B. Curran for Hawden (38), R. Kellett for Robbie Farrelly (40).

Referee - D. Coldrick (Blackhall Gaels).

Most Read Stories